$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

4 stars
201 Waterfront Street, 201 Waterfront Street, National Harbor, MD 20745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
76 reviews
Beautiful place

The hotel was clean, great location and beautifully decorated. The staff was outstanding, friendly... See full review

  • PegGu
  • Dec 8, 2014
Excellent stay for our family

Purchased a package absolutely loved it. Brought our 21-month old, who love the indoor pool and... See full review

  • PScottM
  • Sep 1, 2014
Our spectacular hotel anchors the 300 acre National Harbor waterfront entertainment district, located 8 miles south of Washington DC. The Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center offers visitors to our nation's capital region everything they are looking for in a convention destination, vacation getaway or business trip. Discover our first-class destination with fun for everyone including fine dining and casual restaurants, unique shopping experiences, an indoor pool and 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. And, for late-night excitement, an express elevator speeds you to the two-story rooftop Pose Ultra-Lounge. Our spectacular 19-story glass atrium welcomes you with sweeping views of the Potomac River, Washington DC and Old Town Alexandria in the distance. Plus, with over 470,000 square feet of meeting space, we are the premier Washington D.C. conference center. Come and discover for yourself why Gaylord National is the crown jewel of the Washington region.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Game room
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Bidet

Dining

Old Hickory Steakhouse
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience at Old Hickory Steakhouse. Enjoy premium beef, artisanal cheeses, hand crafted cocktails, an outdoor cigar terrace, and the best views of the Potomac River.
Pienza Restaurant
Pienza’s ever-changing market offerings reflect seasonal changes and the passions of our culinary team. Enjoy a variety of breakfast and lunch favorites. Or indulge in our Sunday Brunch with live music and a Bloody Mary Bar.
National Pastime Sports Bar and Grill
Watch our 30 foot video wall while you drink and dine at our cutting-edge sports-bar which blends contemporary design with sports memorabilia. Enjoy generous portions of comfort food and relive historical sporting events from the region.
Pose Rooftop Lounge
Our unique rooftop lounge offers dramatic vistas of the nation’s capital viewed through 18-foot, floor-to-ceiling windows and a wraparound terrace. Registered hotel guests ages 21+ only.
Belvedere Lobby Bar
This sophisticated Lobby Bar offers a spectacular view of our two-acre atrium and magical sunsets over the Potomac River. Enjoy seasonal cocktails, beer, champagne or wine and a lite bite.
The Cocoa Bean
Enjoy premium coffee drinks, fresh bakery items and gourmet sandwiches at our signature coffee bar. Now proudly serving Starbucks ®

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Jun 6, 2009

Duped by hidden costs

The hotel was spectacular but i was dissapointed by the hidden "resort fee" that I was charged. I booked on Orbitz which made my combined room rate and airfare cheaper than my conference group rate. When I got my bill, it had a $16 charge per day for "resort fee" which allowed us access to the fitness room, pool, and gave us 2 bottles of water per day. Shouldn't that be included at a 5 star hotel anyway?? My conference organizers didn't pay that fee but couldn't get mine removed because I booked through Orbitz and not through the group rate. I felt like the hotel punished me for getting a better deal through Orbitz!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MD
Jun 3, 2009

Gaylord National Resort & Convention Cen

Great experience at the hotel. Just had difficulty with check in due to miscommunication between the hotel and orbitz regarding reserving the room I paid for through orbitz. Otherwise, the htoel was fantastic, beautiful, clean, 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 1, 2009

Not so great Gaylord National Resort

The only positive experience at this property was the gym. Very well equipped. Everything else just made the trip disastrous. For example, the hotel fails to tell you that if you take public transportation into Washington, D.C. that it will take over an hour to get there and you will travel through some very rough parts of town. Of course, you can take a taxi or shuttle, but for a family of four figure that you will be spending about $30 each way in a taxi or $72 each way for the shuttle. The food is expensive for what you get and outside the hotel in the nearby restaurants are even worse. For example, at Gracies across the street we received a charge of $9.00 for a bottle of water (about 3 glasses full). The staff at the hotel and the nearby restaurants are uneducated and unable to think. They have no knowledge of the ingredients in any of their foods (food allergy suffers beware) and forget them being able to follow simply cooking alterations to the food. Overall, one of the worst business / family travel experience that I have had. Save the time and money and stay in Washington even if your conference is at the Gaylord National.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast and lunch at Mayorga - about two streets over from the Gaylord National. Iced coffee is half the cost of the hotel and lunch can be done for about half. Food at Mayorga was pleasing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lamoni, Iowa
Jun 1, 2009

