$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 13, 2014

American Inn - Bethesda

3 stars
8130 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
35 reviews
Excellent Bethesda Hotel

Clean, comfortable room, attentive staff, great location. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 27, 2011
Exceeded expectations

I wanted a quiet room conveniently placed for my meeting in a hotel close to the Bethesda metro... See full review

  • Ed the Physicist
  • Mar 25, 2013
Within walking distance to a metro station leading to downtown Washington D.C. and only moments from area attractions this Bethesda Maryland hotel provides modern amenities and completely non-smoking accommodations. The American Inn of Bethesda is situated in the heart of the city only steps from fine restaurants theaters and shopping centers. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to nearby places such as the National Institutes of Health Suburban Hospital and Walter Reed National Naval Medical Center. While staying at the Bethesda American Inn guest can enjoy a free daily continental breakfast as well as in-room refrigerators and free wireless internet access. The hotel also features a seasonal outdoor pool and on-site laundry facilities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed American Inn - Bethesda also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

American Inn - Bethesda Rooms

Queen Bed Non-Smoking Room
Queen Bed Non-Smoking RoomFree Wifi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Our Bethesda accommodations are well appointed wit
Two Double Beds Non-Smoking Room
Two Double Beds Non-SmokingFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Our Bethesda accommodations are well appointed w
One Queen Bed Non-Smoking - Sout
South Wing Located Up One Flight of StairsFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Our Bethesda accommodations are w
Two Doubles Non-Smoking - South
South Wing Room Located Up One Flight of StairsFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland ho
2 Double Extended Stay Room
Two Double Beds Non-Smoking Extended Stay RoomFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TV, convection oven, full refrigerator, dish washer and some cooking utensilsA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
FAX
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for American Inn - Bethesda

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 35
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MD2014
Business
Arlington, VA
Sep 22, 2014

Great customer service

The hotel was very clean and the staff courteous. The room was a little small but it had everything you would need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Laslo
Business
Enfield CT
Dec 27, 2013

Pretty good (with one large exception)

We stayed 2 days over Christmas at this hotel and saw positives and negatives (and some things that were just plain weird. The positives first: + the hotel is in a good location with plenty of dining options nearby + the front desk staff were efficient and very friendly + the room was clean and comfortable, and the beds were very comfortable + the rate was very good with a promo code Now the negatives: - the room was small and the bathroom was very small - the parking lot is very small (the hotel has some arrangement to use the municipal lot across the street if they run out of space - although the hotel was nowhere near booked while we were there, we easily heard hallway voices and doors slamming shut - worst of all there was no housekeeping for our room between nights. Weirdness: ? The wall safe was mounted on a stand about one foot off the floor ? the toilet was a commercial design like you'd see at a highway rest stop, with a pressure feed activated by a long chrome handle behind the lid ? drop ceilings in hallways and rooms. We would be okay with the hotel if not for the housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
big wig
Business
Washington dc
Jan 28, 2013

excellent location.

very friendly staff members very close to everything down Bethesda excellent place to stay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
August's December
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 2, 2013

peaceful, restful new year's eve

we just had to get away from it all, and were able to sleep like babies!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take the Bethesda Circulator, a free bus that continually loops around downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
August's December
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 28, 2012

comfy, cozy, peaceful, restful!

We stayed on Christmas eve and Christmas night. We rested so well, we didn't want to leave! Of course, we were sure we had not left any of our belongings behind. It wasn't until the following day that we discovered that neither of us had packed not one, but TWO items of clothing. When we called the next day, we were truly impressed with the front desk and housekeeping staff who had found our things and were also keeping them safe for us! We never expected hotel service to be so great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walk 2 short blocks to catch the free bus that circles the downtown area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. LB
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 27, 2012

Be forewarned

We booked a room in the hotel for the weekend. When we got there, we were told that our room was not actually in the hotel but was over the Mexican restaurant next door, "in the annex", up 3 flights of steps. When we told them that we could not climb 3 flights of steps with our suitcases, we were told that they would not change the room and that we would lose our payment if we left. They finally helped us up 36 stepss to a small room over a noisy mexican restaurant. As another guest reported, the breakfast was like dirt and closed at 9:30am on Sunday. There are plenty of other hotels in Bethesda--pass this one by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
short term stay person
Business
Pittsburgh
Nov 12, 2012

It was very moderately priced, and for that price, I have very positive comments

We didn't check in until 8 PM, and checked out at 9 AM, so we did not need luxury. The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was decent. For the price, it more than met expectations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ty St
Business
Springfield, OH
Jun 25, 2012

Clean but smaller than expected room

When we arrived we where surprised to see so little parking in the lot of the hotel. They are in the middle of renovations and it looks really good so far. The rooms are alot smaller than the pictures lead you to believe, but I have no regrets about staying with American Inn. The breakfast was really good with a great selection, had a decent enough weight room with newer equipment and restaurants close by. The Guapo's Mexican restaurant is in the same building and is where breakfast is served. It took us quite awhile to get any hot water, you had to let the faucet run for a few minutes. The staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bethesda Row is close by and offers a huge selection of restaurants, live street music, sidewalk dinning, and shopping. If you are going to Bethesda I recommend visiting Bethesda Row. This hotel ls also very close to Bethesda metro station which has plentiful parking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Jul 26, 2011

Good price but old room and smell bad

Drove 13 hrs and stayed this motel one night rest before more to go other state. It included breakfast, it was dirt so we went to McDonald.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frederick, MD
Jul 12, 2011

take a time alone

Resting. Hotel room is too small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top