Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

3 stars
View map of 7481 RIDGE ROAD, HANOVER, MD 21076

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
65 reviews
BWI

Excellent. Took me anywhere I needed to go every time I asked. See full review

  • OccasionalTraveler7654321
  • Mar 3, 2015
Great find at the last minute!

The staff was friendly checking in and out. We asked about the casino and they offered 24 hour... See full review

  • Maryjanec
  • Sep 26, 2014
Located near the airport, the 159-room Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel treats guests to complimentary shuttle rides within a five-mile radius, with stops at area train stations. Guests hitch a ride to the nearby Gunnings Restaurant or the crab-cake famous Timbuktu. Rooms at the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel cover the basics plus a few modern extras -- namely, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi -- and guests enjoy the free continental breakfast buffet every morning. The hotel takes serious pride in its hot cinnamon rolls.
Location
The airport is a short shuttle ride from the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel. A number of businesses also are close by, including Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler and Siemens. Guests have easy shuttle access the three major train systems: MARC Commuter Train, Amtrak and MTA Light Rail. Downtown Baltimore and its famous Inner Harbor is a short drive away.
Dining
Guests start the day with a free continental breakfast buffet including fruits, cereals, hardboiled eggs, cinnamon rolls and more. There is no on-site restaurant, but a 24-hour Denny's Restaurant stands adjacent to the hotel. Guests walk to the nearby Mama Lucia for Italian fare, beer and wine (the restaurant also delivers to the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel for free). Ask the front desk for a restaurant recommendation and hop on the free shuttle.
Rooms
All rooms at the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel come with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, microwave, refrigerator, workdesk and choice of one king or two double beds. The hotel also offers four suites.
Highlights
  • Convenient location, close to airport, Baltimore Inner Harbor, Camden Yards and more
  • 24-hour complimentary shuttle service to the airport and local destinations within a five-mile radius
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Outdoor pool (seasonal)
Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • MARC and Amtrak (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • MTA Light Rail (4.8 mi./7.8 km)
  • Washington Reagan National Airport (30 mi./48.3 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (30 mi./48.3 km)
  • The hotel offers free 24-hour shuttle service to BWI, area trains and other points within a five-mile radius
Recreation
There is a 24-hour fitness center on site with two treadmills, cross-trainer, universal weight machine, two bikes and one rowing machine. Guests also access the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel's outdoor pool (seasonal).

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

39.1604 -76.7124
Nearby airports
Regan National Airport, (DCA), 30.00, MI; Dullus International Airport, (IDA), 45.00, MI; Baltimore-Washington International Airport, (BWI), 3.00, MI;
Area description
Airport, airport

Dining

Denny's
Family style restaurant, open 24 hours a day. Very reasonably priced.
Mama Lucia
Italian Cooking, serving beer and wine, free delivery to hotel. Excellent food!
Timbuktu
Large selection of Maryland Seafood. Best known for their crabcakes. Also Steaks and Ribs and full bar.
Gunnings Restaurant
Variety menu than includes Maryland Seafood. Great Clam Chowder and Shrimp salad

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
NEENAH, WI
Aug 17, 2010

GOOD STAY!

Great location, super close to the airport. The shuttle service was outstanding. Our flight left before the complimentary breakfast at the hotel started, so they provide a to go breakfast for you! Rooms were nice, clean, large bathroom. I have no complaints about this hotel at all! Only disappointment was we did not realize the pool was outside and the weather did not permit us to use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Prince George, VA
Aug 7, 2010

Holiday Inn Express Review

The hotel experience was not great to say the least. When we checked in we were placed in a double-bed smoking room which smelled like a bar. I had booked a kingsize, non-smoking room. When I spoke with the hotel staff, they stated that they would check on this and get back with me. This imposed a major inconvenience, being that I had an appointment to prepare for within in the next hour. My hopes were to take a nap and get ready for the appointment. I ended up having to contact the staff two more times before the room was switched. I was also late to the appointment. We were actually placed in the correct room approximately two hours after the scheduled check-in time. W[...] Also the electrical sockets located in the room were not safely covered. I would not recommend staying at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Inner Harbor,Baltimore, Maryland

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laureen
Couples
Tucson, AZ
Aug 3, 2010

filthy carpets and questionable linens

We were visiting family in Northern VA. To avoid the morning commuter traffic from Northern VA to BWI airport, we decided to spend the evening before our flight in this hotel. The location is perfect. The shuttle driver and front desk clerk were very professional. The room however left much to be desired. The carpets were so filthy that we kept our shoes by the bed just incase we had to get up during the night. The bed linens were dingy gray with stains. We used my husbands shirts to put over the pillows. The white towels and face cloths were more of an off white tone with stains. Had we not been so exhausted and already returned the rental car, we would have attempted to find another place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 26, 2010

Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE- July 2010

I enjoyed the shuttle service which takes you anywhere within a five mile radius of the hotel. The mall was close by which made leisure time a breeze.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the 24 hour accessible shuttle bus

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Basye, VA
Jul 26, 2010

Very Nice Accommodations

The staff was very friendly. The room was very clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. The room was not "worn or aged" as in many other places I have stayed for the money. They had just put in flat screen TVs. I'd definitely stay there again and would higly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Arundel Mills Mall with a Bass Pro Shops is very close by and the location is convenient to the airport and routes 95, 295 and 100.

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 20, 2010

Great price and great location.

Good service, great location, helpful staff, and cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Mandeville, LA
Jun 27, 2010

would stay here again

Overall, our stay was great. My husband and I were here only one night, so we didn't report any problems when we checked in. One supposed problem was that the t.v. didn't work. When we asked about it the next morning, the clerk said that BOTH light switches by the entrance had to be on for the t.v. and appliances to work. She was right..at least about the t.v. My hubby said that the fridge and micro never did work. There may have been a very simple solution for the other appliances, but we didn't check it out. But overall... we had a very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carriek
Couples
Maple Grove, MN
Jun 22, 2010

Fun Getaway

My husband and I came from MN to see a concert at the Merriweather Pavillion. We thought the location of the hotel was a great place to be located because it was so close to the airport and the highway. Also was right down the street from the car rental, so we had plenty of time to pick up and drop off our car. The hotel itself was clean and the breakfast was enough to get us by until the afternoon. The staff was friendly, we did however get lost because one of the people up front gave us wrong directions, but I think he was new. If we ever traveled this away again, we would absolutely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Washington DC Zoo was only a 45 minute drive and was lots of fun

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Pennsylvania
Jun 21, 2010

Okay for the money

The room itself was good. Unfortunately, the guests next to us were very noisy late into the night. We had to call the desk at midnight to get them to quiet down. The kids liked the pool. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's is right next door - that was a life-saver because the continental breakfast doesn't start until 6:30 on weekends and we had an early flight.

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Twin Cities
Jun 14, 2010

One I would recommend

Nice, quiet location. Staff was friendly. Good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top