$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Bethesda Marriott

3 stars
View map of 5151 Pooks, Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
54 reviews
Business

The hotel was great . . . going through renovations . . . . some amenities not available. See full review

  • R.H.
  • May 17, 2015
Nice overnight stay

We stayed in this hotel for night as our friends go married in the area. The room was nice and... See full review

  • needed break 4 grad stud
  • Oct 20, 2014
Experience the transformation of the Bethesda Marriott, a premier Maryland hotel where reinvented guest rooms, luxury amenities and attentive service set the pace for an exceptional stay. Conveniently situated in the thriving Capital Region northwest of Washington, D.C., the list of things to do is endless as guests find themselves surrounded by hundreds of restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping. Located only two miles from downtown Bethesda, our hotel's fine services include complimentary shuttle service to the downtown district and other local destinations including the National Institute of Health, Montgomery Mall and the Metro's Red Line which provides continuous service to downtown Washington, D.C. Guests also enjoy direct access to I-270 and I-495 from our sophisticated Bethesda, MD hotel. Boasting 18,500 square feet of flexible, state-of-the-art event space, our hotel is ideal for corporate meetings, professional gatherings and elegant wedding receptions.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bethesda Marriott also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Fire place
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Agio
One of the best Italian restaurants in Bethesda, guests can enjoy classic and contemporary cuisine in a casual, relaxing atmosphere. Our menu features all of your favorites, plus a wide assortment of exceptional wines to pair with your dining selection.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Bethesda Marriott

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 54
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
needed break 4 grad stud
Business
Sterling, VA
Oct 20, 2014

Nice overnight stay

We stayed in this hotel for night as our friends go married in the area. The room was nice and clean and the hotel in general was a great stay. Front desk help was quite nice, but the hotel staff behind the starbucks area encountered in the morning left a bit to be desired. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brilliant Professor
Business
SF Bay Area
Apr 28, 2014

Good, but distant

This is a very good hotel, but is suited for those traveling either to NIH or the Medical Center. It has no surrounding shops, restaurants, or any other facilities. It is seved only by taxi or by hotel shuttle to the nearest Metro. And: internet connection is $12.95 per day; breakfast is $17. Rooms are very comfortable. Lobby is large; eating area is also large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The chief attraction is the good rooms and the comfortable beds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NIH Patient
Business
Portland, Oregon
Nov 26, 2013

Near NIH, friendly staff, not great

Stayed for appointments at NIH. Staff and shuttle drivers very friendly and helpful. Food not good and there are not other options close to hotel. Facilities are old. Children running up and down hallway a lot one night, which isn't really the hotel's fault, but did not improve the overall experience. Many people constantly smoking in front of hotel: same thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Travelling Carolinian
Business
New Bern, NC
Mar 4, 2013

Good hotel for my traveling needs

We found the hotel staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room was a good buy for what I got. I only had two concerns. The bathroom was a little smaller then what I am used to. It would be ok for one person but there were two of us in the room. I would have preferred not to have to had to pay extra for onsite parking in an outside lot. Other then that, the room was comfortable, quiet and a good place for us to stay every evening. We will most likely stay here again if we can get the good rate that we had on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hartsdale New York
Jun 14, 2011

nice hotel

we were visiting the grands and this hotel was just great. what makes the hotel very nice is the staff. excellent. friendly and helpful, look for [...]great guy. the pool is nice . indoor and outdoor and children are allowed in. there are two life guards. the restaurant was more than adequate and we received free breakfast so that was nice. parking is 12 for 24 hours but there is some limited parking on the street and it not so far away. the only negative thing I have to offer is the bed was not comfortable for me. the mattress was very soft. the women at the desk said they are all like that in the whole chain. I find that hard to believe since we frequently stay at marriots. oh and the room was rather small but ok..nice area and close to highways. we took the shuttle into bethesda and that was a good idea because it is crowded and the parking is scarce. the shuttle runs on time and the driver knows alot about the area..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
May 9, 2011

For 5 feet and under

Best points - convenient and clean. Bad points - $12.00 a day for parking Bathroom was so small you could not close the door without moving out of the way. The whole hotel was very claustrophic No refrig. or microwave A/C SUCKED! TV had very few channels mostly sports Shower would have been better if someone spit on you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Awesome food in Bethseda

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
culpeper, va
Apr 18, 2011

not so good

I surprised my husband with a quick getaway night. We were headed to Bethesda for a retirement party and since we rarely leave our 3 children I booked a hotel room for the 2 of us.Our flat screen tv, which we were so excited about, did not work. Neither did half the lights in the room. We were woken by a knock on the door by the maid.When we looked at the clock it said 11:00. We rushed around taking showers and packing up so we could be out by check out time which is noon. Come to find out the clock was over 2 hours fast. When I went to the front desk to complain they offered no compensation and stated they could not because I had not gotten the room directly from them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check your clocks to make sure the time is correctly set

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Mar 28, 2011

Below Average

We just needed a hotel room near our friends house for our visit. We were only intending to sleep here. We were given a room right by the elevators but it was so late we didn't have the energy to request a quieter room. We did not have an ice bucket. The furniture was dated. We were extremely upset that we had to pay for parking at a hotel in the suburbs with large parking lots. After a very tiring day we wanted to be very happy about our stay and were not. Room rate was about $20 overpriced in our opinion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pocatello, ID
Aug 31, 2010

Great hotel, easy access to Metro

We came to attend the Glenn Beck rally, and see the Capitol, we had a great time and the Hotel was a wonderful location, with friendly staff, easy acess to the Metro and down town DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying for several days then take advantage of an extended day Metro Pass makes getting around very easy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NA
Aug 25, 2010

Review of Hotel

Quite pleasant Did not expect to have to pay $12.00 per day for hotel parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

None

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top