$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

4 stars
View map of 201 Waterfront Street, 201 Waterfront Street, National Harbor, MD 20745

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
86 reviews
general

very good. location beautiful. design excellent. rooms comfortable. great for conventions See full review

  • georgina n.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Trade Show Attendee

Great location, close to downtown and airports. Beautiful clean facility and the staff and on-site... See full review

  • John B.
  • Jan 9, 2015
Our spectacular Washington, D.C. resort anchors the 300 acre National Harbor waterfront entertainment district, located 8 miles south of D.C. The Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center offers visitors everything they are looking for in a convention destination, vacation getaway or business trip. Discover our first-class destination with fun for everyone including fine dining and casual restaurants, unique shopping experiences, an indoor pool and 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. And, for late-night excitement, an express elevator speeds you to the two-story rooftop Pose Ultra-Lounge. Our resort in Maryland offers a spectacular 19-story glass atrium welcoming you with sweeping views of the Potomac River, Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria in the distance. Plus, with over 470,000 square feet of meeting space, we are the premier Washington D.C. conference center. Come and discover for yourself why our National Harbor, Maryland, hotel is the crown jewel of the Washington region.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Game room
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Bidet

Dining

Old Hickory Steakhouse
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience at Old Hickory Steakhouse. Enjoy premium beef, artisanal cheeses, hand crafted cocktails, an outdoor cigar terrace, and the best views of the Potomac River.
Pienza Restaurant
As proud partners with regional and local farms, Pienza’s ever-changing offerings reflect seasonal changes and passions of our culinary team. Enjoy a variety of breakfast & lunch favorites or indulge in our Sunday Brunch featuring a Bloody Mary Bar.
National Pastime Sports Bar and Grill
Watch our 30 foot video wall while you drink and dine at our cutting-edge sports-bar which blends contemporary design with sports memorabilia. Enjoy generous portions of comfort food and relive historical sporting events from the region.
Pose Rooftop Lounge
Our unique rooftop lounge offers dramatic vistas of the nation’s capital viewed through 18-foot, floor-to-ceiling windows and a wraparound terrace. Registered hotel guests ages 21+ only.
Belvedere Lobby Bar
This sophisticated Lobby Bar offers a spectacular view of our two-acre atrium and magical sunsets over the Potomac River. Enjoy seasonal cocktails, beer, champagne or wine and a lite bite.
The Cocoa Bean
Enjoy premium coffee drinks, fresh bakery items and gourmet sandwiches at our signature coffee bar. Now proudly serving Starbucks ®

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 1, 2009

Not so great Gaylord National Resort

The only positive experience at this property was the gym. Very well equipped. Everything else just made the trip disastrous. For example, the hotel fails to tell you that if you take public transportation into Washington, D.C. that it will take over an hour to get there and you will travel through some very rough parts of town. Of course, you can take a taxi or shuttle, but for a family of four figure that you will be spending about $30 each way in a taxi or $72 each way for the shuttle. The food is expensive for what you get and outside the hotel in the nearby restaurants are even worse. For example, at Gracies across the street we received a charge of $9.00 for a bottle of water (about 3 glasses full). The staff at the hotel and the nearby restaurants are uneducated and unable to think. They have no knowledge of the ingredients in any of their foods (food allergy suffers beware) and forget them being able to follow simply cooking alterations to the food. Overall, one of the worst business / family travel experience that I have had. Save the time and money and stay in Washington even if your conference is at the Gaylord National.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast and lunch at Mayorga - about two streets over from the Gaylord National. Iced coffee is half the cost of the hotel and lunch can be done for about half. Food at Mayorga was pleasing.

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sabotaged Getaway
Business
National Harbor, MD
Feb 20, 2011

Paid alot of money to be kept awake

The stay was enjoyable until 2:30am when I and my boyfriend were awaken by noise in the hallway and in the room next door. The staff at Gaylord kept apologizing profusely but not a one of them did anything to resolve the problem (like offer to move us to another room or better yet move the people in the room next door). I tried to sit in the lobby to get away from the noise and was told by management that I could not sit there. They could take the time to boot me from the lobby but couldn't do anything about the people making the noise??? The hotel did not charge us for parking and the resort fee as compensation for the noise. They offered no credit for the cost of the room - which certainly was not cheap. We decided to go ahead and check out at 6:30 since we had been up since 2:30. This was suppose to be our delayed getaway for valentine's day - paid a lot of money for an unenjoyable experience. The staff could use additional training on handling incidents like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JimA
Business
Austin TX
Mar 22, 2012

Worst hotel experience ever and the most expensive

I was there last week attending the NAFCU NCCO Compliance School, I checked in on the 11th and checked out on the 17th. I’ve stayed at more than my share of hotels in my lifetime but Gaylord was absolutely the worst and most expensive. In one short week my TV didn’t work on 5 occasions each of which I had to get someone to come fix it. On Wednesday I got up and tried to turn it on to watch the news while I was getting ready and once again it didn’t work. To make matters worse I picked up the phone to report it and the phone didn’t work. I didn’t have time to run by the Concierge desk to report it that morning so I had to run from the meeting room downstairs during one of my 15 minute breaks. On another occasion, also on a 15 minute break, I went back to the room to see if the TV would work and it didn’t. Once again I called down and the person at the Concierge desk started telling different things to try to make it work. I ended up telling that person that I had 5 minutes to get to a meeting and I didn’t have time to go through a bunch of exercises to try and fix it myself. The door handle on the dresser that the refrigerator in it came off daily. On Thursday I just happened to turn my bed down before it got dark and there was more than a small amount of hair on the sheets. The room I was in was a double so I checked the other bed that I hadn’t used and it was the same thing on that bed. I didn’t report it because I didn’t want to be further inconvenienced by having someone come to my room and change the sheets. On Friday it was the same way on my bed but by that time I was so fed up with everything that I didn’t bother to complain. Prior to composing this email I attempted calling but not surprisingly I wasn’t able to get through. After I hit my selection it started ringing which lasted a little bit and then went silent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Jul 6, 2009

Customer service at its worst!!

