$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Bethesda Marriott

3 stars
View map of 5151 Pooks, Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bethesda Marriott

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Mar 28, 2011

Below Average

We just needed a hotel room near our friends house for our visit. We were only intending to sleep here. We were given a room right by the elevators but it was so late we didn't have the energy to request a quieter room. We did not have an ice bucket. The furniture was dated. We were extremely upset that we had to pay for parking at a hotel in the suburbs with large parking lots. After a very tiring day we wanted to be very happy about our stay and were not. Room rate was about $20 overpriced in our opinion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola, FL
Sep 28, 2010

Good deal

Nice clean hotel. The shuttle to the Metro train makes it easy to get around DC. Skip the hotel restaurant, there are better ones close by in Bethesda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pocatello, ID
Aug 31, 2010

Great hotel, easy access to Metro

We came to attend the Glenn Beck rally, and see the Capitol, we had a great time and the Hotel was a wonderful location, with friendly staff, easy acess to the Metro and down town DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying for several days then take advantage of an extended day Metro Pass makes getting around very easy

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NA
Aug 25, 2010

Review of Hotel

Quite pleasant Did not expect to have to pay $12.00 per day for hotel parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

None

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunnyskys
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 26, 2010

A nice hotel.

Better pillows. The ones supplied were small and lumpy. Had to pay $12 to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 22, 2010

Perfect for NIH visits

This hotel has a great staff and a convenient shuttle. The shower walls could have been cleaner, but overall the room was great for this level of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hollywood, FL
Jun 21, 2010

New and Clean

Below Par for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 8, 2010

The Good and the Bad

The hotel was excellent. Unfortunately, you have to rake a hotel shuttle or cab to get to the metro station. You waste a lot of time waiting for the hotel shuttle and then possibly another 20 minutes waiting for the metro. If we do this again, we will definitely get a hotel within walking distance to the metro station. Most hotel staff were excellent and provided a shuttle even though it was not time yet for the shuttle service to start. Unfortunately, we ran into that one front desk staffer that made us take a cab to the metro station because it was not yet 8:00 when the shuttles began functioning. To get that kind of rude service when the hotel is not near a metro station made us realize we will not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

J&G Steakhouse in D.C. was out of this world. You could cut the fillet with a fork and the steakhouse is across the street from the White House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Jun 7, 2010

Could have been better

Room was clean and the service was ok. We would have preferred a room that had two beds vice one king size bed. Co-sleeping with a 2 year old is do-able, but not my idea of fun. They had a great indoor pool that was heated, there was also an unheated outdoor pool for summer months. However my big beef is that EVERYTHING was extra. Internet was an extra $12/day, parking was an extra $12/day. That was a little annoying. Would have been nice if it was noted that yes they have these services, but that they cost extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are plenty of restaurants down Rockville Pike. The restaurant in the hotel is (as usual) a little pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cary, NC
Apr 12, 2010

Nice room buy pay for parking & Internet

The hotel is right off of I-495 but we didn't experience any road roar from the interstate. Check in was a breeze. Elevators were quick and clean. I don't think we ever had to wait more that 10 seconds for an elevator. The rooms were in great shape. The shower head was located at a height where you could wash your hair (a lot of hotels have started mounting them at neck level). All staff were friendly and they often have greeter at the door like Wal-Mart. On the down side... There is a reasonable daily parking fee; in-room Internet costs money and is not wireless (ethernet cable is provided); and an inconsiderate guest allowed his children to run relay races down the hall at 7am. Provided the room rates remain competitive, we will return to the Marriott the next time we come to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not drive into DC unless you like being in gridlock. Park at a metro station and ride in. The metro is clean, efficient, and cheaper than driving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top