$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

3 stars
420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
64 reviews
One night stop over

Excellent room! Breakfast was great and included. Would stay again. See full review

  • Jimmynorman
  • Jul 20, 2014
my favorite

Love this hotel! It remains my favorite hotel to stay at in Frederick. See full review

  • mommysarah
  • Mar 4, 2014
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick! When guests stay at this charming Frederick hotel, that is just minutes from the historic downtown area, the options are limitless. Comfortable accommodations and convenient access to the most popular attractions in central Maryland, such as Fort Detrick, are guaranteed. Enjoy 118 rooms and suites with cable satellite TV, free Wi-Fi and laundry services. A free hot breakfast is offered each morning, the perfect start to a day of lounging by the outdoor seasonal pool, taking care of business in the meeting facilities, or keeping up with your regimen at the fitness center. Proximity to the Frederick Fairgrounds and B&O Railroad Museum® really make this Frederick hotel stand out. Head to the Gettysburg Battlefield or one of the many local wine festivals. The Celtic Festival is always a great time while the Sheep and Wool Festival is brimming with charm. Fredericks In the Streets and the Great Frederick Fair cant be missed, while business travelers with Medimmune and Bechtel are close to HQ. From a meeting at Lockheed Martin to a lecture at Hood College, traveling is easy. Frederick, Maryland hotels feature a convenient location off three major highways including Routes 70, 270 and 15. However, this property is also near the Frederick Airport with a parking lot that can accommodate all sizes of trucks and buses. As the closest hotel to historic downtown Frederick, history buffs favor this property. All rooms have refrigerators and microwaves for longer stays, such as those who want to see all the Civil War battlefields along one of Marylands scenic byway. Golf groups are accommodated with special rates, while access to the Maryland SoccerPlex & Discovery Sports Center is a breeze. Plus, when youre within walking distance to shopping and restaurants or would rather take advantage of the outdoor picnic and grilling area, a Frederick hotel stay feels more like staying with family.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED,MICFRG,COFMKR,HAIR,IRN/BRD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED,MICFRG,COFMKR,HAIR,IRN/BRD,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSM,HI SPD NET,2ND BED SOFA,MICRFRG,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,1KBD,2DBLBD,NSMK,COFMKR,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBACC,COMAST,BATHTB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,HI SPED NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,HI SPED NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,HI SPD NET,2ND BED SOFA,MICRFG,HAIR,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Barbara Fritchie House and Museum: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oldbayboy
Business
Havre de Grace, MD
Jun 25, 2012

not at all worth the price

I was shocked to see this hotel was a "3 star"...it is 1.5 at best. After having to interrupt a personal conversation to check in...I had to return to the desk 3 times because the key didn't work. After being let in with a standard key, I went to close the window because the highway noise was loud...well, the window was all ready closed...the noise was horrible all night. The 2 double beds were as small as a cot, and the bathroom feels like they built the shower, then said "oops, we forgot to put a toilet in...let jam one in the corner..." so very small. Positives....the water was hot in the shower. Maxwell House coffee? Really? $100 for a room and we get Maxwell House? I couldn't leave this place fast enough. This is why I stick to Starwood hotels as much as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Martha traveller
Business
New Canaan, CT
Jun 18, 2012

Inexpensive and so-so

Room was so crowded with furniture that it was hard to manoever in. Bathroom was a cramped bath/shower and toilet. (The small sink was right in the room and it had very little shelf room.) Thank god we're not fat! Room seemed musty but was pretty clean. Air conditioning unit cycled on and off and when it was on, it blew an unpleasant cold breeze on any person sitting at the desk. We would have preferred one queen or king bed to two double beds, but the two double was all we could get. Walls were thin so that everything in the next room was loud and clear to us. On the good side, it was easy to get on the highway from the motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
awj025
Business
Galloway, OH
May 29, 2012

Soaked Floor - Staff Claimed Inability to Make Financial Adjustment

As we checked into the hotel about 10:30pm, the desk clerk implied that we had sent a "smoking room" reservation... I have the confirmation - it was a non-smoking reservation. The room itself was freezing upon arrival and smelled like wet towels. The A/C unit was cranking at high. The temp setting was 54. That entire corner of the room's carpet was soaked. The kids had jumped under the bed covers to stay warm and they fell asleep before we discovered the wet carpet, so we postponed notifying the staff until the morning. The next morning the Manager stated that since we'd booked through a third party that he could do nothing to fulfill their chain's satisfaction guarantee beyond offering a future night's stay. Truly a lame way to pass the buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BNlhah
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 21, 2012

Rough Stay

We asked for a non-smoking room and we somehow got bumped to a smoking room. The entire hallway smelled like smoke and the room had a funk about it. When we arrived there were no towels. My wife asked one of the maids walking around and the maid gave her 2 small, wet towels. Breakfast was sketchy, with yogurts meant to stay cold far away from the ice. It was billed as being in "Historic Downtown" and while it was a close cab ride to historic downtown it certainly wasnt walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C J M
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 24, 2012

Good for short stay

The breakfast was good. Front desk staff excellent. Clean and good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to May's for great crab dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jejasmine
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Jan 11, 2012

My Getaway

1. Amenities: such as breakfast, could have been better. 2. Location: ok. 3. Room cleaniness: good. Hotel needs major improvement, old and run down. 4. Comfort: was good. 5. The staff: was great. 6. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wynter
Business
Frederick, MD, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Not to shabby

Everything was clean, staff was kind, good amount of amenities for travelers. The breakfast wasn't nearly as good as other have said but it was free so I ate what I could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1234jeff1234
Business
rochester, ny
Dec 12, 2011

frederick

location and breakfast good. bathroom was very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bndrhood
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 14, 2011

That's Good Stuff

Clean and comfortable with a friendly staff. Very servicable breakfast offering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Volt - Absoulutely outstanding in every aspect.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gcheck79
Business
milwaukee, wi
Oct 28, 2011

nice place

Was nice and clean. bathroom was really small- like barely move around in. the room was well taken care of. staff seemed friendly and breakfast was good! they even had a computer and printer so I could print off my plane boarding pass for the next day! was close to a strip mall with resturants. only complaint was hot water wasn't as hot as I would like but was good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Athens greek resturant has good food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top