$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

4 stars
View map of 201 Waterfront Street, 201 Waterfront Street, National Harbor, MD 20745

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TH, Happy@Home
Couples
Bowie, MD
Aug 13, 2009

Excellent!

To celebrate my wife's birthday, we decided to have dinner drinks, and a night away from home. The Gaylord was an Excellent choice! There are several restaurants within the hotel to choose from, as well as a wide variety of restaurants within walking distance. We chose to dine at the very elegant "Old Hickory Steakhouse" and had a wonderful experience. Beautiful panoramic views of the Potomac River, an extensive wine list, and the food was exquisite! The accommodations and service were also "first class". The rooms were not large, but what they lacked in size, they made up with very sleek but comfortable decor, and beautiful atrium, and Potomac River views. Although our stay was only one night, it will be remembered as a perfect night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Asbury Park, NJ
Aug 12, 2009

Woot Woot!

Not really a place for children because other than the pool no real place to eat. Over 21 and over is the best. If not some places won't let you in. Must wear a Collar for men to enter certain "restaurants."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

In hotel and surrounding areas you can go nearby to have some fun and not drive.

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Norman, OK
Aug 11, 2009

Washington DC

The hotel had limited (and expensive) transportation options. The staff was not friendly nor were they helpful with various issues we had. Each night of our stay we had to request new keys because ours wouldn't work. The staff we neither explain why this was happening or offer any suggestions. While this seems minor, it became a huge obstacle to drag two tired, grumpy kids to the reception area and stand in line to get yet another key. The pool area is all inside but the hotel indicates in is an inside/outside pool. While the area was charming, the storefronts were only 1/4th occupied and a cab or driver into DC cost roughly 25-35 each way. The hotel also advertised kid programs, but nothing was going on when we were there. Overall, this was more of a business and convention hotel than a family hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car - it will be cheaper.

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Fort Washington, MD
Jul 27, 2009

"Spoiled And Pampered"

My friend and I stayed during the July 4th weekend. Understandably, things were quite busy! However, the staff members were incredible and genuinely seemed to be interested in making our stay as pleasant as possible. There was plenty of opportunity to relax and/or have fun. Dining and entertainment is all there, right on the premises. Moving outside, the views of the Potomac and the Wilson Bridge are spectacular!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Al form Okla.
Business
Okla. City. Okla.
Jul 22, 2009

Our experience at the Gaylord Convention

When my wife and arrived at the hotel we had already missed a whole complete day that we were supposed to have been at the hotel. The clerk was very blunt and said that they couldn't do anything about our late arrival and that we would still be charged for the full day, which was July 13th 2009. I was also told that there would be anadditional $15.90 charge each day for amenities, which I was not informed of when I made my reservations, the clerk ask if we had ever stayed at a hotel before and that is a typical charge. We were suppose to receive two bottles of water a day plus the daily newspaper. I had to call the front dest twice because we didn't receive our two bottles of water and we didn't receive our paper three days during our stay. When I called about the paper one of the days I was brought three different papers and they were all a day old. Also when we arrived at the airport we were told that the $54. we paid to take us to our hotel was insufficient by $32.. I had to pay the extra money when we traveled both ways. The Gaylord hotel is very beautiful place, I probably would stay at another establishment if possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The atmosphere and the surroundings around the hotel were beautiful and pleasant.

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Baltimore, Maryland
Jul 9, 2009

July 4th at Gaylord National Resort

The hotel was very nice, however I was charged twice for our rooms. Orbitz had a charge and the hotel charged us too. They also charged an extra resort fee. We paid for a summerfest package. Billing was very confusing. RooM service very expensive. not a very good choice of food. Had to order out carry out to save a few bucks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Be prepared to drive or take water taxi's to eat at a resonable price. I think this hotel was better for couples and not families.

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Norfolk, VA
Jul 6, 2009

Customer service at its worst!!

The staff at check in were rude and extremely unhelpful. When they found out I booked with Orbitz, the service got even worse. They seemed to be irritated that I did not book directly with their website. I wont waste your time detailing all of the failures in customer service. I paid for three nights using Orbitz. We left the next morning. You know a hotel fails when a customer will pay for a second hotel room elsewhere even when they can't get a refund. I sent the hotel an email explaining the situation and they never responded. I would not suggest staying at this hotel. If you have stayed there, I hope your stay wan better than mine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orbitz traveller
Family
Leesburg, VA
Jul 5, 2009

Gaylord National Harbor

Disappointed. Beautiful resort, but had made reservations for 2 rooms (we took kids), and I had confirmed verbally by calling a few days before arrival, and when we got there, they didn't have our rooms, and we had to wait an hour and a half to get them (with kids - ugh!!!) Then we ran into our neighbors from home and learned that they paid $40 less by booking directly with the hotel instead of Orbitz (and we had booked 2 rooms - would have thought we would have had the cheaper rate)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cal4
Family
Spring, TX
Jul 1, 2009

Convention then Vacation

Small problem with AC noise was fixed promptly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

In hotel was pretty expensive. Take a five minute stroll to harbor area for more choices although most still pricey.

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
We Women in the Family
Family
Northern Indiana
Jun 29, 2009

Fantastic time-Gaylord National Resort

Family vacation to WDC, New Gaylord National is exceptional, outbeats all other Gaylord hotels. Orbitz trip planning kept us within our budget. Can't say enough about this great place to visit, made our experience in DC safe, fun, relaxing and memorable. Hotel was full of Optimist Convention but Gaylord handled all well, fireworks were the best! The new National Harbor area has lots to offer for anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Use Execu Cars, from the Gaylord, don't waste time on local cab drivers, local cab drivers are a ripe off, smell, can't speak our language and don't know the city. Exec Car drivers are the BEST!

Back to menu Return to top