$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

3 stars
24 West Franklin Street, 24 West Franklin Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
87 reviews
Positive experience

It is located in the historic district, at a good location to walk around and sight see, as well as... See full review

  • Dragonflyte
  • Jun 14, 2014
AwesomeFantastic

This hotel was great in every aspect! I loved everything about it and I would totally come again! See full review

  • BettyDai
  • Jul 22, 2013
Baltimore beauty at its best

The Mount Vernon Hotel offers guests the perfect Baltimore setting. The hotel is located near Charles Street, the Baltimore Convention Center, the Inner Harbor, stadiums and other area attractions. The historic and cultural center of Baltimore is at its doorstep. The Mount Vernon Hotel was originally a YMCA and underwent a complete $3 million renovation in August 2008. Today, the hotel welcomes both business and leisure guests with its stunning architecture and warm hospitality. Guests with cars can access limited garage parking for a fee.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Hotel offers guests a true Baltimore experience with easy access to the Inner Harbor, historic Charles Street and other attractions
  • Banquet and meeting space at this historic hotel accommodates up to 80 people
  • Smoke-free hotel features complimentary wireless Internet, free local calls and a 24-hour business center
Mount Vernon Hotel Rooms

Originally built in 1907, the Mount Vernon Hotel is a Baltimore historical treasure. The smoke-free hotel offers a warm and comfortable place for guests to stay. The sound of a Baby Grand piano greets guests in the lobby, and a welcoming atmosphere permeates the entire hotel. Each of the 135 guest rooms at Mount Vernon Hotel are newly renovated and offer guests a choice of king, queen or double beds. The hotel also offers bi-level lofts, which are ideal for any traveler wanting to take in the Baltimore sights. Every bathroom features granite vanities and curved shower rods. In-room safes are available for a small fee. The Mount Vernon Hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet throughout the hotel.

Things To Do
  • Basilica of the Assumption (0.06 mi/0.1 km)
  • Historic Charles Street (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Walters Art Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • University of Baltimore (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Camden Yards (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Baltimore Convention Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Port Discovery Children's Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • National Aquarium (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • USS Constellation (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
Policies and fees

The hotel has one meeting room that can accommodate up to 80 people. Some restrictions may apply.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.2953 -76.6165
Area served
Baltimore, Annapolis, Glen Burnie, Beltsville, Bowie, College Park, Columbia, Dundalk, Towson, White Marsh
Nearby airports
Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 10.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, The hotel is on the right side of Franklin Street at the corner

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907 Rooms

Two Double Beds
Description not provided
2 King Beds NS
Description not provided
One Double Bed Handicap Access
Description not provided
2 QQ Bed Handicap Access
Description not provided
One Queen Bed Non-Smoking
Description not provided
One King Bed Non-Smoking
Description not provided
Two Queen Bed Non-Smoking
Description not provided
Suite - Bi Level with Two beds o
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Live entertainment
Night club
Children's activities
Golf
Outdoor tennis
Racquetball courts
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • The Walters Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Monument and Mount Vernon Park: 0.2 mi
  • Hippodrome Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe's Grave Site and Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Baltimore Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Harborplace & The Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Inner Harbor: 0.7 mi
  • Top of the World Observational Level: 0.7 mi
  • Historic Ships in Baltimore: 0.7 mi
  • Oriole Park at Camden Yards: 0.9 mi
  • Maryland Science Center: 1 mi
  • Pier Six Concert Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Little Italy: 1.1 mi
  • The Walters Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Monument and Mount Vernon Park: 0.2 mi
  • Hippodrome Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe's Grave Site and Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Baltimore Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Harborplace & The Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Inner Harbor: 0.7 mi
  • Top of the World Observational Level: 0.7 mi
  • Historic Ships in Baltimore: 0.7 mi
  • Oriole Park at Camden Yards: 0.9 mi
  • Maryland Science Center: 1 mi
  • Pier Six Concert Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Little Italy: 1.1 mi
  • Federal Hill Park: 1.1 mi
  • American Visonary Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • M&T Bank Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • The Johns Hopkins University: 1.4 mi
  • Fell's Point: 1.4 mi
  • Baltimore Museum of Industry: 1.7 mi
  • Baltimore Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • Druid Hill Park Conservatory: 2.5 mi
  • Hampden: 2.8 mi
  • Fort McHenry National Monument: 2.8 mi
  • The Maryland Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Basilica of the National Shrine of the Assumption of the Blessed Mary: 3.5 mi
  • Cylburn Aroboretum: 4.4 mi
  • Pimlico Race Track: 5 mi
  • Port of Baltimore: 6.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 87
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MICAMOM
Upstate New York
Oct 19, 2011

