Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

3 stars
7481 RIDGE ROAD, HANOVER, MD 21076
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
110 reviews
A one nite visit in Hanover

This Hotel was able to extend us for a late check-out with out problems. The place seemed NEW. The... See full review

  • Mike de Cadiz
  • Mar 17, 2014
Wonderful Place!

Room was super clean, staff was friendly, and the continental breakfast is hot and delicious! Would... See full review

  • Jess.butler401
  • Nov 3, 2013
Affordable Baltimore hotel minutes from the airport with modern touches
Located near the airport, the 159-room Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel treats guests to complimentary shuttle rides within a five-mile radius, with stops at area train stations. Guests hitch a ride to the nearby Gunnings Restaurant or the crab-cake famous Timbuktu. Rooms at the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel cover the basics plus a few modern extras -- namely, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi -- and guests enjoy the free continental breakfast buffet every morning. The hotel takes serious pride in its hot cinnamon rolls.
Highlights
  • Convenient location, close to airport, Baltimore Inner Harbor, Camden Yards and more
  • 24-hour complimentary shuttle service to the airport and local destinations within a five-mile radius
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms
  • Outdoor pool (seasonal)
Location
The airport is a short shuttle ride from the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel. A number of businesses also are close by, including Northrop Grumman, Daimler Chrysler and Siemens. Guests have easy shuttle access the three major train systems: MARC Commuter Train, Amtrak and MTA Light Rail. Downtown Baltimore and its famous Inner Harbor is a short drive away.
Rooms
All rooms at the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel come with free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, microwave, refrigerator, workdesk and choice of one king or two double beds. The hotel also offers four suites.
Dining
Guests start the day with a free continental breakfast buffet including fruits, cereals, hardboiled eggs, cinnamon rolls and more. There is no on-site restaurant, but a 24-hour Denny's Restaurant stands adjacent to the hotel. Guests walk to the nearby Mama Lucia for Italian fare, beer and wine (the restaurant also delivers to the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel for free). Ask the front desk for a restaurant recommendation and hop on the free shuttle.
Recreation
There is a 24-hour fitness center on site with two treadmills, cross-trainer, universal weight machine, two bikes and one rowing machine. Guests also access the Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-BWI Airport West hotel's outdoor pool (seasonal).
Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • MARC and Amtrak (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • MTA Light Rail (4.8 mi./7.8 km)
  • Washington Reagan National Airport (30 mi./48.3 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (30 mi./48.3 km)
  • The hotel offers free 24-hour shuttle service to BWI, area trains and other points within a five-mile radius

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

39.1604 -76.7124
Nearby airports
Regan National Airport, (DCA), 30.00, MI; Dullus International Airport, (IDA), 45.00, MI; Baltimore-Washington International Airport, (BWI), 3.00, MI;
Area description
Airport, airport

Dining

Denny's
Family style restaurant, open 24 hours a day. Very reasonably priced.
Mama Lucia
Italian Cooking, serving beer and wine, free delivery to hotel. Excellent food!
Timbuktu
Large selection of Maryland Seafood. Best known for their crabcakes. Also Steaks and Ribs and full bar.
Gunnings Restaurant
Variety menu than includes Maryland Seafood. Great Clam Chowder and Shrimp salad

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (110)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ice Coffee
Spring Lake, MI
Nov 13, 2010

Baltimore on the way to DC

This was a quick trip and we spent most of the time in DC. As hotel stays go it was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Thai dining in a nearby strip mall was tasty.

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Netmom
Bridgewater, NJ
Sep 25, 2010

Shuttle service unpredictable

My daughter and I were there for a college visit. We needed to use their shuttle service to and from Baltimore. Going to Baltimore our driver was extremely helpful. He provided information on how to use the public transit systems and saved us time and money. The trip back was completely different. I called for the shuttle from the BWI Amtrak station at 9:50pm. I was told that the shuttle would be there in about 15 minutes, which is the normal wait time. At 10:20pm, a half an hour later, no shuttle. I called again. Apologies were offered, and we were told to expect them "soon". At 10:35pm, no shuttle. I call again. This time, no estimate offered. At 10:40pm the shuttle arrives. Someone else was already in the shuttle and we had to stop and pick up another family at the airport. The folks at the next stop were quite pleased at how quickly the shuttle came after they had called! I shared with them my experience and they were shocked. Clearly, the dispatcher scheduled the routing so that there was minimal driving involving. That offers no consolation for my daughter and I who had to wait FIFTY MINUTES before being picked up!! Unacceptable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Netmom
Bridgewater, NJ
Sep 25, 2010

