$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

3 stars
24 West Franklin Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
124 reviews
Positive experience

It is located in the historic district, at a good location to walk around and sight see, as well as... See full review

  • Dragonflyte
  • Jun 14, 2014
AwesomeFantastic

This hotel was great in every aspect! I loved everything about it and I would totally come again! See full review

  • BettyDai
  • Jul 22, 2013
Baltimore beauty at its best

The Mount Vernon Hotel offers guests the perfect Baltimore setting. The hotel is located near Charles Street, the Baltimore Convention Center, the Inner Harbor, stadiums and other area attractions. The historic and cultural center of Baltimore is at its doorstep. The Mount Vernon Hotel was originally a YMCA and underwent a complete $3 million renovation in August 2008. Today, the hotel welcomes both business and leisure guests with its stunning architecture and warm hospitality. Guests with cars can access limited garage parking for a fee.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Hotel offers guests a true Baltimore experience with easy access to the Inner Harbor, historic Charles Street and other attractions
  • Banquet and meeting space at this historic hotel accommodates up to 80 people
  • Smoke-free hotel features complimentary wireless Internet, free local calls and a 24-hour business center
Mount Vernon Hotel Rooms

Originally built in 1907, the Mount Vernon Hotel is a Baltimore historical treasure. The smoke-free hotel offers a warm and comfortable place for guests to stay. The sound of a Baby Grand piano greets guests in the lobby, and a welcoming atmosphere permeates the entire hotel. Each of the 135 guest rooms at Mount Vernon Hotel are newly renovated and offer guests a choice of king, queen or double beds. The hotel also offers bi-level lofts, which are ideal for any traveler wanting to take in the Baltimore sights. Every bathroom features granite vanities and curved shower rods. In-room safes are available for a small fee. The Mount Vernon Hotel offers complimentary wireless Internet throughout the hotel.

Things To Do
  • Basilica of the Assumption (0.06 mi/0.1 km)
  • Historic Charles Street (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Walters Art Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • University of Baltimore (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Camden Yards (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Baltimore Convention Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Port Discovery Children's Museum (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • National Aquarium (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • USS Constellation (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
Policies and fees

The hotel has one meeting room that can accommodate up to 80 people. Some restrictions may apply.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.2953 -76.6165
Area served
Baltimore, Annapolis, Glen Burnie, Beltsville, Bowie, College Park, Columbia, Dundalk, Towson, White Marsh
Nearby airports
Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 10.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, The hotel is on the right side of Franklin Street at the corner

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907 also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907 Rooms

One Queen Bed Non-Smoking
Description not provided
One Double Bed Handicap Access
Description not provided
Two Queen Bed Non-Smoking
Description not provided
2 QQ Bed Handicap Access
Description not provided
One King Bed Non-Smoking
Description not provided
Suite - Bi Level with Two beds o
Description not provided
Two Double Beds
Description not provided
2 King Beds NS
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Live entertainment
Night club
Children's activities
Golf
Outdoor tennis
Racquetball courts
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • The Walters Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Monument and Mount Vernon Park: 0.2 mi
  • Hippodrome Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe's Grave Site and Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Baltimore Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Harborplace & The Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Inner Harbor: 0.7 mi
  • Top of the World Observational Level: 0.7 mi
  • Historic Ships in Baltimore: 0.7 mi
  • Oriole Park at Camden Yards: 0.9 mi
  • Maryland Science Center: 1 mi
  • Pier Six Concert Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Little Italy: 1.1 mi
  • The Walters Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Monument and Mount Vernon Park: 0.2 mi
  • Hippodrome Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe's Grave Site and Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Baltimore Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Harborplace & The Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Inner Harbor: 0.7 mi
  • Top of the World Observational Level: 0.7 mi
  • Historic Ships in Baltimore: 0.7 mi
  • Oriole Park at Camden Yards: 0.9 mi
  • Maryland Science Center: 1 mi
  • Pier Six Concert Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Little Italy: 1.1 mi
  • Federal Hill Park: 1.1 mi
  • American Visonary Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • M&T Bank Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • The Johns Hopkins University: 1.4 mi
  • Fell's Point: 1.4 mi
  • Baltimore Museum of Industry: 1.7 mi
  • Baltimore Museum of Art: 2.1 mi
  • Druid Hill Park Conservatory: 2.5 mi
  • Hampden: 2.8 mi
  • Fort McHenry National Monument: 2.8 mi
  • The Maryland Zoo: 2.9 mi
  • Basilica of the National Shrine of the Assumption of the Blessed Mary: 3.5 mi
  • Cylburn Aroboretum: 4.4 mi
  • Pimlico Race Track: 5 mi
  • Port of Baltimore: 6.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 124
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mister Miker
New Jersey
Jun 27, 2014

its a walk to the inner harbor

Got there and the room door handle came off in our hand, had to move to another room. Have to pay add $15 for parking very limited. Get to breakfast early. Some staff really friendly some not. Three workers cut the breakfast line in front of guests very rude and then took all the bacon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifers Mom
Pennsylvania
Jun 26, 2014