adequate and cheap

its okay-one step up, maybe two from a hostel. If you need to go cheap and are traveling with a crowd stay here. Otherwise don't

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

City Cafe-INCREDIBLE FOOD

Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tally
Richmond, VA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great Value Hotel

Clean, nicely furnished rooms. Friendly staff. Good location. Delicious continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tortoise
Sussex County NJ
Sep 4, 2011

Went to Camden Yards to see O's vs yankees

Staff was professional, pleasant and helpful. Especially the young man at the registration desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pickles Bar and Grill

Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tortoise
Sussex County NJ
Sep 4, 2011

Went to Camden Yards to see O's vs Yankees

Hotel staff (especially young man at desk) was polite, helpful and pleasant. Comp breakfast was awesome. Convenient parking. Would definitely go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pickles Bar and Grill.

Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRKPablo
NY, NY
May 22, 2011

Nice Place

Parking Garage was full so I had to park across the street in a lot which cost me $14 for 24hrs Room was nice... had some dust on the head board, but otherwise was perfect. Breakfast was great for free hotel food... pancakes and bacon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dynasus was a pretty cool bar... only one I could find with an open grill at 1am. It was hard finding food in this city past 12am.

Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
May 8, 2011

Great value, rooms and location!

This hotel must have drastically improved since the reviews from 3-4 years ago. Not only was the customer service very good from the moment we checked in, but the rooms had clean and comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. Based on the prices, I didn't think we would have cable or as many breakfast options as we had (eggs, french toast, bagels, cereal, meats, yogurt). It's not in a bad area. Mt. Vernon is a beautiful landmark neighborhood, you just can't walk too far west on Franklin Street or you'll be in another (bad) area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to go downtown, just jump on the free bus (Charles St.) or take a cab. There's a really good bar/restaurant right up Charles St. called The Brewer's Art.

Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Montreal, QC, Canada
Feb 21, 2011

Happy overall

Walking distance from the harbor and the walk down was very nice with the little shops. The hotel was clean and the people were very nice. Overall a great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Frederick, MD
Feb 21, 2011

Great stay!

Stayed at the Mount Vernon Hotel w/ some friends for a club event. The staff was friendly and prompt. I had reserved a two queen room and was surprised on how big it was, the room was neat and clean, overall great one night stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dimples
Richmond,VA
Aug 28, 2010

Ok for the price and area

The staff is very friendly. . .my friend and I arrived around 2 in the morning and the staff was very helpful. The room was stuffy and small, nothing like what I expected from the website promoting its expensive renovations or from the pictures. We didn't have much money to spend so this looked like the best value to be so close to the harbor and we liked the idea of free breakfast. We ended up only getting breakfast the first day. There was a big storm the next night and the roof caved in in the cafeteria. There was no alternative offered. It is close to the free bus line which was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Windigo
Fayetteville, NC
Jul 20, 2009

I got the shaft!!!

It was horrible!!! When I got to the hotel I found that the rate I paid for through orbitz was a good amount more then the base rate I got if I was to just show up at the door. Not only that orbitz plays games with words. I wanted to reserve a double room. So after placing the reserve I was shocked to find that my reserve was for 1 double bed NOT a double room! I called cust. service and they told me that double meant bed size not room size (which I have never seen before). After which time I go to check the hotels site to find the only time double SIZE beds are used are in DOUBLE BED ROOMS. So me and my friends made it work.....not orbitz. This was my first and last time booking through orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Save your money, plan your stays earlier, and don't do it with orbitz!!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search