BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

3 stars
420 Prospect Boulevard, Frederick, MD 21701-6400
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
78 reviews
my favorite

Love this hotel! It remains my favorite hotel to stay at in Frederick. See full review

  • mommysarah
  • Mar 4, 2014
great family experience

It wad a very clean sms friendly atmosphere...food for breakfast excellent See full review

  • Tammy Lynn
  • Oct 6, 2013
Choose this charming Frederick, Maryland hotel located minutes away from the historic downtown area, Fort Detrick and Mount Saint Mary University. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick where guests will find friendly customer service, comfortable accommodations and convenient access to key attractions in central Maryland. This Frederick hotel boasts 118 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each featuring cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will wake up to a complimentary continental breakfast each morning before enjoying an array of hotel amenities such as an outdoor swimming pool, fitness center, business center and meeting facilities. The BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick is ideally located a short distance from the historic downtown area, where guests will find an array of shopping and dining. Guests staying at this Maryland hotel will be close to attractions such as the Frederick Fairgrounds, Mount Saint Mary University and the B & O Railroad Museum. History buffs will enjoy visiting the Gettysburg Battlefield, only 20 minutes away. Business travelers will find themselves less than five miles from corporate locations such as BP Solar, Lockheed Martin, Bechtel and Fort Detrick. Frederick is also home to a variety of events including wine festivals, the Great Frederick Fair, the Celtic Festival, In the Streets and the Beef Sheep and Wool Festival. The friendly, helpful staff at the BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable stay in Frederick, Maryland. Make a reservation today and save!

BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick Rooms

2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,HI SPEED,MICFRG,COFMKR,HAIR,IRN/BRD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,SMOK,HI SPED NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,SMOK,HI SPED NET,MICRFG,COFMKR,IRON,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSM,HI SPD NET,2ND BED SOFA,MICRFRG,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED,MICFRG,COFMKR,HAIR,IRN/BRD,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,SMOK,HI SPD NET,2ND BED SOFA,MICRFG,HAIR,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS
SUITE-2 ROOMS 3 BEDS,1KBD,2DBLBD,NSMK,COFMKR,HISPD,MICRFG,CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Hotel Map

39.4038 -77.4276
Area served
Leesburg,, Martinsburg,, Gettysburg,, Gaithersburg, Germantown, Hagerstown
Nearby airports
(BWI), 40.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Expressway

Nearby points of interest

  • Barbara Fritchie House and Museum: 1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Admissions
Business
Pennsylvania
Mar 14, 2013

Good place for a business overnight

Friendly staff. Clean room. Good breakfast. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mama from Ohio
Ohio
Jan 15, 2013

Great Hotel

For the price, you can not beat this hotel for a night's stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bammers
Business
Edgewood, Md.
Nov 16, 2012

good deal

Had everything i needed/wanted for my excursion. I would recommend this place. Right off of the highway so easy to find or keep going if on a long travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grey hair
Palm Harbor, Florida
Nov 5, 2012

one night stopover

The hotel was clean, staff friendly, and good breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don W G
Sacramento, Ca
Sep 28, 2012

Very Helpful staff

Room accomodations were average, but staff went out of there way to be very helpful and polite. I think they all deserve a pay raise!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Oldbayboy
Havre de Grace, MD
Jun 25, 2012

not at all worth the price

I was shocked to see this hotel was a "3 star"...it is 1.5 at best. After having to interrupt a personal conversation to check in...I had to return to the desk 3 times because the key didn't work. After being let in with a standard key, I went to close the window because the highway noise was loud...well, the window was all ready closed...the noise was horrible all night. The 2 double beds were as small as a cot, and the bathroom feels like they built the shower, then said "oops, we forgot to put a toilet in...let jam one in the corner..." so very small. Positives....the water was hot in the shower. Maxwell House coffee? Really? $100 for a room and we get Maxwell House? I couldn't leave this place fast enough. This is why I stick to Starwood hotels as much as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Martha traveller
New Canaan, CT
Jun 18, 2012

Inexpensive and so-so

Room was so crowded with furniture that it was hard to manoever in. Bathroom was a cramped bath/shower and toilet. (The small sink was right in the room and it had very little shelf room.) Thank god we're not fat! Room seemed musty but was pretty clean. Air conditioning unit cycled on and off and when it was on, it blew an unpleasant cold breeze on any person sitting at the desk. We would have preferred one queen or king bed to two double beds, but the two double was all we could get. Walls were thin so that everything in the next room was loud and clear to us. On the good side, it was easy to get on the highway from the motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
awj025
Galloway, OH
May 29, 2012

Soaked Floor - Staff Claimed Inability to Make Financial Adjustment

As we checked into the hotel about 10:30pm, the desk clerk implied that we had sent a "smoking room" reservation... I have the confirmation - it was a non-smoking reservation. The room itself was freezing upon arrival and smelled like wet towels. The A/C unit was cranking at high. The temp setting was 54. That entire corner of the room's carpet was soaked. The kids had jumped under the bed covers to stay warm and they fell asleep before we discovered the wet carpet, so we postponed notifying the staff until the morning. The next morning the Manager stated that since we'd booked through a third party that he could do nothing to fulfill their chain's satisfaction guarantee beyond offering a future night's stay. Truly a lame way to pass the buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BNlhah
Charlotte, NC
May 21, 2012

Rough Stay

We asked for a non-smoking room and we somehow got bumped to a smoking room. The entire hallway smelled like smoke and the room had a funk about it. When we arrived there were no towels. My wife asked one of the maids walking around and the maid gave her 2 small, wet towels. Breakfast was sketchy, with yogurts meant to stay cold far away from the ice. It was billed as being in "Historic Downtown" and while it was a close cab ride to historic downtown it certainly wasnt walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN Historic Frederick

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C J M
Chicago, IL
Feb 24, 2012

Good for short stay

The breakfast was good. Front desk staff excellent. Clean and good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to May's for great crab dinner.

Back to menu Return to top