$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

3 stars
View map of 7481 RIDGE ROAD, HANOVER, MD 21076

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
65 reviews
BWI

Excellent. Took me anywhere I needed to go every time I asked. See full review

  • OccasionalTraveler7654321
  • Mar 3, 2015
Great find at the last minute!

The staff was friendly checking in and out. We asked about the casino and they offered 24 hour... See full review

  • Maryjanec
  • Sep 26, 2014
Located near the airport, the 159-room Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel treats guests to complimentary shuttle rides within a five-mile radius, with stops at area train stations. Guests hitch a ride to the nearby Gunnings Restaurant or the crab-cake famous Timbuktu. Rooms at the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel cover the basics plus a few modern extras -- namely, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi -- and guests enjoy the free continental breakfast buffet every morning. The hotel takes serious pride in its hot cinnamon rolls.
Location
The airport is a short shuttle ride from the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel. A number of businesses also are close by, including Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler and Siemens. Guests have easy shuttle access the three major train systems: MARC Commuter Train, Amtrak and MTA Light Rail. Downtown Baltimore and its famous Inner Harbor is a short drive away.
Dining
Guests start the day with a free continental breakfast buffet including fruits, cereals, hardboiled eggs, cinnamon rolls and more. There is no on-site restaurant, but a 24-hour Denny's Restaurant stands adjacent to the hotel. Guests walk to the nearby Mama Lucia for Italian fare, beer and wine (the restaurant also delivers to the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel for free). Ask the front desk for a restaurant recommendation and hop on the free shuttle.
Rooms
All rooms at the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel come with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, microwave, refrigerator, workdesk and choice of one king or two double beds. The hotel also offers four suites.
Highlights
  • Convenient location, close to airport, Baltimore Inner Harbor, Camden Yards and more
  • 24-hour complimentary shuttle service to the airport and local destinations within a five-mile radius
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Outdoor pool (seasonal)
Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • MARC and Amtrak (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • MTA Light Rail (4.8 mi./7.8 km)
  • Washington Reagan National Airport (30 mi./48.3 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (30 mi./48.3 km)
  • The hotel offers free 24-hour shuttle service to BWI, area trains and other points within a five-mile radius
Recreation
There is a 24-hour fitness center on site with two treadmills, cross-trainer, universal weight machine, two bikes and one rowing machine. Guests also access the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel's outdoor pool (seasonal).

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST also booked these hotels.

★★★
$80
4.1 / 5 79 reviews
★★
$64
2.7 / 5 14 reviews
★★★
$107
4.2 / 5 21 reviews
★★★
$84
4.0 / 5 87 reviews
★★★
$94
4.1 / 5 30 reviews

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Dining

Denny's
Family style restaurant, open 24 hours a day. Very reasonably priced.
Mama Lucia
Italian Cooking, serving beer and wine, free delivery to hotel. Excellent food!
Timbuktu
Large selection of Maryland Seafood. Best known for their crabcakes. Also Steaks and Ribs and full bar.
Gunnings Restaurant
Variety menu than includes Maryland Seafood. Great Clam Chowder and Shrimp salad

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laureen
Couples
Tucson, AZ
Aug 3, 2010

filthy carpets and questionable linens

We were visiting family in Northern VA. To avoid the morning commuter traffic from Northern VA to BWI airport, we decided to spend the evening before our flight in this hotel. The location is perfect. The shuttle driver and front desk clerk were very professional. The room however left much to be desired. The carpets were so filthy that we kept our shoes by the bed just incase we had to get up during the night. The bed linens were dingy gray with stains. We used my husbands shirts to put over the pillows. The white towels and face cloths were more of an off white tone with stains. Had we not been so exhausted and already returned the rental car, we would have attempted to find another place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Harrisburg, PA
Jun 26, 2011

Not so good

The room was very clean. That's about it as far as good things to say. The hotel lobby, elevator, shuttle, and hallway smelled bad. Then there was the shuttle. We went to a ball game and were told to call when we were ready to be picked up. We had to call twice and waited 50 minutes to be picked up. The hotel was only 7 minutes away. Shuttle driver said he didn't get the request until 45 minutes after we called. The person working the desk said he would make a note of my experience but when I checked out the next morning, there was nothing for anyone to know that I had lodged a complaint. They say that they're going to send me an email for a free stay, but I haven't seen it yet. Probably won't be staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Mar 19, 2010

Pick another hotel

There are so many other choices close to BWI-I would not pick this hotel. The hallways were not clean, they combine smoking and no-smoking rooms on the same floors, the bed was lumpy and obviously a very old mattress and then to top it off they did not give me my wake up call-making me almost miss my flight. The comment made to me by the front desk clerk was was , "your phone did not seem to be working so I assumed you had already left."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Prince George, VA
Aug 7, 2010

Holiday Inn Express Review

The hotel experience was not great to say the least. When we checked in we were placed in a double-bed smoking room which smelled like a bar. I had booked a kingsize, non-smoking room. When I spoke with the hotel staff, they stated that they would check on this and get back with me. This imposed a major inconvenience, being that I had an appointment to prepare for within in the next hour. My hopes were to take a nap and get ready for the appointment. I ended up having to contact the staff two more times before the room was switched. I was also late to the appointment. We were actually placed in the correct room approximately two hours after the scheduled check-in time. W[...] Also the electrical sockets located in the room were not safely covered. I would not recommend staying at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Inner Harbor,Baltimore, Maryland

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nmck
Friends
york pa
May 14, 2014

stay before traveling

hotel is nice, but if you book thru any travel agency and not direct with them the rules are different. And it is for you to know they do not tell you this. We left our car on the lot while we traveled and when we returned they told us it was towed. They had our info and phone number but never contacted us. In the past never had a issue until this year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Veteran's wife
Couples
Bellaire, OH
Jul 8, 2012

No Alcohol at Pool

We were there to attend a wedding and wanted to have a few beers visiting with relatives. The lifeguard immediately told us that it was against the health department rules! The pool area is very small and at this time it was very dirty. Rooms were OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 13, 2010

Low Budget Hotel

Attended a software seminar - Hotel is not great for business meetings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Sep 29, 2007

Poor Service

Upon check in- we requested a non smoking room when we arrived the male clerk put us in a smoking room. I called down and he said no wa that he could switch room even though I only used phone in room and had not touched a thing. They were fully book- so he said. The room was unbearable, it had never been ionized ever and it was like being in a smoke filled bar. I was stuffed up, had headache and rash in am. At 645am we spoke with the front desk manager and magically there was a non smoking room. The maids could not have cleaned a room that quick. This was unacceptable service and no accountablity was taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping close by but no major dept stores are accessible in the Baltimore area unless you have a car. Not by amtrak, metro, or bus. A $20 one way cab ride will cost you and good luck getting a cab back

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Newport
Oct 15, 2008

Look elsewhere

Location to BWI was good but the hotel was old and not in good repair. Wallpaper peeling in room. Carpets worn. Mold in bath tiles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AO on the road.
Business
North Carolina
Jun 26, 2014

HIEx BWI review

average stay at best. Lobby and hallways needed a good cleaning. staff was trying to be the very best possible at (late) check in but there was a big crowd in lobby. room was clean but had an odor .... stale smoke. Good part the staff was extremely helpful arranging a late check out to help me extend a needed meeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Denny's on site. was there when it was much needed because of my schedule. Good food....SLOW but pleasant service.

Back to menu Return to top