$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore

4 stars
550 Light Street, Baltimore, MD 21202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
46 reviews
First night of our Honeymoom

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Sonesta on June 30, 2014. We were blown away by the customer... See full review

  • Rebecca Craighead
  • Jul 2, 2014
Family trip to see Baltimore and Washington DC

We enjoyed our stay here very much. i dont normally like to give good reviews unless I believe it... See full review

  • Scott WWW
  • Apr 6, 2014
European decor, adventurous cuisine and a stunning rooftop health club

The Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore hotel is right on the Inner Harbor and a short walk from major attractions. The hotel welcomes guests with lavish old-world decor and decidedly nouveau comforts like plush bedding and a beautifully landscaped rooftop health club -- complete with heated pool, spa services by appointment and first-rate fitness equipment. The on-site restaurant serve international fare: Explorer's offers breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night fare, plus creative and classic cocktails.  Explorer's is open weekdays from 6:30 am until midnight, and weekends from 7:00 am until midnight.  Breakfast pricing ranges from $16-$25 per person weekdays, and on most weekends a breakfast buffet is available for $19.95 for adults with reduced pricing for children, serving international favorites with a regional Chesapeake twist.

Highlights
  • Lavish European-style accommodations on the Inner Harbor waterfront
  • Beautiful rooftop health club with pool, spa and fitness equipment
  • Award-winning restaurant
Location

The Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore hotel sits on the west side of the Inner Harbor, across the street from the water and a short walk from a myriad of attractions, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, Walters Art Museum and the historic Federal Hill.

Rooms
Inspired by old-world country manors, the decor errs on the lavish side, with plush reading chairs and grand, floor-to-ceiling curtains. All rooms of the Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore hotel come with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access, coffee/tea maker and mini fridge. The hotel has 22 suites with harbor views and extra spacious quarters (from 720 to 1,000 square feet). Turndown service is also on offer upon request.
Dining

The on-site restaurant serve international fare: Explorer's offers breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night fare, plus creative and classic cocktails.  Explorer's is open weekdays from 6:30 am until midnight, and weekends from 7:00 am until midnight.  Breakfast pricing ranges from $16-$25 per person weekdays, and on most weekends a breakfast buffet is available for $19.95 for adults with reduced pricing for children, serving international favorites with a regional Chesapeake twist.

Recreation

Guests cannot visit Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore without checking out the enclosed rooftop health club. The beautifully landscaped space features state-of-the-art exercise equipment by Life Fitness, a heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi, sauna and day spa.

Transportation
  • Baltimore-Washington International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • Washington Dulles International Airport (48 mi/77.2 km)
Attractions
  • Inner Harbor (across the street)
  • Harborplace & The Gallery (across the street)
  • Maryland Science Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • American Visionary Arts Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Federal Hill (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Oriole Park at Camden Yards (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • U.S. Frigate Constellation (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • M&T Bank Stadium (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • National Aquarium (0.3 mi/0.5 km)

Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore Rooms

Courtyard View with 1 King Bed
Courtyard View with 1 King Bed 420 Sq Ft - LCD TV - Free WiFi - Keurig
Harborview with Two Double Beds
Harborview with 2 Double Beds - 420 Sq Ft LCD TV - Free WiFi - Keurig
Harborview with Queen Bed
Harborview with Queen Bed - 460 Sq Ft LCD Television - Free WiFi - Keurig
Junior Suite with King Bed
Junior Suite with King Bed -Harbor View - Soaking Tub - 700 Sq Ft- Free Wi Fi - Keurig
One Bedroom Corner Suite
One Bedroom Suite - Overlooks Harbor 1 King and 1 Queen Murphy Bed - 2 Full Baths
Clipper City Suite
Clipper City Suite-1000 Sq Ft- King Bed- Living Room - Dining Table - Large Tub
Lee Street View with 1 King Bed
Lee Street View with 1 King Bed - 420 SF - Free Wi-Fi - Mini Fridge - Keurig - Marble Bath
Lee Street View with 2 Double Be
Lee Street with 2 Double Beds - 420 SF - Free Wi-Fi - Mini Fridge - Keurig - Marble Bath
Courtyard View with 1 Queen
Courtyard View with 1 Queen - Sofa 420 Sq Ft - LCD TV - Free WiFi - Keurig
Courtyard View with 2 Double Bed
Courtyard View with 2 Double Beds 420 Sq Ft - LCD TV - Free WiFi - Keurig
Courtyard View 2 Double Beds wit
Courtyard View 2 Doubles - ADA Tub - 420 sq ft - Mini Fridge - Free WiFi - Keurig
City View with 1 King Bed
City View with 1 King Bed - 420 Sq Ft LCD TV - Free WiFi - Mini Fridge
City View with Two Double Beds
City View with Two Double Beds -420 Sq Ft - Free Wi-Fi - LCD TV - Mini Fridge - Keurig
Harborview with King Bed
Harborview with King Bed - 420 Sq Ft King Bed- LCD TV - Free WiFi - Keurig

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Sauna
Jogging track
Tennis
Racquetball courts
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

