$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 13, 2014

American Inn - Bethesda

3 stars
8130 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, MD 20814
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
35 reviews
Excellent Bethesda Hotel

Clean, comfortable room, attentive staff, great location. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 27, 2011
Exceeded expectations

I wanted a quiet room conveniently placed for my meeting in a hotel close to the Bethesda metro... See full review

  • Ed the Physicist
  • Mar 25, 2013
Within walking distance to a metro station leading to downtown Washington D.C. and only moments from area attractions this Bethesda Maryland hotel provides modern amenities and completely non-smoking accommodations. The American Inn of Bethesda is situated in the heart of the city only steps from fine restaurants theaters and shopping centers. The hotel also offers free shuttle service to nearby places such as the National Institutes of Health Suburban Hospital and Walter Reed National Naval Medical Center. While staying at the Bethesda American Inn guest can enjoy a free daily continental breakfast as well as in-room refrigerators and free wireless internet access. The hotel also features a seasonal outdoor pool and on-site laundry facilities.

Hotel Map

38.9916 -77.0961
Area served
Washington
Nearby airports
Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 34.90, MI, SW; Reagan Washington National, (DCA), 20.90, MI, N; Washington Dulles International, (IAD), 25.40, MI, E;
Area description
Downtown, Nearby downtown Washington DC attractions and top Bethesda bus

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed American Inn - Bethesda also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

American Inn - Bethesda Rooms

Queen Bed Non-Smoking Room
Queen Bed Non-Smoking RoomFree Wifi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Our Bethesda accommodations are well appointed wit
Two Double Beds Non-Smoking Room
Two Double Beds Non-SmokingFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Our Bethesda accommodations are well appointed w
One Queen Bed Non-Smoking - Sout
South Wing Located Up One Flight of StairsFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Our Bethesda accommodations are w
Two Doubles Non-Smoking - South
South Wing Room Located Up One Flight of StairsFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TVA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland ho
2 Double Extended Stay Room
Two Double Beds Non-Smoking Extended Stay RoomFree Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Free Cable TV, convection oven, full refrigerator, dish washer and some cooking utensilsA delight to come home to, our Bethesda, Maryland hotel lodging is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Golf
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
FAX
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Microwave
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for American Inn - Bethesda

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bryn Mawr, PA
Jun 27, 2011

Excellent Bethesda Hotel

Clean, comfortable room, attentive staff, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MD2014
Business
Arlington, VA
Sep 22, 2014

Great customer service

The hotel was very clean and the staff courteous. The room was a little small but it had everything you would need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eliot18
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Jun 16, 2014

Nothing Special

The American Inn was fine, but nothing special. The room was ok, but small, and everything (windows, bathroom) seemed old. The sound proofing between rooms could use some updating as well. But the location was convenient and the price was ok compared to the chains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ranger1385
Business
Atlanta
Apr 5, 2014

Tiny room, needs updating

I don't know were to start! The A/C was broken. There was no hot water one night. The handle on the shower faucet was broken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New England Transplant
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 13, 2014

Clean, Convenient, Pleasant Stay for Travelers

The American Inn was a nice place to stay during my visit to DC. I was in town on business and wanted a comfortable quiet room near the metro so I could attend my meetings. This place fit the bill. Additionally, the continental breakfast was nicer than your typical continental breakfast, which I appreciated. The staff also ensured there were coffee and cookies available all day long. I took advantage of the coffee to keep my energy levels up but didn't try the cookies. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall I'd give the place a 3.5 (above average) because my stay and the hotel seemed a bit better than a 3-star but not quite a 4-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If for whatever reason you end up grabbing a bite after 10PM, Tastee Diner a couple of blocks from the hotel is a nice diner dining experience. Also, the staff are very friendly and have interesting thoughts on everything. If you go, make sure you say hi to Larry the cook.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vandy traveler
Business
Nashville,TN
Feb 26, 2014

Fine for business stay in central Bethesda area

5 min walk from the subway stop at Bethesda, clean comfortable room. Free breakfast with do it yourself hot waffles, great coffee and fresh fruit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great sushi place right across the street - open late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Laslo
Business
Enfield CT
Dec 27, 2013

Pretty good (with one large exception)

We stayed 2 days over Christmas at this hotel and saw positives and negatives (and some things that were just plain weird. The positives first: + the hotel is in a good location with plenty of dining options nearby + the front desk staff were efficient and very friendly + the room was clean and comfortable, and the beds were very comfortable + the rate was very good with a promo code Now the negatives: - the room was small and the bathroom was very small - the parking lot is very small (the hotel has some arrangement to use the municipal lot across the street if they run out of space - although the hotel was nowhere near booked while we were there, we easily heard hallway voices and doors slamming shut - worst of all there was no housekeeping for our room between nights. Weirdness: ? The wall safe was mounted on a stand about one foot off the floor ? the toilet was a commercial design like you'd see at a highway rest stop, with a pressure feed activated by a long chrome handle behind the lid ? drop ceilings in hallways and rooms. We would be okay with the hotel if not for the housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wonder Woman 50
Business
Kansas City MO
Oct 11, 2013

Not recommended

Beds comfortable; I was given a handicap-room (without request) which had no room for dop kit in bathroom. Room doors slammed when shut; noise from other rooms was too audible. Elevator broke while I was there and no help was offered to schlep heavy briefcase - my hip does not allow stair-climbing easily. Hotel staff was not very skilled in English. The hotel is 'tucked back' very hard to see - cab drivers consistently had difficulty finding it; the cabbie they called for me couldn't find the restaurant I wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indigogo
Business
portland, or
Oct 4, 2013

Decent and economical

The room was pleasant and clean but I wished the window opened!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrandyD
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Sep 15, 2013

Great Location for foodies!

This hotel has amazing food within walking distance! They said about 100 restaurants. The hotel is a bit older but aside from our air conditioning issue we everything was fine. We asked to move rooms because our a/c wasn't cooking but the hotel was booked so they brought us fans. I'm sure we could have pushed the issue but seemed comfy enough with fans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Inn - Bethesda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New York 1040
Business
NYC
Apr 15, 2013

Ok for the price

we needed a hotel to stay with short notice. Its OK for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top