Shuttle service unpredictable

My daughter and I were there for a college visit. We needed to use their shuttle service to and from Baltimore. Going to Baltimore our driver was extremely helpful. He provided information on how to use the public transit systems and saved us time and money. The trip back was completely different. I called for the shuttle from the BWI Amtrak station at 9:50pm. I was told that the shuttle would be there in about 15 minutes, which is the normal wait time. At 10:20pm, a half an hour later, no shuttle. I called again. Apologies were offered, and we were told to expect them "soon". At 10:35pm, no shuttle. I call again. This time, no estimate offered. At 10:40pm the shuttle arrives. Someone else was already in the shuttle and we had to stop and pick up another family at the airport. The folks at the next stop were quite pleased at how quickly the shuttle came after they had called! I shared with them my experience and they were shocked. Clearly, the dispatcher scheduled the routing so that there was minimal driving involving. That offers no consolation for my daughter and I who had to wait FIFTY MINUTES before being picked up!! Unacceptable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Fl
Aug 29, 2010

Holiday Experience

The hotel was great. I had a rental and didn't do well with the driving. It was a little difficult to find. I understand that the shuttle service was available but I got lost the three times I went out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Fl
Aug 29, 2010

Holiday Experience

The hotel was great. I had a rental and didn't do well with the driving. It was a little difficult to find. I understand that the shuttle service was available but I got lost the three times I went out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
starshoot
Business
Azore Islands
Aug 22, 2010

Holida In Express near BWI-Hanover

I was just in transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I was in transit but wanted to eat great Blue Crabs while in Baltimore. HIE offered a free five mile shuttle and return after checking in so you saved on taxi fare to a resturant or nearby transportation to other sites. Great idea!

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
starshoot
Business
Azore Islands
Aug 22, 2010

Holida In Express near BWI-Hanover

I was just in transit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I was in transit but wanted to eat great Blue Crabs while in Baltimore. HIE offered a free five mile shuttle and return after checking in so you saved on taxi fare to a resturant or nearby transportation to other sites. Great idea!

Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NEENAH, WI
Aug 17, 2010

GOOD STAY!

Great location, super close to the airport. The shuttle service was outstanding. Our flight left before the complimentary breakfast at the hotel started, so they provide a to go breakfast for you! Rooms were nice, clean, large bathroom. I have no complaints about this hotel at all! Only disappointment was we did not realize the pool was outside and the weather did not permit us to use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NEENAH, WI
Aug 17, 2010

GOOD STAY!

Great location, super close to the airport. The shuttle service was outstanding. Our flight left before the complimentary breakfast at the hotel started, so they provide a to go breakfast for you! Rooms were nice, clean, large bathroom. I have no complaints about this hotel at all! Only disappointment was we did not realize the pool was outside and the weather did not permit us to use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express BALTIMORE-BWI AIRPORT WEST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Prince George, VA
Aug 7, 2010

Holiday Inn Express Review

The hotel experience was not great to say the least. When we checked in we were placed in a double-bed smoking room which smelled like a bar. I had booked a kingsize, non-smoking room. When I spoke with the hotel staff, they stated that they would check on this and get back with me. This imposed a major inconvenience, being that I had an appointment to prepare for within in the next hour. My hopes were to take a nap and get ready for the appointment. I ended up having to contact the staff two more times before the room was switched. I was also late to the appointment. We were actually placed in the correct room approximately two hours after the scheduled check-in time. W[...] Also the electrical sockets located in the room were not safely covered. I would not recommend staying at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Inner Harbor,Baltimore, Maryland

Back to menu Return to top