$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

4 stars
201 Waterfront Street, 201 Waterfront Street, National Harbor, MD 20745
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
71 reviews
Conference

I was there for a conference at that hotel. The whole thing was great. The room, the conference... See full review

  • Conservative Campaigner
  • Mar 9, 2014
Weekend getaway

My experience was wonderful. I especially enjoyed the fine dining, the food and service was great.... See full review

  • Janet Jackson the singer
  • Sep 10, 2013
Our spectacular hotel anchors the 300 acre National Harbor waterfront entertainment district, located eight miles south of Washington DC. The Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center offers visitors to our nation's capital region everything they are looking for in a convention destination, vacation getaway or business trip. Discover our first-class destination with fun for everyone including fine dining and casual restaurants, unique shopping experiences, an indoor pool and 20,000 square foot spa and fitness center. And, for late-night excitement, an express elevator speeds you to the two-story rooftop Pose Ultra-Lounge. Our spectacular 18-story glass atrium welcomes you with sweeping views of the Potomac River, Washington DC and Old Town Alexandria in the distance. Plus, with over 470,000 square feet of meeting space, we are DC's premier exhibition hall. Come and discover for yourself why Gaylord National is the crown jewel of the Washington region.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Game room
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Fire place
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Bidet
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

38.7812 -77.0135
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 8.00, MI, W; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 35.00, MI, W; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 42.00, MI, N;
Area description
Resort, Location Type: Resort

Dining

Old Hickory Steakhouse
Treat yourself to an unforgettable experience at Old Hickory Steakhouse. Enjoy premium beef, artisanal cheeses, hand crafted cocktails, an outdoor cigar terrace, and the best views of the Potomac River.
Pienza Restaurant
Pienza’s ever-changing market offerings reflect seasonal changes and the passions of our culinary team. Enjoy a variety of breakfast and lunch favorites. Or indulge in our Sunday Brunch with live music and a Bloody Mary Bar.
National Pastime Sports Bar and Grill
Watch our 30 foot video wall while you drink and dine at our cutting-edge sports-bar which blends contemporary design with sports memorabilia. Enjoy generous portions of comfort food and relive historical sporting events from the region.
Pose Rooftop Lounge
Our unique rooftop lounge offers dramatic vistas of the nation’s capital viewed through 18-foot, floor-to-ceiling windows and a wraparound terrace. Registered hotel guests ages 21+ only.
Belvedere Lobby Bar
This sophisticated Lobby Bar offers a spectacular view of our two-acre atrium and magical sunsets over the Potomac River. Enjoy seasonal cocktails, beer, champagne or wine and a lite bite.
The Cocoa Bean
Enjoy premium coffee drinks, fresh bakery items and gourmet sandwiches at our signature coffee bar. Now proudly serving Starbucks ®

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Overall score

3.6 / 5
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
Mickey DE
Delaware
Jul 30, 2013

Beautiful Gaylord

Wonderful hotel. Spend the extra for an atriumview room. It's so worth it. Can't beat the location in the middle of everthing. This hotel even has its own dock for trips over to Alexandria Va. and a fountain with lights and musical shows

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

National Past Time great in hotel casual restaurant

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
E. A.
Rockford, Illinois
Jun 20, 2013

graduating

This hotel is grand and sits on a great location. Too busy though. Nothing was included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
Adventure Team
Leesburg,Va
Jun 17, 2013

Good getaway

The atrium of the hotel is amazing nothing like I have ever seen. Glass ceiling and walls looking out over the Potomac river and Alexandra city. The only complants are its Disney World prices and there's no Disney. Rooms are average looking, and this hotel makes you pay for parking $24 overnight or valet parking $35 and if leave the parking lot after staying for about a 1hr and a half they charge you $12 and charge you another $24 for parking overnight. Two of the nieboring hotels give there guest free parking if u have a room at there hotel. If you park in the nieboring hotel parking lot it's a few dollars cheaper. Other then that the atmosphere including the shops outside the hotel are nice close to dc , old town Alexandra va, and Iocated in Md. You can do a lot of things with your family or as a couple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

We took a Cruz on the sprit of Washington around the Potomac it was a Great Cruz good food and drinks and beautiful sites on the Potomac River. If you stay at the Gaylord hotel or the water front hotels I would highly recommend this for all including families

