$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Hyatt Regency Bethesda

4 stars
View map of ONE BETHESDA METRO CENTER, BETHESDA, MD 20814

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Nov 26, 2010

great stay at hyatt regency in bethesda

The location of this hotel was perfect. It was a few blocks from an adorable city center that was filled with shops and restaurants. Also a 4 minute drive from the NNMC which was the point of our stay. the hotel was beautiful, convenient parking, clean, and nice cafe in the lobby. would definately stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 2, 2010

Zero Stars!

This is the hotel of your nightmares. I am a 64 year old disabled veteran. I use an assistive device to walk. It resembles a walker with small wheels. When I arrived at the hotel I was informed I would not be getting the smoking room I had requested. I pointed out that I had pre-paid 6 weeks in advance and that seemed like enough time to arrange for a room in which I could smoke. Too bad. I was given a key card for a room 2 flights up and pointed to the elevator. I was not offered an assist with my bag or any other courtesy. When I got to the room I found I had a view of an alley, the dumpsters, and the back door of a tattoo parlor. [...]Most of the available options on the TV were pay for use, and the internet connection was $10 per day. The walls were thin and the neighbors loud. The next morning I arose at 6 AM and went down to the lobby for a cup of coffee (there was none in the room as you would find in a more "downscale" hotel). There I found out that coffee was not available until after 7 AM. I was incredulous! I went to the desk and asked to be moved to a smoking room after one checked out that morning and I was just flatly refused. Not that one would not be available, they just would not let me move. Period. I'm still hobbling around on my walker, up and down and out for every cigarette. That evening I went to one of the restaurants in the hotel, the Daily Grill. I was seated by the maître d' and I ordered a drink and dinner. My food was delivered without comment and I began to eat. The chicken marsala was dry and chewy, filled with veins and gristle, but no one came back to ask how it was, or if I needed anything else. Later, at the small bar off the lobby I sat down to order a drink. The bartender was busy cleaning and stocking and doing all the things a bartender does when he is not serving someone. The someone he was not serving was me. After walking past me several times I finally had to call out to him, "Hey, am I invisible here?" When I checked out the next morning I asked for a receipt. I was refused a receipt [...] Forty some years ago, while I was in school, I worked part-time at the local Holiday Inn. Had any of these things happened there the staff would have been terminated on the spot and the customer reimbursed. I was happy just to get away from there. Spare yourself the agony, go someplace else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Snacks and best coffee 1/2 block away at Booeymonger Bethesda 4600 East West Hwy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 1, 2010

Not the high quality I was expecting

The hotel and its rooms look elegant, but the dated atrium architectural format has finally lost its appeal because the hotel now packs too many rental events into the atrium... the resulting echo is deafening, late into the night, and it was extra awful this past weekend because the Hyatt had rented out most of its rooms for a conference of college-age students. Naturally they ran around screaming in the hallways and in the atrium, kids being kids. That's fine for the Holiday Inn, but I was paying Hyatt prices and will not return to this hotel. Moreover, the building is starting to show its age... the TV cabinet had a door that does not stay open (so it must be propped with a chair) and the closet door kept sliding off its track. It's really just a sad place now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Madeleine restaurant for breakfast; better and cheaper than the hotel's restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philaelphia, PA
Oct 11, 2010

Good, Convenient and reasonably priced

We have stayed at this hotel at least three times, possibly four. It has become the hotel we use when visiting our family in Bethesda. The location is fine. The parking arrangement is very convenient and reasonably priced. The fact that it is right over a Metro stop makes it perfect for getting into D.C. There are many nice restaurants within walking distance and a Mortins Steak House in the hotel. There are also two Starbucks locations within 3 blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a number of very nice restaurants of all types. This is an upscale area. The area is best appreciated on foot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winona, MN
Oct 4, 2010

Loud, but pretty

We were in the area for a medical conference that had meetings that were very long and tiring so when it came time to heading to bead the last thing we wanted was noisy screeching neighbors. Our room was right off of the great room so that was a bit of a problem but when we called the front desk about the noise right next door they sent security up immediately and we were able to sleep after that. The fact it was every night was sad but they did help to correct it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Oct 3, 2010

Not worth the money

The hotel was average. The food was overpriced, and service wasn't anything great for the price. Location was nice. Right by the metro

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SEMER-FI....
Business
ROME, NY
Sep 1, 2010

Very good location

The hotel was fantastic. Great location to go to D.C. This was the best place we stayed in the area. We have been down in the area three times and have to say this was the best....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phelps818
Business
Rochester, NY
Aug 30, 2010

Stay at Hyatt Regency in Bethesda

The location was excellent, right on the Metro, lots of restaurants with in walking distance. A plesant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SHOgirl
Business
Mansfield Ma
Aug 30, 2010

Restore Honor getaway

Extremely accomodating staff make this a great place to stay. Take any needs or questions to the consierge and it's taken care of immediately.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hyatt Regency Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Jul 28, 2010

excellent staff, close to Metro

Lovely lobby, rooms were neat and clean. Beds firm and pillows above average. Just a few steps from the Metro train: crucial to sight-see DC. The staff was absolutely wonderful: cheerful, helpful. Wireless internet, however, was painfully slow and cost a fee just to access it. Food from the Grille: delicious, and available as room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are planning to see DC, driving and parking is somewhat nightmarish. A few steps from the hotel is a Metro (train) access, It's well-done: Easy to learn, cool, and fairly clean. There's a stop right on the Mall in the middle of the Smithsonians.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top