Good Value

I was looking for a hotel close to Inner Harbor that was reasonable and found this place. The staff was extremely friendly and the breakfast was very good. Stayed for two days and only paid $20 to stay in the parking garage right across the street. It was a good deal for us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We discovered the Walters Art Museum which is behind the hotel a block away. It is free but accepts donations. We could have spent a whole day there. It was an accidental gem that we found!

Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John S the observer
Miami Beach, FL
Jun 25, 2014

On a Budget.

The Hotel is O.K., nothing fancy, not big and luxurious, but great for budget-minded tourists or groups. Breakfast is also included, as is Wi-Fi, a Coffee-maker and Iron in each room, etc. The locations is also not bad, ... more or less close to most things and walkable to most places, if you don't mind walking 1o to 20 minutes to get to places, and also close to good Bus service. But, (there's always a "BUT"), ... the bed cover was torn, (bed & sheets were good and clean, but it looks bad to have torn bed covers), ... The Thermostat in the room did not work, and it was freezing all the time, ... The toaster in the breakfast room was half broken and only one side worked, so there was always a line to get toasts, ... Breakfast was enough, but limited to only the people who like fat and greasy food, nothing vegetarian, vegan or healthy, ... Orange juice machine was broken, ... some basic breakfast supplies like Jelly ran out and were nor replaced in at least 2 days. So, ... basically, it was great to stay there just for the nights and sleeping, when gone all day, and the location is O.K., as is the whole value, ... BUT, ... it seems that management could really do a little better with the details and small things that make you feel welcome and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dragonflyte
middlesex VA
Jun 14, 2014

Positive experience

It is located in the historic district, at a good location to walk around and sight see, as well as go down to the water in the Inner Harbor. Weekday was wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Brazilian restaurant on Pratt street, one price for all you can eat with great quality

Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sam 1
Ohio
Jan 5, 2013

Great value 2013

We wanted a hotel near bus and light rail lines that was reasonably priced and not a nationwide chain. This is it! Resturants are within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ricky N
Chicago, IL, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Nice location

The hotel was located in a nice location to see the sites; I liked the Hotel but was not impressed with the staff on their cleaning. When we got to the room it was very clean but each day the staff did a below average keeping the room clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The water taxi was very enjoyable

Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron J G
New Jersey
Mar 26, 2012

Good Safe Choice

Our rooms were spacious. The furniture was more than adequate. The beds were comfortable. The room had one negative. The air-conditioner was not working , the windows could not be opened and as you might imagine,it was very uncomfortable, The desk staff apologized at checkout. The buffet breakfast was just okay. I would go back but I would test the AC before I settled on the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to "Little Italy" for dinner. The food and service at our restaurant (Ciao Bella) was excellent.

Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ehrmana
Baltimore, MD
Sep 6, 2011

Average Hotel, Good Area

This hotel was worthwhile as a place to stay in the city, but I wouldn't want to spend any more time in it than I had to because the rooms were dark and dingy, and ours smelled of mildew, likely because the sink, bathtub, and toilet all ran constantly. Also, the free breakfast was completely inedible. If I had paid for it, I would have been angry, but since I didn't I guess I can't complain. The location just south of the Washington Monument in Mount Vernon was perfect, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ehrmana
Baltimore, MD
Sep 6, 2011

Average Hotel, Good Area

This hotel was worthwhile as a place to stay in the city, but I wouldn't want to spend any more time in it than I had to because the rooms were dark and dingy, and ours smelled of mildew, likely because the sink, bathtub, and toilet all ran constantly. Also, the free breakfast was completely inedible. If I had paid for it, I would have been angry, but since I didn't I guess I can't complain. The location just south of the Washington Monument in Mount Vernon was perfect, especially for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mount Vernon Hotel EST.1907

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dee02
Lynchburg, VA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Look before you buy

The Mount Vernon Hotel is a renovated building located in the Mount Vernon district of Baltimore. We booked this based upon what we THOUGHT was a close location to the Orioles Stadium. It is definitely NOT within walking distance and you DEFINITELY do not want to risk walking the three blocks to the Light line to take you to the stadium. Parking onsite is $15 - do not pay that because you are basically parking in what is the hotel BASEMENT - VERY difficult to get into and out of (unless you have a mini). Hotel was decent for the price but next time I will pay more to get close to the harbor. Great breakfast included in the hotel rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top