$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

American Inn - Bethesda

3 stars
8130 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
42 reviews
Good hotel, but parking a headache

Parking was a headache (metered and across street). See full review

  • Isabella Flor do Dia
  • Mar 25, 2013
Exceeded expectations

I wanted a quiet room conveniently placed for my meeting in a hotel close to the Bethesda metro... See full review

  • Ed the Physicist
  • Mar 25, 2013
Within walking distance to a metro station leading to downtown Washington D.C. and only moments from area attractions this Bethesda Maryland hotel provides modern amenities and completely non-smoking accommodations. The American Inn of Bethesda is situated in the heart of the city only steps from fine restaurants theaters and shopping centers. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to nearby places such as the National Institutes of Health Suburban Hospital and Walter Reed National Naval Medical Center. While staying at the Bethesda American Inn guest can enjoy a free daily continental breakfast as well as in-room refrigerators and free wireless internet access. The hotel also features a seasonal outdoor pool and on-site laundry facilities.

Hotel Map

38.9916 -77.0961
Area served
Washington
Nearby airports
Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 34.90, MI, SW; Reagan Washington National, (DCA), 20.90, MI, N; Washington Dulles International, (IAD), 25.40, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, Nearby downtown Washington DC attractions and top Bethesda bus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed American Inn - Bethesda also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

American Inn - Bethesda Rooms

Queen Bed Non-Smoking Room
Queen Bed Non-Smoking RoomFree Wifi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Our Bethesda accommodations are well appointed wit
Two Double Beds Non-Smoking Room
Two Double Beds Non-SmokingFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Our Bethesda accommodations are well appointed w
One Queen Bed Non-Smoking - Sout
South Wing Located Up One Flight of StairsFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Our Bethesda accommodations are w
Two Doubles Non-Smoking - South
South Wing Room Located Up One Flight of StairsFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland ho
2 Double Extended Stay Room
Two Double Beds Non-Smoking Extended Stay RoomFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TV, convection oven, full refrigerator, dish washer and some cooking utensilsA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
FAX
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for American Inn - Bethesda

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ranger1385
Atlanta
Apr 5, 2014

Tiny room, needs updating

I don't know were to start! The A/C was broken. There was no hot water one night. The handle on the shower faucet was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. LB
New York, NY, USA
Nov 27, 2012

Be forewarned

We booked a room in the hotel for the weekend. When we got there, we were told that our room was not actually in the hotel but was over the Mexican restaurant next door, "in the annex", up 3 flights of steps. When we told them that we could not climb 3 flights of steps with our suitcases, we were told that they would not change the room and that we would lose our payment if we left. They finally helped us up 36 stepss to a small room over a noisy mexican restaurant. As another guest reported, the breakfast was like dirt and closed at 9:30am on Sunday. There are plenty of other hotels in Bethesda--pass this one by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
SC
Jul 26, 2011

Good price but old room and smell bad

Drove 13 hrs and stayed this motel one night rest before more to go other state. It included breakfast, it was dirt so we went to McDonald.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
SC
Jul 26, 2011

Good price but old room and smell bad

Drove 13 hrs and stayed this motel one night rest before more to go other state. It included breakfast, it was dirt so we went to McDonald.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Frederick, MD
Jul 12, 2011

take a time alone

Resting. Hotel room is too small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Frederick, MD
Jul 12, 2011

take a time alone

Resting. Hotel room is too small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Laslo
Enfield CT
Dec 27, 2013

Pretty good (with one large exception)

We stayed 2 days over Christmas at this hotel and saw positives and negatives (and some things that were just plain weird. The positives first: + the hotel is in a good location with plenty of dining options nearby + the front desk staff were efficient and very friendly + the room was clean and comfortable, and the beds were very comfortable + the rate was very good with a promo code Now the negatives: - the room was small and the bathroom was very small - the parking lot is very small (the hotel has some arrangement to use the municipal lot across the street if they run out of space - although the hotel was nowhere near booked while we were there, we easily heard hallway voices and doors slamming shut - worst of all there was no housekeeping for our room between nights. Weirdness: ? The wall safe was mounted on a stand about one foot off the floor ? the toilet was a commercial design like you'd see at a highway rest stop, with a pressure feed activated by a long chrome handle behind the lid ? drop ceilings in hallways and rooms. We would be okay with the hotel if not for the housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wonder Woman 50
Business
Kansas City MO
Oct 11, 2013

Not recommended

Beds comfortable; I was given a handicap-room (without request) which had no room for dop kit in bathroom. Room doors slammed when shut; noise from other rooms was too audible. Elevator broke while I was there and no help was offered to schlep heavy briefcase - my hip does not allow stair-climbing easily. Hotel staff was not very skilled in English. The hotel is 'tucked back' very hard to see - cab drivers consistently had difficulty finding it; the cabbie they called for me couldn't find the restaurant I wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dianne from NY
Rochester NY
Dec 2, 2012

Good value for location

Room was clean but small and old, like nothing has been updated in a while. Bed was not comfortable. Good if you don't plan on spending much time in the room. Breakfast disappointing but sufficient and coffee good and hot. Staff very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy biker.
Willingboro, NJ
May 31, 2011

Not bad for the price.

The bed could have been bigger. It was supposed to be a queen size but it was really a full size. Other than that the room was nice and clean. The hotel smelled nice and was well maintained. It also could use a microwave in the room. Also the hotel is friendly to motorcyclists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a 24 hour restaurant within two blocks of the hotel for travelers who arrive late like myself and are looking for something to eat at that time.

Back to menu Return to top