The staff at check in were rude and extremely unhelpful. When they found out I booked with Orbitz, the service got even worse. They seemed to be irritated that I did not book directly with their website. I wont waste your time detailing all of the failures in customer service. I paid for three nights using Orbitz. We left the next morning. You know a hotel fails when a customer will pay for a second hotel room elsewhere even when they can't get a refund. I sent the hotel an email explaining the situation and they never responded. I would not suggest staying at this hotel. If you have stayed there, I hope your stay wan better than mine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Daddy2be
Business
Green Bay, WI
May 26, 2009

Not the Greatest

Very sorry to say but when you get walked to another facility over 30 miles away it kind of puts a damper on your trip. The conference i was attending was at the Gaylord and the Gaylord didn't even offer to transport me back and forth for my meetings. Fortunately they got me back in on my last night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Walked and Weary
Business
Seattle, WA
May 20, 2009

Horrible Experience!!!

I arrived at the Gaylord around midnight only to find out that they had overbooked the hotel and they were going to "Walk" me to another property. I was there for a convention so the thought of being walked did not sit well with me at all. It gets worse. When I asked where I was being walked to she said "Virginia". I asked her how far it was from the Gaylord and she said only 40 miles away. I told her that was completely unnacceptable but she did not show any sympathy just got manager to come out and tell me the same thing. Due to road contruction it took 1 hour and 15 minutes to get to the Marriot where they walked me to and I had to commute back and forth to the Gaylord for the convetion which was on average an hour commute. I came to find out later that all of the guests that they walked were third party website customers with orbitz or their competitors. I will never book through a third party website again if that is how we are singled out and treated. Then to top it all off I had to spend an hour on the phone with Orbitz trying to get my money back for my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frustrated Conference Traveler
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 29, 2009

Frustated traveler

It was very frustrating that upon our arrival at the hotel, we were told they overbooked and we had been moved to another hotel in another STATE! They said it was because of construction not being finished but there is no way that could have been true. They did not attempt to notify us directly or through Orbitz prior to check-in and that was most frustrating. We were staying at the Gaylord National Harbor because we had a national conference there and wanted to be close by, however we ended up being 20 mins away or further. This happened to hundreds other of our colleagues/conference attendees. I will be hesitant to stay/book at a Gaylord again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 1, 2009

Not so great Gaylord National Resort

The only positive experience at this property was the gym. Very well equipped. Everything else just made the trip disastrous. For example, the hotel fails to tell you that if you take public transportation into Washington, D.C. that it will take over an hour to get there and you will travel through some very rough parts of town. Of course, you can take a taxi or shuttle, but for a family of four figure that you will be spending about $30 each way in a taxi or $72 each way for the shuttle. The food is expensive for what you get and outside the hotel in the nearby restaurants are even worse. For example, at Gracies across the street we received a charge of $9.00 for a bottle of water (about 3 glasses full). The staff at the hotel and the nearby restaurants are uneducated and unable to think. They have no knowledge of the ingredients in any of their foods (food allergy suffers beware) and forget them being able to follow simply cooking alterations to the food. Overall, one of the worst business / family travel experience that I have had. Save the time and money and stay in Washington even if your conference is at the Gaylord National.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast and lunch at Mayorga - about two streets over from the Gaylord National. Iced coffee is half the cost of the hotel and lunch can be done for about half. Food at Mayorga was pleasing.

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sabotaged Getaway
Business
National Harbor, MD
Feb 20, 2011

Paid alot of money to be kept awake

The stay was enjoyable until 2:30am when I and my boyfriend were awaken by noise in the hallway and in the room next door. The staff at Gaylord kept apologizing profusely but not a one of them did anything to resolve the problem (like offer to move us to another room or better yet move the people in the room next door). I tried to sit in the lobby to get away from the noise and was told by management that I could not sit there. They could take the time to boot me from the lobby but couldn't do anything about the people making the noise??? The hotel did not charge us for parking and the resort fee as compensation for the noise. They offered no credit for the cost of the room - which certainly was not cheap. We decided to go ahead and check out at 6:30 since we had been up since 2:30. This was suppose to be our delayed getaway for valentine's day - paid a lot of money for an unenjoyable experience. The staff could use additional training on handling incidents like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JayDee D
Business
Virginia
Jan 20, 2014

$93 for breakfast??

This place was in a perfect location. hotel was ok, but when I ordered breakfast for 2 (eggs, bread, bacon, and pancakes), the bill with tip cost over $93... We ordered from room service. Here is a tip, Don't order from room service. They are expensve..! but everything else was pretty nice...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top