$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

American Inn - Bethesda

3 stars
8130 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
36 reviews
worthy stay

The hotel in terms of location and amenities meets my expectation in having a comfortable stay .The... See full review

  • alsarhan
  • Oct 10, 2013
Good hotel, but parking a headache

Parking was a headache (metered and across street). See full review

  • Isabella Flor do Dia
  • Mar 25, 2013
Within walking distance to a metro station leading to downtown Washington D.C. and only moments from area attractions this Bethesda Maryland hotel provides modern amenities and completely non-smoking accommodations. The American Inn of Bethesda is situated in the heart of the city only steps from fine restaurants theaters and shopping centers. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to nearby places such as the National Institutes of Health Suburban Hospital and Walter Reed National Naval Medical Center. While staying at the Bethesda American Inn guest can enjoy a free daily continental breakfast as well as in-room refrigerators and free wireless internet access. The hotel also features a seasonal outdoor pool and on-site laundry facilities.

Hotel Map

38.9916 -77.0961
Area served
Washington
Nearby airports
Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 34.90, MI, SW; Reagan Washington National, (DCA), 20.90, MI, N; Washington Dulles International, (IAD), 25.40, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, Nearby downtown Washington DC attractions and top Bethesda bus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed American Inn - Bethesda also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

American Inn - Bethesda Rooms

Queen Bed Non-Smoking Room
Queen Bed Non-Smoking RoomFree Wifi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Our Bethesda accommodations are well appointed wit
Two Double Beds Non-Smoking Room
Two Double Beds Non-SmokingFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Our Bethesda accommodations are well appointed w
One Queen Bed Non-Smoking - Sout
South Wing Located Up One Flight of StairsFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Our Bethesda accommodations are w
Two Doubles Non-Smoking - South
South Wing Room Located Up One Flight of StairsFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland ho
2 Double Extended Stay Room
Two Double Beds Non-Smoking Extended Stay RoomFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TV, convection oven, full refrigerator, dish washer and some cooking utensilsA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
FAX
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for American Inn - Bethesda

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed the Physicist
Business
Sheffield, U.K.
Mar 25, 2013

Exceeded expectations

I wanted a quiet room conveniently placed for my meeting in a hotel close to the Bethesda metro stop, at a more reasonable price than that for the aforementioned hotel. The American Inn supplied exactly that - I got a nice quiet room within easy walking distance for a good price. There is also a reasonable Chinese takeway two doors up the street, a pharmacy across the road and a barbers a few blocks away. All in all, this place makes a good operations base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Isabella Flor do Dia
Business
Bloomington, IN
Mar 25, 2013

Good hotel, but parking a headache

Parking was a headache (metered and across street).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
big wig
Washington dc
Jan 28, 2013

excellent location.

very friendly staff members very close to everything down Bethesda excellent place to stay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
August's December
Washington, DC
Jan 2, 2013

peaceful, restful new year's eve

we just had to get away from it all, and were able to sleep like babies!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take the Bethesda Circulator, a free bus that continually loops around downtown

Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
August's December
Washington, DC
Dec 28, 2012

comfy, cozy, peaceful, restful!

We stayed on Christmas eve and Christmas night. We rested so well, we didn't want to leave! Of course, we were sure we had not left any of our belongings behind. It wasn't until the following day that we discovered that neither of us had packed not one, but TWO items of clothing. When we called the next day, we were truly impressed with the front desk and housekeeping staff who had found our things and were also keeping them safe for us! We never expected hotel service to be so great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walk 2 short blocks to catch the free bus that circles the downtown area

Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lee47
New York City, NY
Dec 21, 2012

Good location

We only stayed at this hotel for one night. It was within walking distance from where the NYC-Bethesda bus dropped us off. I thought their free breakfast was substantial and generous. The room we were assigned was in the older part of the hotel, which gave it more character but required a maze-like search for it. The room felt older, but was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dianne from NY
Rochester NY
Dec 2, 2012

Good value for location

Room was clean but small and old, like nothing has been updated in a while. Bed was not comfortable. Good if you don't plan on spending much time in the room. Breakfast disappointing but sufficient and coffee good and hot. Staff very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. LB
New York, NY, USA
Nov 27, 2012

Be forewarned

We booked a room in the hotel for the weekend. When we got there, we were told that our room was not actually in the hotel but was over the Mexican restaurant next door, "in the annex", up 3 flights of steps. When we told them that we could not climb 3 flights of steps with our suitcases, we were told that they would not change the room and that we would lose our payment if we left. They finally helped us up 36 stepss to a small room over a noisy mexican restaurant. As another guest reported, the breakfast was like dirt and closed at 9:30am on Sunday. There are plenty of other hotels in Bethesda--pass this one by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
short term stay person
Pittsburgh
Nov 12, 2012

It was very moderately priced, and for that price, I have very positive comments

We didn't check in until 8 PM, and checked out at 9 AM, so we did not need luxury. The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was decent. For the price, it more than met expectations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ballpark Frank
Western NY
Oct 29, 2012

Great Bethesda location

It was a wonderful experience and great value. The hotel was clean; the staff was extremely friendly. The hotel is located in a great location -- walking distance to Metro and walking distance to downtown Bethesda. The room isn't palatial, or anything, but it is extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search