39.2826 -76.6131
Nearby airports
Washington National Airport, (DCA), 48.00, MI, SW; Baltimore/Washington International Airport, (BWI), 9.80, MI, S; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 66.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Maryland Science Center: 0.1 mi
  • Federal Hill Park: 0.2 mi
  • Inner Harbor: 0.2 mi
  • Historic Ships in Baltimore: 0.3 mi
  • Top of the World Observational Level: 0.3 mi
  • Harborplace & The Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Visonary Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Oriole Park at Camden Yards: 0.5 mi
  • Pier Six Concert Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Baltimore Arena: 0.5 mi
  • M&T Bank Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.6 mi
  • Hippodrome Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe's Grave Site and Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Maryland Science Center: 0.1 mi
  • Federal Hill Park: 0.2 mi
  • Inner Harbor: 0.2 mi
  • Historic Ships in Baltimore: 0.3 mi
  • Top of the World Observational Level: 0.3 mi
  • Harborplace & The Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • American Visonary Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Convention Center: 0.4 mi
  • Oriole Park at Camden Yards: 0.5 mi
  • Pier Six Concert Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Baltimore Arena: 0.5 mi
  • M&T Bank Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.6 mi
  • Hippodrome Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe's Grave Site and Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Baltimore Museum of Industry: 0.8 mi
  • Fell's Point: 1 mi
  • The Walters Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Washington Monument and Mount Vernon Park: 1.1 mi
  • The Johns Hopkins University: 1.6 mi
  • Fort McHenry National Monument: 2.1 mi
  • Baltimore Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Druid Hill Park Conservatory: 3.4 mi
  • The Maryland Zoo: 3.7 mi
  • Hampden: 3.7 mi
  • Basilica of the National Shrine of the Assumption of the Blessed Mary: 4.4 mi
  • Cylburn Aroboretum: 5.3 mi
  • Pimlico Race Track: 5.9 mi
  • Port of Baltimore: 6.3 mi

Dining

Explorers
Overlooking the Inner Harbor Explorers offers breakfast lunch and dinner daily as well as creative and classic cocktails. The beautifully appointed space is accented with an African safari theme.
Formula Espresso
Formula Espresso serves Illy branded coffees as well as freshly prepared sandwiches - salads -pastries - carryout items.
In-Room Dining
In-Room Dining is available daily from 6 am until 12 midnight and features an array of breakfast - lunch - dinner - dessert - and cocktail choices.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rebecca Craighead
Salem Va
Jul 2, 2014

First night of our Honeymoom

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Sonesta on June 30, 2014. We were blown away by the customer service, cleanliness, and the gorgeous view from our room. Jonathan Knox was amazing. We will be back for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to restaurants and attractions rather than drive. Parking is difficult to find at the harbor.

Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sar65
Ohio
Jun 17, 2014

Location was great

Went with the family to Camden yards for an oriole game. It's only a 5 minute walk to Camden yards and we were able to park er the hotel and walk to the stadium. It's also right across from the harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street

Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ehc5
virginia
May 18, 2014

perfect location

Staff very nice. Oversized rooms with great location to the inner harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scott WWW
Buffalo, NY
Apr 6, 2014

Family trip to see Baltimore and Washington DC

We enjoyed our stay here very much. i dont normally like to give good reviews unless I believe it to be entirely true. Location to the waterfront was great, walking distance to camden yards, shuttle across the street. We had no complaints. The kids liked the beehive and pool too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to harbour, camden yards, science center, boat tours, aquarium. everything you need to keep 2 young boys occupied.

Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WKoel
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 4, 2014

Great alternative for conference at the Hyatt

Everything was great with a few notable exceptions. Staff was extraordinary. Pool/hot tub workout facility made me wish I was staying longer. Explorer Lounge complete with several harbor facing sofas, easy chairs, side tables was a great place to grab a drink and a quick dinner after a long day of meetings. Notable exceptions were in the room. Weird, less than queen mattresses placed awkwardly on what appeared to be queen bedsprings. Looked kind of like an emergency solution to a unknown issue. Also table tops in the room were stained and worn. Not a big deal but when the rest of the experience was so top notch, this seemed out of place. Still, I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James 1
Baltimore, MD
Mar 3, 2014

Best hotel I've ever stayed at

I was very impressed with the size of our room, all the amenities and the hotel staff. Everyone is friendly and professional. Everything was clean and modern - the pool and hot tub were great - I only wish they were open past 8pm. If I ever need a room in Baltimore again I will definitely come back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had some great food at Uno right in the Harbor. The service was not the greatest but the food made it worthwhile. Great seafood and more for half the cost of Philips.

Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
frederick t
Business
nj
Mar 2, 2014

perfect getaway

the stay was beyond excellect. wiith the discounts we were able to enjoy a room we would only dream of

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

we splurged and went to a resturant called Charleston

Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fredmeister
Business
chicago
Feb 15, 2014

inner harbor

It looked like there was some water damage in every hallway. The room wasn't bad. The restaurant is over priced

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Urban Hedonist
Philadelphia
Dec 23, 2013

Beautiful Formal English style Hotel

From the English names of the suites to the 18th and 19th century formal English portraits on the walls in the halls, it felt like I was staying in a top notch hotel in London. The staff was very polite and accommodating, the public rooms were elegant and luxurious. The guestrooms were very comfortable with dark wood furniture and down comforters. The hotel has a nice lap pool, and oversized whirlpool. The restaurant and explorers lounge are also first class. I can't wait to come visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the circulator to the Walter's Art Museum. It's free and one of the best collections of European art.

Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Baltimore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DHSW
Business
Chicago
Dec 13, 2013

Nice Hotel

Went to the Ravens game and this Hotel was perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top