$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 15, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

3 stars
174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
88 reviews
Good Stuff

Great location; Great Hotel. Short walk down to the harbor. See full review

  • Super Mom The Sequel
  • Mar 17, 2014
Nice romantic getaway

Very nice clean hotel. Located within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and other things... See full review

  • M Gentry
  • Mar 10, 2014
Quintessential Annapolis experience with a touch of Irish charm

Owned by a private, Dublin-based hotel group, the 120-room O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel emanates a subtle Old World vibe. Staffers welcome guests with warm, Irish-style hospitality, and dark-wood European furnishings accent the cozy décor. Guests walk to Annapolis's signature attractions, but the hotel also runs a complimentary downtown shuttle. All rooms offer free high-speed Internet, and the on-site restaurant, John Barry, serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner -- with Guinness on tap, of course.

Highlights
  • Charming European character
  • Convenient location in the heart of Annapolis, with free shuttle access to downtown attractions
  • Free high-speed Internet in all rooms
Location

The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel is within walking distance of shops, restaurants, bars and many of the city's signature attractions, including the U.S. Naval Academy, Maryland State House and City Dock.

Rooms

The décor evokes an Old World setting, with warm shades of brown and gold and dark leather and wood furnishings imported from Europe. All rooms at the O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel come with marble bathrooms, a large work desk, refrigerator and free high-speed Internet (wired, cables provided). In addition to the standard room selection, eight executive balcony rooms and two luxury one-bedroom suites also are available.

Dining

Named for the legendary U.S. Naval officer, the O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel's on-site eatery, John Barry Restaurant and Bar serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Its eclectic menu covers everything from egg-and-cheese breakfast sandwiches to Guinness Mussels (steamed in a beer-garlic broth and served over noodles).

Recreation

An on-site fitness center (free, open 24/7), offers two treadmills, bike, elliptical and a TV. O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel guests also access a private gym for a fee.

Transportation
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (25 mi./40.2 km)
  • Ronald Regan National Airport (37 mi./59.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (55 mi./88.5 km)
  • Complimentary first come, first serve shuttle to Downtown and Eastport areas
Attractions
  • Maryland State House (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • William Paca House and Garden (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • City Dock (0.8 mi./1.2 km)
  • U.S. Naval Academy (0.8 mi./1.3 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center has two computers, printer, copy machine and high-speed Internet
  • 2,625 square feet of flexible meeting and event space with built-in audio/visual equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Spacious and luxurious european style guestroom with 2 queen beds, beautiful marble bathrooms, coffee maker, personal safe and high speed internet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Wesley Brown Field House: 1.1 mi

Dining

The John Barry Restaurant and Bar
Great food in a relaxed and friendly environment. The menu offers a varied selection blending local favorites with Irish Specialties.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cheese steak
Business
annapolise maryland
Oct 19, 2014

just ok

great location,free trolly tip 2am, over priced,tub didn't drain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jillian Cooper
Business
Texas
Sep 30, 2014

Great Place!

The staff was very accommodating during my stay. I arrived around 1am and the men working helped me with my bags and parked my car with a warm welcome. The bed was very comfortable and had a warm, cozy atmosphere. I checked out at noon, but they allowed me to keep my car parked there while I walked to the Naval Academy for homecoming festivities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekender009
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 31, 2014

NIce location

This is a nice place, not right on the waterfront but walkable and across the street from the free trolley that runs every 15 mins. Clean room comfortable beds. Only negative is the valet only parking for $20.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LI'er
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 29, 2014

Some mistakes, but easily fixed.

We booked the room for 4 people, and were only provided coffee and towels for 2. Also, we booked for one night through this site, and when I received the bill on my last morning, I realized they tried to charge me for the room twice. The staff was very friendly, professional, and accommodating, and they fixed these problems right away. Minor inconveniences, but overall a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Paris's
Business
Chesapeake beach md
Aug 26, 2014

Aging

The rooms need some spiffing up. Carpets are stained and have burn marks. Hair dryer not fully functional. Feb special used in past was a lower price and included breakfast. That was a deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NAN2014
Business
Atlanta Ga
Aug 25, 2014

Great Weekend stay

We stayed here so we could visit our son living in Annapolis. The location was great we were able to walk down town each am and enjoy the beautiful weather and shops. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slkdlkdj
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 18, 2014

Great Stay for Annapolis

My wife any I needed a place to stay after attending the Silopanna Music Festival at the nearby Anne Arundel County Fairgrounds. The fairgrounds were a short cab ride from the hotel. We had a very restful night after the music festival. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel, located on the 100 block of West Street, Annapolis, was within easy walking distance of several good restaurants, as well as Annapolis' central tourist district, Ego Alley.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a delicious brunch across the street and two or three doors east at the Metropolitan Lounge & Kitchen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nancyjeans
Business
CT
Jun 18, 2014

Roomy and comfortable

My husband and I really liked the room and our friends enjoyed there's. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jimandjohn
Business
Portland, Oregon
May 26, 2014

Poorly maintained hotel

Attending graduation at USNA and other better hotels had no availability. The property is very poorly maintained and dated. Due to poor construction, it is quite noisy when trying to sleep. The cafe and bar are not well decorated or staffed thus we had to go to the Westin for breakfast. Reception staff was not very friendly and seems poorly trained. On a positive note, housekeeping staff was very efficient and rooms were promptly cleaned. We would not stay there again and wonder why a Dublin, Ireland based hotel operation would not maintain this hotel better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamba Nini
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 24, 2014

Good Value

Good, clean and affordable. Within 15 minute walk to downtown. Some items needed repair in out room but OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely go to Chicks and Ruth for a crab omelet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top