$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

3 stars
420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
78 reviews
my favorite

Love this hotel! It remains my favorite hotel to stay at in Frederick. See full review

  • mommysarah
  • Mar 4, 2014
great family experience

It wad a very clean sms friendly atmosphere...food for breakfast excellent See full review

  • Tammy Lynn
  • Oct 6, 2013
Choose this charming Frederick, Maryland hotel located minutes away from the historic downtown area, Fort Detrick and Mount Saint Mary University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick where guests will find friendly customer service, comfortable accommodations and convenient access to key attractions in central Maryland. This Frederick hotel boasts 118 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each featuring cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will wake up to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning before enjoying an array of hotel amenities such as an outdoor swimming pool, fitness center, business center and meeting facilities. The BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick is ideally located a short distance from the historic downtown area, where guests will find an array of shopping and dining. Guests staying at this Maryland hotel will be close to attractions such as the Frederick Fairgrounds, Mount Saint Mary University and the B & O Railroad Museum. History buffs will enjoy visiting the Gettysburg Battlefield, only 20 minutes away. Business travelers will find themselves less than five miles from corporate locations such as BP Solar, Lockheed Martin, Bechtel and Fort Detrick. Frederick is also home to a variety of events including wine festivals, the Great Frederick Fair, the Celtic Festival, In the Streets and the Beef Sheep and Wool Festival. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Frederick, Maryland. Make a reservation today and save!

Hotel Map

39.4038 -77.4276
Area served
Leesburg,, Martinsburg,, Gettysburg,, Gaithersburg, Germantown, Hagerstown
Nearby airports
(BWI), 40.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Expressway

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED,MICFRG,COFMKR,HAIR,IRN/BRD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,HI SPED NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,HI SPED NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSM,HI SPD NET,2ND BED SOFA,MICRFRG,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED,MICFRG,COFMKR,HAIR,IRN/BRD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,HI SPD NET,2ND BED SOFA,MICRFG,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,1KBD,2DBLBD,NSMK,COFMKR,HISPD,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Barbara Fritchie House and Museum: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debra Does the East Coast
Houston, Texas
Mar 17, 2013

Perfect location

Perfect location with a delicious breakfast. Hotel is older but rooms are clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BNlhah
Charlotte, NC
May 21, 2012

Rough Stay

We asked for a non-smoking room and we somehow got bumped to a smoking room. The entire hallway smelled like smoke and the room had a funk about it. When we arrived there were no towels. My wife asked one of the maids walking around and the maid gave her 2 small, wet towels. Breakfast was sketchy, with yogurts meant to stay cold far away from the ice. It was billed as being in "Historic Downtown" and while it was a close cab ride to historic downtown it certainly wasnt walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chil
Boston, MA
Nov 5, 2013

Disappointing

Our room had no hot water. Even though we informed the desk twice, the problem was not addressed. In addition, we had reserved a room with two beds. We were given a handicapped room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oldbayboy
Havre de Grace, MD
Jun 25, 2012

not at all worth the price

I was shocked to see this hotel was a "3 star"...it is 1.5 at best. After having to interrupt a personal conversation to check in...I had to return to the desk 3 times because the key didn't work. After being let in with a standard key, I went to close the window because the highway noise was loud...well, the window was all ready closed...the noise was horrible all night. The 2 double beds were as small as a cot, and the bathroom feels like they built the shower, then said "oops, we forgot to put a toilet in...let jam one in the corner..." so very small. Positives....the water was hot in the shower. Maxwell House coffee? Really? $100 for a room and we get Maxwell House? I couldn't leave this place fast enough. This is why I stick to Starwood hotels as much as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
Aug 18, 2010

Did not have the reservation

Had meetings at 9 am. Did not have my reservation and did not get the room expected. Late arrival was checked in the reservation. Had a room with an adjoining door to another and the person in the next room had the tv blaring all night. I don't know why they did not have the reservation, you need to look into this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
awj025
Galloway, OH
May 29, 2012

Soaked Floor - Staff Claimed Inability to Make Financial Adjustment

As we checked into the hotel about 10:30pm, the desk clerk implied that we had sent a "smoking room" reservation... I have the confirmation - it was a non-smoking reservation. The room itself was freezing upon arrival and smelled like wet towels. The A/C unit was cranking at high. The temp setting was 54. That entire corner of the room's carpet was soaked. The kids had jumped under the bed covers to stay warm and they fell asleep before we discovered the wet carpet, so we postponed notifying the staff until the morning. The next morning the Manager stated that since we'd booked through a third party that he could do nothing to fulfill their chain's satisfaction guarantee beyond offering a future night's stay. Truly a lame way to pass the buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MA
Aug 18, 2010

Did not have the reservation

Had meetings at 9 am. Did not have my reservation and did not get the room expected. Late arrival was checked in the reservation. Had a room with an adjoining door to another and the person in the next room had the tv blaring all night. I don't know why they did not have the reservation, you need to look into this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Momshrie
Meriden, CT
May 20, 2013

Graduation weekend

Local to the college. Nice breakfast daily. Small bathroom. A/C wasn't the greatest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PattyandRon
Brick, NJ, USA
Oct 17, 2011

College Visit

The hotel in general could use some updating. Beds were ok and the pillows were terrible!!! (Bring your own if you need to stay) The outside of the hotel needs to be kept up. ( garbage at doors)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Jul 17, 2009

Roaches

We used this hotel as a stop off on our trip to Washington, DC. It was very near the interstate and fairly easy to find. First off the room may have been cleaned after the last guest stayed in it, but that last guest must have stayed there a month prior. The room was musty and there was a visible layer of dust in the shower. Then while walking down to the ice machine I noticed a cockroach sitting defiantly on the sign which points towards the rooms. The continental breakfast left something to be desired. There was the typical waffle maker and tower of bagels and pastry along with some defrosted frozen fruit. There was no fresh fruit or much selection of cold cereal (Fruit Loops or Raisin Bran). Overall not a great experience, but certainly not the worst I've seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jejasmine
Baltimore, MD, USA
Jan 11, 2012

My Getaway

1. Amenities: such as breakfast, could have been better. 2. Location: ok. 3. Room cleaniness: good. Hotel needs major improvement, old and run down. 4. Comfort: was good. 5. The staff: was great. 6. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top