$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 3, 2015

Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

4 stars
201 Waterfront Street, 201 Waterfront Street, National Harbor, MD 20745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
77 reviews
Trade Show Attendee

Great location, close to downtown and airports. Beautiful clean facility and the staff and on-site... See full review

  • John B.
  • Jan 9, 2015
Beautiful place

The hotel was clean, great location and beautifully decorated. The staff was outstanding, friendly... See full review

  • PegGu
  • Dec 8, 2014
Our spectacular hotel anchors the 300 acre National Harbor waterfront entertainment district, located 8 miles south of Washington DC. The Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center offers visitors to our nation's capital region everything they are looking for in a convention destination, vacation getaway or business trip. Discover our first-class destination with fun for everyone including fine dining and casual restaurants, unique shopping experiences, an indoor pool and 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. And, for late-night excitement, an express elevator speeds you to the two-story rooftop Pose Ultra-Lounge. Our spectacular 19-story glass atrium welcomes you with sweeping views of the Potomac River, Washington DC and Old Town Alexandria in the distance. Plus, with over 470,000 square feet of meeting space, we are the premier Washington D.C. conference center. Come and discover for yourself why Gaylord National is the crown jewel of the Washington region.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Game room
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Bidet

Dining

Old Hickory Steakhouse
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience at Old Hickory Steakhouse. Enjoy premium beef, artisanal cheeses, hand crafted cocktails, an outdoor cigar terrace, and the best views of the Potomac River.
Pienza Restaurant
Pienza’s ever-changing market offerings reflect seasonal changes and the passions of our culinary team. Enjoy a variety of breakfast and lunch favorites. Or indulge in our Sunday Brunch with live music and a Bloody Mary Bar.
National Pastime Sports Bar and Grill
Watch our 30 foot video wall while you drink and dine at our cutting-edge sports-bar which blends contemporary design with sports memorabilia. Enjoy generous portions of comfort food and relive historical sporting events from the region.
Pose Rooftop Lounge
Our unique rooftop lounge offers dramatic vistas of the nation’s capital viewed through 18-foot, floor-to-ceiling windows and a wraparound terrace. Registered hotel guests ages 21+ only.
Belvedere Lobby Bar
This sophisticated Lobby Bar offers a spectacular view of our two-acre atrium and magical sunsets over the Potomac River. Enjoy seasonal cocktails, beer, champagne or wine and a lite bite.
The Cocoa Bean
Enjoy premium coffee drinks, fresh bakery items and gourmet sandwiches at our signature coffee bar. Now proudly serving Starbucks ®

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josie H
Business
Philadelphia
Dec 28, 2012

X-mas magic

X-mas tree lighting each night was magical from our balcony.Pool & jacuzzi were superb. Spa was ridiculously over priced; even to use sauna & steam room. Beds were extremely comfortable. Shrek Ice show was a distance from hotel & the rain was pouring down the day & time of our tickets.. We asked several staff if they could shuttle us there, since there were vans in the parking lot & no one could help us; even concierge. We arrived absolutely soaked & entered the 9 degrees exhibit. Very poor personal service. Check in very slow; few staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spectrum mom
Business
Pennsylvania
Dec 23, 2012

Great location, nice hotel, but special needs families be cautious!

Location: National Harbor has lot of fun things to do and see. Hotel: This hotel is beautiful, and the light displays and tree lighting were phenomenal! The room was rather small for the price; however, the beds and pillows were comfortable. The resort fee of $15 paid for our bottled waters and internet access. We did not park onsite, ($22 / day). The garage across the street was half the price. The amenities are great. Be prepared to walk a long way to get to them (pool, arcade, fitness). Timing: For us the weekend before Christmas was not good. The place was beautiful but packed and loud. We had to weave our our way through crowds every time we wanted to go somewhere. Not relaxing at all. Staff issues: My son with autism became overwhelmed & ran away from me twice during check in. I was firmly told by a staff person that if it happened again, we would be kicked out of the hotel (we had only been there 15 minutes). I completely understand the need to "control" my child, but there was a severe lack of understanding, empathy, and competent interpersonal communication skills from this staff person who "read me the riot act" in the lobby in front of other guests. Also, my daughter got sick & threw up on our room carpet (yuck!). We cleaned it as best we could and called housekeeping, who took around 1.5 hours to assist. We will go back to National Harbor but stay somewhere different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat and park off site.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HROL
Business
Maryland
Dec 17, 2012

