$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

Bethesda Marriott

3 stars
5151 Pooks, Hill Road, Bethesda, MD 20814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
77 reviews
Good, but distant

This is a very good hotel, but is suited for those traveling either to NIH or the Medical Center.... See full review

  • Brilliant Professor
  • Apr 28, 2014
great vacation

Room was clean, staff was great, food was awesome. See full review

  • mevidatisha
  • Oct 18, 2013
Experience the comforts of the distinctive Bethesda Marriott, a premier Maryland hotel where spacious guest rooms, luxury amenities and attentive service set the pace for an exceptional stay. Conveniently situated in the thriving Capital Region northwest of Washington, D.C., the list of things to do is endless as guests find themselves surrounded by hundreds of restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping. Located only two miles from downtown Bethesda, our hotel's fine services include complimentary shuttle service to the downtown district and other local destinations including the National Institute of Health, White Flint Mall and the Metro's Red Line which provides continuous service to downtown Washington, D.C. Guests also enjoy direct access to I-270 and I-495 from our sophisticated Bethesda, MD hotel. Boasting 18,500 square feet of flexible, state-of-the-art event space, our hotel is ideal for corporate meetings, professional gatherings and elegant wedding receptions.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Drugstore
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Fire place
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bethesda Marriott also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.0153 -77.1034
Area served
Washington DC
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 21.00, MI, NE; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 25.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 35.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Dining

Agio
One of the best Italian restaurants in Bethesda, guests can enjoy classic and contemporary cuisine in a casual, relaxing atmosphere. Our menu features all of your favorites, plus a wide assortment of exceptional wines to pair with your dining selection.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for Bethesda Marriott

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Travelling Carolinian
New Bern, NC
Mar 4, 2013

Good hotel for my traveling needs

We found the hotel staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room was a good buy for what I got. I only had two concerns. The bathroom was a little smaller then what I am used to. It would be ok for one person but there were two of us in the room. I would have preferred not to have to had to pay extra for onsite parking in an outside lot. Other then that, the room was comfortable, quiet and a good place for us to stay every evening. We will most likely stay here again if we can get the good rate that we had on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brilliant Professor
SF Bay Area
Apr 28, 2014

Good, but distant

This is a very good hotel, but is suited for those traveling either to NIH or the Medical Center. It has no surrounding shops, restaurants, or any other facilities. It is seved only by taxi or by hotel shuttle to the nearest Metro. And: internet connection is $12.95 per day; breakfast is $17. Rooms are very comfortable. Lobby is large; eating area is also large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The chief attraction is the good rooms and the comfortable beds.

Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NIH Patient
Portland, Oregon
Nov 26, 2013

Near NIH, friendly staff, not great

Stayed for appointments at NIH. Staff and shuttle drivers very friendly and helpful. Food not good and there are not other options close to hotel. Facilities are old. Children running up and down hallway a lot one night, which isn't really the hotel's fault, but did not improve the overall experience. Many people constantly smoking in front of hotel: same thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mevidatisha
san francisco, ca
Oct 18, 2013

great vacation

Room was clean, staff was great, food was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rfnyc
Nyc
Sep 25, 2013

No restaurant around

Hotel looks expensive so does food and room service. Otherwise is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FUNNN
atlanta Ga
Aug 21, 2013

FUNNN

The stay was very nice and clean didnt have any issues was only there for one night. the only thing i didnt like was they could not put me in a kingbed room they had rooms avaliable but the attendant said it would not allow him to change. i dont know if it was because i booked online but the booking said king bed or 2 full size. overall good trip and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disney Grandma
Pompton Plains, NJ
Jun 10, 2013

Disappointed

We stayed at this Marriott to be near a family celebration in DC. The room was very nice but the kids were disappointed that the pool was closed for cleaning on Sun the only day they had free time. There were not enough towels for 4 people. When we asked for more bath towels we were given two floor mats. We appreciated the thoughtful arrangement of stuffed animals on the bed when we returned to the room after it was cleaned. Next time we'll stay at our favorite Marriott -the Conference Center in North Bethesda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ty West
Hudson Valley, NY
May 13, 2013

Reliably consistent

We have stayed here frequently while visiting our daughter's college over the past 4 years . Each time we have stayed, the rooms have been spotless and the housekeeping staff have been attentive and friendly. The location- which is relatively far from the city center but right off the beltway- keeps the room price low, but it also makes it easy to get to, and the hotel provides a shuttle to the nearest Metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Sunday breakfast can get crowded- ask at check in.

Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ArlenMD
Business
Denver
Apr 30, 2013

Pet peeve

Why do these business hotels nickel and dime customers. I expect free WiFi, complementary coffee, help with airport transfers for the cost of the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karate chop
Business
Houston, Texas
Apr 22, 2013

Very good for business travel.

Good room, food and service. Good bar. Friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bethesda Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Travelling Carolinian
New Bern, NC
Mar 4, 2013

Good hotel for my traveling needs

We found the hotel staff to be very helpful and friendly. The room was a good buy for what I got. I only had two concerns. The bathroom was a little smaller then what I am used to. It would be ok for one person but there were two of us in the room. I would have preferred not to have to had to pay extra for onsite parking in an outside lot. Other then that, the room was comfortable, quiet and a good place for us to stay every evening. We will most likely stay here again if we can get the good rate that we had on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top