$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Bethesda Marriott

3 stars
5151 Pooks, Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
77 reviews
Good, but distant

This is a very good hotel, but is suited for those traveling either to NIH or the Medical Center.... See full review

  • Brilliant Professor
  • Apr 28, 2014
great vacation

Room was clean, staff was great, food was awesome. See full review

  • mevidatisha
  • Oct 18, 2013
Experience the comforts of the distinctive Bethesda Marriott, a premier Maryland hotel where spacious guest rooms, luxury amenities and attentive service set the pace for an exceptional stay. Conveniently situated in the thriving Capital Region northwest of Washington, D.C., the list of things to do is endless as guests find themselves surrounded by hundreds of restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping. Located only two miles from downtown Bethesda, our hotel's fine services include complimentary shuttle service to the downtown district and other local destinations including the National Institute of Health, White Flint Mall and the Metro's Red Line which provides continuous service to downtown Washington, D.C. Guests also enjoy direct access to I-270 and I-495 from our sophisticated Bethesda, MD hotel. Boasting 18,500 square feet of flexible, state-of-the-art event space, our hotel is ideal for corporate meetings, professional gatherings and elegant wedding receptions.

Hotel Map

39.0153 -77.1034
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 21.00, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 25.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 35.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Fire place
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Agio
One of the best Italian restaurants in Bethesda, guests can enjoy classic and contemporary cuisine in a casual, relaxing atmosphere. Our menu features all of your favorites, plus a wide assortment of exceptional wines to pair with your dining selection.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Bethesda Marriott

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
often cranky
California
Nov 4, 2012

Reliable

The hotel was fine. We had three rooms for our family. We've stayed in this hotel a number of times over the last six years and it has always been excellent. Clean, with courteous, helpful staff. Not brand new, but everything works. But, I wish they didn't charge for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ginny 888
Syracuse, New York
Aug 28, 2012

Staff don't understand what clean means

Upon arrival to my hotel I was informed that no single rooms with king sized beds were available. I checked out my room I was upset to find hairs in one of the double beds that had been "cleaned". I pulled out the table from under the desk and food fell off of it and onto the floor and I found food and a chop stick on the floor between the bed and the night stand. I was on my was out for the day and just wanted to drop my things off so I informed the front desk of my findings to which they appologized and assured me it would be taken care of. Well, I wasn't. I had to ask two more times for it to finally get cleaned. Everyday the staff took away my complimentary shampoo, conditioner, body wash, lotion and soaps and did not always provide me with one of each. The hotel was a fair distance from the nearest metro station so I had to rely on the hotels shuttle vans which stop running after 11 p.m. which was another inconvenience. Also, I ate dinner one night at the hotel's restaurant, Agio, and I found it overpriced and not very good. On the second morning of my stay a house keeper entered my room twice while I was sleeping. The next morning I put the do not disturb sign on the door and a man, I'm not sure was affiliated with the hotel knocked loudly with some sort of card or key. Over all one of te worst hotel experinces I've ever had. I may even have gotten bed bugs from this awful place. The other Marriott in Bethesda was a pleasure. I stayed there last year and was hoping for a similar experince. Never again will I stay at this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hard worker2011
Business
Ohio, USA
Aug 23, 2012

Not well maintained.

Only one front person was working in the evening of Sunday and he did not properly provide me the information that I requested and no follow up by him. The hair dryer was not working at the room. Possible insect bite during sleep, I found it when I woke up on the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston
Jan 6, 2012

bethesda hospital visit

Good, clean, friendly staff. Rooms smaller than expected and only Queen bed but very clean. Good restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roberters
Business
Augusta, GA
Dec 1, 2011

Medical Appointment

The facility was excellent and all staff were very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catv
Texas
Nov 21, 2011

good experience

The experience was as expected, good service, but pricy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ebep
seattle
Sep 20, 2011

very satisfactory hotel stay

My stay at the Bethesda Pooks Hill Marriott hotel was completely satisfactory. Room was quiet, amenities and all aspects of the visit good and I would definitely stay there again or recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

free transportation to the Washington Metro are helpful and appreciated.

Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ebep
seattle
Sep 20, 2011

very satisfactory hotel stay

My stay at the Bethesda Pooks Hill Marriott hotel was completely satisfactory. Room was quiet, amenities and all aspects of the visit good and I would definitely stay there again or recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

free transportation to the Washington Metro are helpful and appreciated.

Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gramma Nan
Pennsylvania
Aug 3, 2011

Nice hotel, some amenities extra

Very nice, very clean hotel, with a great gym and pool. However, internet and parking cost extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gramma Nan
Pennsylvania
Aug 3, 2011

Nice hotel, some amenities extra

Very nice, very clean hotel, with a great gym and pool. However, internet and parking cost extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top