Weekend fun

Met up with my family for a winter weekend getaway and had a great time. Overall, the hotel was beautiful and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TheDoggyGuy
Business
Maryland
Dec 16, 2012

Mixed Reviw about place

Came here December 2012 for their Christmas Special Shrek the halls took quite a while to get check in, our room didn't have any microwave, DVD player, not even a VCR, the balcony view was beautiful and the beds were very comfy, the staff was nice but we had trouble finding where to go for the attractions we paid for in the 3 night package, the bathtub was one of those long rectangle bathtubs and had to keep changing the room temperature, was hard to watch tv with the train horn keep blowing and blowing, thing drives me nuts On the good side though, was very beautiful atrium, place was huge, which was good and bad since had to walk from one end of the atrium to the other due to the up escalator was on one side and the down escalator was on the other side, instead of being right next to each other the hot tub was relaxing with the waterfall and wall jets but was such a long walk to get to the pool area from our room. Food is very expensive, the steak place was around $30-$40 for one steak their macaroni at the panezi restaurant was delicious so if ya short on money, it best to eat outside the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel food is EXPENSIVE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiai Flyer
Business
Red Bank, NJ
Sep 30, 2012

Serene and beautiful place for business conference

Very relaxing, well appointed, and excellent service. Great views. Food was very good. Room was not the greatest though for the money. Beds were very squeaky. Leaky tub faucet. A little more maintenance would be expected for the high price. Also, don't understand why they charge an additional resort fee. National Harbor shops and restaurants are wonderful and the area is an interesting twist on a DC weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Trio T
Business
Pennsylvania
Sep 10, 2012

Birthday Crew

This trip was a Birthday celebration for my husband and daughter. I was not aware that the hotel support special occassions such as this until I surfed the website during or viitit to the hotel. I found the hotel staff to be very friendly and I intend to return in the very near future for a visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ms.mandy
Business
Atlanta, GA
Aug 23, 2012

romantic getaway

It was a nice hotel. I wish I had a view of the water from my room.Everyone was nice & friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Staycation Novice
Business
Arlington, VA
Jul 2, 2012

Staycation turned Evacuation

had planned a visit as a getaway though i am local and with the power outage in the area it turned out to be a necessity. I overall enjoyed my stay though the price and amenities fee and cost of all items from restaurants to valet was above average. Pleased but not able to be a frequent visitor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JimA
Business
Austin TX
Mar 22, 2012

Worst hotel experience ever and the most expensive

I was there last week attending the NAFCU NCCO Compliance School, I checked in on the 11th and checked out on the 17th. I’ve stayed at more than my share of hotels in my lifetime but Gaylord was absolutely the worst and most expensive. In one short week my TV didn’t work on 5 occasions each of which I had to get someone to come fix it. On Wednesday I got up and tried to turn it on to watch the news while I was getting ready and once again it didn’t work. To make matters worse I picked up the phone to report it and the phone didn’t work. I didn’t have time to run by the Concierge desk to report it that morning so I had to run from the meeting room downstairs during one of my 15 minute breaks. On another occasion, also on a 15 minute break, I went back to the room to see if the TV would work and it didn’t. Once again I called down and the person at the Concierge desk started telling different things to try to make it work. I ended up telling that person that I had 5 minutes to get to a meeting and I didn’t have time to go through a bunch of exercises to try and fix it myself. The door handle on the dresser that the refrigerator in it came off daily. On Thursday I just happened to turn my bed down before it got dark and there was more than a small amount of hair on the sheets. The room I was in was a double so I checked the other bed that I hadn’t used and it was the same thing on that bed. I didn’t report it because I didn’t want to be further inconvenienced by having someone come to my room and change the sheets. On Friday it was the same way on my bed but by that time I was so fed up with everything that I didn’t bother to complain. Prior to composing this email I attempted calling but not surprisingly I wasn’t able to get through. After I hit my selection it started ringing which lasted a little bit and then went silent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DebbJ
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Beautiful place

The hotel was beautiful and I would highly recommend it. The atrium view was really nice....had a great trip....look forward to going back in warmer weather

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top