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
Convention Girl Hime
Baltimore, MD
Feb 18, 2013

Amazing other than the resort fees

I booked this hotel for a convention at the hotel and it was beautiful. We didnt use any of the amenities as we were busy with Katsucon but between the convention and all the available shopping in the hotel there was little time for anything else. There were a lot of food places that delivered and even more we could walk to that were at most a block away. This was my first time booking this type of hotel and i was caught completely off guard when i was asked to put down a $115 deposit after paying in advance. I thought all those fees would have been included but you live and you learn, i didnt let that upset my trip. When checking in keep that in mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
Josie H
Philadelphia
Dec 28, 2012

X-mas magic

X-mas tree lighting each night was magical from our balcony.Pool & jacuzzi were superb. Spa was ridiculously over priced; even to use sauna & steam room. Beds were extremely comfortable. Shrek Ice show was a distance from hotel & the rain was pouring down the day & time of our tickets.. We asked several staff if they could shuttle us there, since there were vans in the parking lot & no one could help us; even concierge. We arrived absolutely soaked & entered the 9 degrees exhibit. Very poor personal service. Check in very slow; few staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
Spectrum mom
Pennsylvania
Dec 23, 2012

Great location, nice hotel, but special needs families be cautious!

Location: National Harbor has lot of fun things to do and see. Hotel: This hotel is beautiful, and the light displays and tree lighting were phenomenal! The room was rather small for the price; however, the beds and pillows were comfortable. The resort fee of $15 paid for our bottled waters and internet access. We did not park onsite, ($22 / day). The garage across the street was half the price. The amenities are great. Be prepared to walk a long way to get to them (pool, arcade, fitness). Timing: For us the weekend before Christmas was not good. The place was beautiful but packed and loud. We had to weave our our way through crowds every time we wanted to go somewhere. Not relaxing at all. Staff issues: My son with autism became overwhelmed & ran away from me twice during check in. I was firmly told by a staff person that if it happened again, we would be kicked out of the hotel (we had only been there 15 minutes). I completely understand the need to "control" my child, but there was a severe lack of understanding, empathy, and competent interpersonal communication skills from this staff person who "read me the riot act" in the lobby in front of other guests. Also, my daughter got sick & threw up on our room carpet (yuck!). We cleaned it as best we could and called housekeeping, who took around 1.5 hours to assist. We will go back to National Harbor but stay somewhere different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat and park off site.

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
HROL
Maryland
Dec 17, 2012

Weekend fun

Met up with my family for a winter weekend getaway and had a great time. Overall, the hotel was beautiful and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
TheDoggyGuy
Maryland
Dec 16, 2012

Mixed Reviw about place

Came here December 2012 for their Christmas Special Shrek the halls took quite a while to get check in, our room didn't have any microwave, DVD player, not even a VCR, the balcony view was beautiful and the beds were very comfy, the staff was nice but we had trouble finding where to go for the attractions we paid for in the 3 night package, the bathtub was one of those long rectangle bathtubs and had to keep changing the room temperature, was hard to watch tv with the train horn keep blowing and blowing, thing drives me nuts On the good side though, was very beautiful atrium, place was huge, which was good and bad since had to walk from one end of the atrium to the other due to the up escalator was on one side and the down escalator was on the other side, instead of being right next to each other the hot tub was relaxing with the waterfall and wall jets but was such a long walk to get to the pool area from our room. Food is very expensive, the steak place was around $30-$40 for one steak their macaroni at the panezi restaurant was delicious so if ya short on money, it best to eat outside the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel food is EXPENSIVE

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
Kiai Flyer
Business
Red Bank, NJ
Sep 30, 2012

Serene and beautiful place for business conference

Very relaxing, well appointed, and excellent service. Great views. Food was very good. Room was not the greatest though for the money. Beds were very squeaky. Leaky tub faucet. A little more maintenance would be expected for the high price. Also, don't understand why they charge an additional resort fee. National Harbor shops and restaurants are wonderful and the area is an interesting twist on a DC weekend getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
The Trio T
Pennsylvania
Sep 10, 2012

Birthday Crew

This trip was a Birthday celebration for my husband and daughter. I was not aware that the hotel support special occassions such as this until I surfed the website during or viitit to the hotel. I found the hotel staff to be very friendly and I intend to return in the very near future for a visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top