Jam Conference

The hotel is great, probably one of the best I've been in. It's a very good facility for large conferences. The National Harbor development is good and as it continues to develop, the location will be even better. The area lacks economical restaurants and there are not many entertainment options. Overall, a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
May 30, 2009

Resort Fee?

Hotel is nice and clean, but on checkout I was charged a $15 per night "Resort Fee" that apparently covered internet access and the USA Today. Quality hotels do not need to sneak fees onto the bill. While restaurants are available with overpriced menus, there isn't even a continental breakfast. And National Harbor is too far from the Metro for easy runs into DC, although bus service is available to the Southern Ave station. Staff was courteous and the hotel and grounds kept clean and neat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lawrence, KS
May 28, 2009

Overall-a great experience

My friend and I came to DC for a summer vacation (just for kicks). The Gaylord National was beautiful, absolutely beautiful. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The atrium level was a nice place to spend the evening. The Seafood restaurant on that level had wonderful calamari (I highly recommend it). In terms of travel, the hotel was easy to access via the Metro (a bus had a stop just down the block that would take you to the nearest station). From there you could get just about anywhere...just make sure you have exact change for the bus. The only complaints we had were that the water pressure in the room was fairly weak, the pool was shallow the entire length (good for families, but I was hoping to tread some water myself), and the bar at the pool was shockingly expensive (no prices were listed, and the bartender made us his "specialty") though delicious. Also, if you do book on a third party site (such as Orbitz), it is important to know that Gaylord will be charging a $15.90 "resort fee" every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the Metro! The city metro is very clean and safe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Daddy2be
Business
Green Bay, WI
May 26, 2009

Not the Greatest

Very sorry to say but when you get walked to another facility over 30 miles away it kind of puts a damper on your trip. The conference i was attending was at the Gaylord and the Gaylord didn't even offer to transport me back and forth for my meetings. Fortunately they got me back in on my last night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Walked and Weary
Business
Seattle, WA
May 20, 2009

Horrible Experience!!!

I arrived at the Gaylord around midnight only to find out that they had overbooked the hotel and they were going to "Walk" me to another property. I was there for a convention so the thought of being walked did not sit well with me at all. It gets worse. When I asked where I was being walked to she said "Virginia". I asked her how far it was from the Gaylord and she said only 40 miles away. I told her that was completely unnacceptable but she did not show any sympathy just got manager to come out and tell me the same thing. Due to road contruction it took 1 hour and 15 minutes to get to the Marriot where they walked me to and I had to commute back and forth to the Gaylord for the convetion which was on average an hour commute. I came to find out later that all of the guests that they walked were third party website customers with orbitz or their competitors. I will never book through a third party website again if that is how we are singled out and treated. Then to top it all off I had to spend an hour on the phone with Orbitz trying to get my money back for my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unsatiffied Guest
Business
Cedar Falls, IA
May 18, 2009

Big Disappointment

Beautiful location, right along the river, lots of resturants around the hotel. Other than that, I was very disappointed with my experience at this hotel. Being a convention center, resort and spa, I would have expected first class rooms and service; the same if not more that we give guests at my hotel. The room we were in was small and the there was hair hanging from the shower wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
May 4, 2009

Beautiful hotel just outside of D.C.

Absolutely beautiful hotel and cool location. My only complaint is that it is difficult to get to from Washington, D.C. via public transportation. We rented a car, but had trouble getting around and parking was expensive. I would definitely stay at the Gaylord National again in the future and do my research on transportation other than renting a car. Taking a cab would be easier than driving and having to park in D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top