$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

3 stars
7481 RIDGE ROAD, HANOVER, MD 21076
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
65 reviews
Great find at the last minute!

The staff was friendly checking in and out. We asked about the casino and they offered 24 hour... See full review

  • Maryjanec
  • Sep 26, 2014
A one nite visit in Hanover

This Hotel was able to extend us for a late check-out with out problems. The place seemed NEW. The... See full review

  • Mike de Cadiz
  • Mar 17, 2014
Affordable Baltimore hotel minutes from the airport with modern touches
Located near the airport, the 159-room Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel treats guests to complimentary shuttle rides within a five-mile radius, with stops at area train stations. Guests hitch a ride to the nearby Gunnings Restaurant or the crab-cake famous Timbuktu. Rooms at the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel cover the basics plus a few modern extras -- namely, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi -- and guests enjoy the free continental breakfast buffet every morning. The hotel takes serious pride in its hot cinnamon rolls.
Highlights
  • Convenient location, close to airport, Baltimore Inner Harbor, Camden Yards and more
  • 24-hour complimentary shuttle service to the airport and local destinations within a five-mile radius
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Outdoor pool (seasonal)
Location
The airport is a short shuttle ride from the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel. A number of businesses also are close by, including Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler and Siemens. Guests have easy shuttle access the three major train systems: MARC Commuter Train, Amtrak and MTA Light Rail. Downtown Baltimore and its famous Inner Harbor is a short drive away.
Rooms
All rooms at the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel come with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, microwave, refrigerator, workdesk and choice of one king or two double beds. The hotel also offers four suites.
Dining
Guests start the day with a free continental breakfast buffet including fruits, cereals, hardboiled eggs, cinnamon rolls and more. There is no on-site restaurant, but a 24-hour Denny's Restaurant stands adjacent to the hotel. Guests walk to the nearby Mama Lucia for Italian fare, beer and wine (the restaurant also delivers to the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel for free). Ask the front desk for a restaurant recommendation and hop on the free shuttle.
Recreation
There is a 24-hour fitness center on site with two treadmills, cross-trainer, universal weight machine, two bikes and one rowing machine. Guests also access the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel's outdoor pool (seasonal).
Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • MARC and Amtrak (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • MTA Light Rail (4.8 mi./7.8 km)
  • Washington Reagan National Airport (30 mi./48.3 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (30 mi./48.3 km)
  • The hotel offers free 24-hour shuttle service to BWI, area trains and other points within a five-mile radius

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Denny's
Family style restaurant, open 24 hours a day. Very reasonably priced.
Mama Lucia
Italian Cooking, serving beer and wine, free delivery to hotel. Excellent food!
Timbuktu
Large selection of Maryland Seafood. Best known for their crabcakes. Also Steaks and Ribs and full bar.
Gunnings Restaurant
Variety menu than includes Maryland Seafood. Great Clam Chowder and Shrimp salad

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hershey, PA
Feb 10, 2010

Not traveller friendly

Advertised as an airport hotel. True, the hotel is 6 miles or so from the airport[...]. Although the hotel advertises free parking[...]. Additionally, the staff is quite confrontational and unaccommodating regarding this matter. Find somewhere else to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Book somewhere else for free shuttle and parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Fl
Aug 29, 2010

Holiday Experience

The hotel was great. I had a rental and didn't do well with the driving. It was a little difficult to find. I understand that the shuttle service was available but I got lost the three times I went out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Netmom
Business
Bridgewater, NJ
Sep 25, 2010

Shuttle service unpredictable

My daughter and I were there for a college visit. We needed to use their shuttle service to and from Baltimore. Going to Baltimore our driver was extremely helpful. He provided information on how to use the public transit systems and saved us time and money. The trip back was completely different. I called for the shuttle from the BWI Amtrak station at 9:50pm. I was told that the shuttle would be there in about 15 minutes, which is the normal wait time. At 10:20pm, a half an hour later, no shuttle. I called again. Apologies were offered, and we were told to expect them "soon". At 10:35pm, no shuttle. I call again. This time, no estimate offered. At 10:40pm the shuttle arrives. Someone else was already in the shuttle and we had to stop and pick up another family at the airport. The folks at the next stop were quite pleased at how quickly the shuttle came after they had called! I shared with them my experience and they were shocked. Clearly, the dispatcher scheduled the routing so that there was minimal driving involving. That offers no consolation for my daughter and I who had to wait FIFTY MINUTES before being picked up!! Unacceptable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 21, 2010

Okay for the money

The room itself was good. Unfortunately, the guests next to us were very noisy late into the night. We had to call the desk at midnight to get them to quiet down. The kids liked the pool. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's is right next door - that was a life-saver because the continental breakfast doesn't start until 6:30 on weekends and we had an early flight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, va
Apr 27, 2011

MEDIEVIL

The hotel was nice parking was good. Hotel staff was friendly. The room was big and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was nice, but did not like the shower head needs and update. The room had a microwave and mini refrigator. Good room for a weekend stay. Breakfast was good and still serverd after time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The mall is right around the corner. It's and outlet mall. Had Medievil times and movie theater and dave and busters. Need anything it was there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Veteran's wife
Business
Bellaire, OH
Jul 8, 2012

No Alcohol at Pool

We were there to attend a wedding and wanted to have a few beers visiting with relatives. The lifeguard immediately told us that it was against the health department rules! The pool area is very small and at this time it was very dirty. Rooms were OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 13, 2010

Low Budget Hotel

Attended a software seminar - Hotel is not great for business meetings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Sep 29, 2007

Poor Service

Upon check in- we requested a non smoking room when we arrived the male clerk put us in a smoking room. I called down and he said no wa that he could switch room even though I only used phone in room and had not touched a thing. They were fully book- so he said. The room was unbearable, it had never been ionized ever and it was like being in a smoke filled bar. I was stuffed up, had headache and rash in am. At 645am we spoke with the front desk manager and magically there was a non smoking room. The maids could not have cleaned a room that quick. This was unacceptable service and no accountablity was taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping close by but no major dept stores are accessible in the Baltimore area unless you have a car. Not by amtrak, metro, or bus. A $20 one way cab ride will cost you and good luck getting a cab back

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport
Oct 15, 2008

Look elsewhere

Location to BWI was good but the hotel was old and not in good repair. Wallpaper peeling in room. Carpets worn. Mold in bath tiles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AO on the road.
Business
North Carolina
Jun 26, 2014

HIEx BWI review

average stay at best. Lobby and hallways needed a good cleaning. staff was trying to be the very best possible at (late) check in but there was a big crowd in lobby. room was clean but had an odor .... stale smoke. Good part the staff was extremely helpful arranging a late check out to help me extend a needed meeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Denny's on site. was there when it was much needed because of my schedule. Good food....SLOW but pleasant service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top