$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

American Inn - Bethesda

3 stars
8130 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
35 reviews
Excellent Bethesda Hotel

Clean, comfortable room, attentive staff, great location. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 27, 2011
Exceeded expectations

I wanted a quiet room conveniently placed for my meeting in a hotel close to the Bethesda metro... See full review

  • Ed the Physicist
  • Mar 25, 2013
Within walking distance to a metro station leading to downtown Washington D.C. and only moments from area attractions this Bethesda Maryland hotel provides modern amenities and completely non-smoking accommodations. The American Inn of Bethesda is situated in the heart of the city only steps from fine restaurants theaters and shopping centers. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to nearby places such as the National Institutes of Health Suburban Hospital and Walter Reed National Naval Medical Center. While staying at the Bethesda American Inn guest can enjoy a free daily continental breakfast as well as in-room refrigerators and free wireless internet access. The hotel also features a seasonal outdoor pool and on-site laundry facilities.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed American Inn - Bethesda also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

American Inn - Bethesda Rooms

Queen Bed Non-Smoking Room
Queen Bed Non-Smoking RoomFree Wifi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Our Bethesda accommodations are well appointed wit
Two Double Beds Non-Smoking Room
Two Double Beds Non-SmokingFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Our Bethesda accommodations are well appointed w
One Queen Bed Non-Smoking - Sout
South Wing Located Up One Flight of StairsFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Our Bethesda accommodations are w
Two Doubles Non-Smoking - South
South Wing Room Located Up One Flight of StairsFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland ho
2 Double Extended Stay Room
Two Double Beds Non-Smoking Extended Stay RoomFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TV, convection oven, full refrigerator, dish washer and some cooking utensilsA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
FAX
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for American Inn - Bethesda

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 35
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New England Transplant
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 13, 2014

Clean, Convenient, Pleasant Stay for Travelers

The American Inn was a nice place to stay during my visit to DC. I was in town on business and wanted a comfortable quiet room near the metro so I could attend my meetings. This place fit the bill. Additionally, the continental breakfast was nicer than your typical continental breakfast, which I appreciated. The staff also ensured there were coffee and cookies available all day long. I took advantage of the coffee to keep my energy levels up but didn't try the cookies. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall I'd give the place a 3.5 (above average) because my stay and the hotel seemed a bit better than a 3-star but not quite a 4-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If for whatever reason you end up grabbing a bite after 10PM, Tastee Diner a couple of blocks from the hotel is a nice diner dining experience. Also, the staff are very friendly and have interesting thoughts on everything. If you go, make sure you say hi to Larry the cook.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vandy traveler
Business
Nashville,TN
Feb 26, 2014

Fine for business stay in central Bethesda area

5 min walk from the subway stop at Bethesda, clean comfortable room. Free breakfast with do it yourself hot waffles, great coffee and fresh fruit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sushi place right across the street - open late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wonder Woman 50
Business
Kansas City MO
Oct 11, 2013

Not recommended

Beds comfortable; I was given a handicap-room (without request) which had no room for dop kit in bathroom. Room doors slammed when shut; noise from other rooms was too audible. Elevator broke while I was there and no help was offered to schlep heavy briefcase - my hip does not allow stair-climbing easily. Hotel staff was not very skilled in English. The hotel is 'tucked back' very hard to see - cab drivers consistently had difficulty finding it; the cabbie they called for me couldn't find the restaurant I wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrandyD
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Sep 15, 2013

Great Location for foodies!

This hotel has amazing food within walking distance! They said about 100 restaurants. The hotel is a bit older but aside from our air conditioning issue we everything was fine. We asked to move rooms because our a/c wasn't cooking but the hotel was booked so they brought us fans. I'm sure we could have pushed the issue but seemed comfy enough with fans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed the Physicist
Business
Sheffield, U.K.
Mar 25, 2013

Exceeded expectations

I wanted a quiet room conveniently placed for my meeting in a hotel close to the Bethesda metro stop, at a more reasonable price than that for the aforementioned hotel. The American Inn supplied exactly that - I got a nice quiet room within easy walking distance for a good price. There is also a reasonable Chinese takeway two doors up the street, a pharmacy across the road and a barbers a few blocks away. All in all, this place makes a good operations base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isabella Flor do Dia
Business
Bloomington, IN
Mar 25, 2013

Good hotel, but parking a headache

Parking was a headache (metered and across street).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mmysliws
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
May 28, 2012

Good choice for buisness

I stayed there while attending training at NIH. The room was alittle small but I was the only one there so it worked for me. the breakfast was the typical bagels and muffins and waffles and again that worked for me. my least favorite thing was the shower... the water never seemed to be hot just barely warm enough to not be taking a cold shower. the hotel is perfect if you are looking for a bed to sleep in and shuttle service to NIH, though i walked each morning to the visitors entrance about 10min and took the NIH shuttle to my building which took less time than going through the commercial security.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CA surfer boy
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Feb 7, 2012

All American Inn

Clean, quiet, if somewhat older hotel. Friendly staff. Rooms small but have all the necessary features. Internet not that fast. Modest but adequate continental breakfast. In all a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to NIH / Walter Reed Medical Centers - literally just a few blocks away. Several affordable restaurants nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top