$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

3 stars
174 West Street, Annapolis, MD 21401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
118 reviews
Good Stuff

Great location; Great Hotel. Short walk down to the harbor. See full review

  • Super Mom The Sequel
  • Mar 17, 2014
Nice romantic getaway

Very nice clean hotel. Located within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and other things... See full review

  • M Gentry
  • Mar 10, 2014
Quintessential Annapolis experience with a touch of Irish charm

Owned by a private, Dublin-based hotel group, the 120-room O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel emanates a subtle Old World vibe. Staffers welcome guests with warm, Irish-style hospitality, and dark-wood European furnishings accent the cozy décor. Guests walk to Annapolis's signature attractions, but the hotel also runs a complimentary downtown shuttle. All rooms offer free high-speed Internet, and the on-site restaurant, John Barry, serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner -- with Guinness on tap, of course.

Highlights
  • Charming European character
  • Convenient location in the heart of Annapolis, with free shuttle access to downtown attractions
  • Free high-speed Internet in all rooms
Location

The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel is within walking distance of shops, restaurants, bars and many of the city's signature attractions, including the U.S. Naval Academy, Maryland State House and City Dock.

Rooms

The décor evokes an Old World setting, with warm shades of brown and gold and dark leather and wood furnishings imported from Europe. All rooms at the O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel come with marble bathrooms, a large work desk, refrigerator and free high-speed Internet (wired, cables provided). In addition to the standard room selection, eight executive balcony rooms and two luxury one-bedroom suites also are available.

Dining

Named for the legendary U.S. Naval officer, the O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel's on-site eatery, John Barry Restaurant and Bar serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Its eclectic menu covers everything from egg-and-cheese breakfast sandwiches to Guinness Mussels (steamed in a beer-garlic broth and served over noodles).

Recreation

An on-site fitness center (free, open 24/7), offers two treadmills, bike, elliptical and a TV. O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel guests also access a private gym for a fee.

Transportation
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport (25 mi./40.2 km)
  • Ronald Regan National Airport (37 mi./59.5 km)
  • Dulles International Airport (55 mi./88.5 km)
  • Complimentary first come, first serve shuttle to Downtown and Eastport areas
Attractions
  • Maryland State House (0.5 mi./0.8 km)
  • William Paca House and Garden (0.7 mi./1.1 km)
  • City Dock (0.8 mi./1.2 km)
  • U.S. Naval Academy (0.8 mi./1.3 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center has two computers, printer, copy machine and high-speed Internet
  • 2,625 square feet of flexible meeting and event space with built-in audio/visual equipment

The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Guestroom
Spacious and luxurious european style guestroom with 2 queen beds, beautiful marble bathrooms, coffee maker, personal safe and high speed internet.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.9775 -76.4991
Area served
Annapolis.
Nearby airports
Baltimore Washington International Airport - 25 miles, Ronald Regan National Airport - 37 miles and Dulles International Airport - 55 miles.
Area description
Located on West Street, this hotel is within walking distance to all local shops, restautants, bars and the waterfront. Great location to the Unites Sates Naval Academy and Stadium.

Nearby points of interest

  • Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Wesley Brown Field House: 1.1 mi

Dining

The John Barry Restaurant and Bar
Great food in a relaxed and friendly environment. The menu offers a varied selection blending local favorites with Irish Specialties.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nancyjeans
CT
Jun 18, 2014

Roomy and comfortable

My husband and I really liked the room and our friends enjoyed there's. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jimandjohn
Portland, Oregon
May 26, 2014

Poorly maintained hotel

Attending graduation at USNA and other better hotels had no availability. The property is very poorly maintained and dated. Due to poor construction, it is quite noisy when trying to sleep. The cafe and bar are not well decorated or staffed thus we had to go to the Westin for breakfast. Reception staff was not very friendly and seems poorly trained. On a positive note, housekeeping staff was very efficient and rooms were promptly cleaned. We would not stay there again and wonder why a Dublin, Ireland based hotel operation would not maintain this hotel better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamba Nini
Buffalo, NY
Apr 24, 2014

Good Value

Good, clean and affordable. Within 15 minute walk to downtown. Some items needed repair in out room but OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely go to Chicks and Ruth for a crab omelet.

Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy with bed bugs
Business
Denver
Apr 8, 2014

Bed Bugs

Unfortunately I was bitten numerous times on my legs and the only conclusion is Bed Bugs. Would not go back or recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Mom The Sequel
Columbus, OH
Mar 17, 2014

Good Stuff

Great location; Great Hotel. Short walk down to the harbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeandBev180
Prince Frederick, MD
Mar 13, 2014

Great location.

Nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable room, ours had a view of an empty lot, but was very quiet. Only a short walk to great bars, restaurants, and shopping. They do charge $20 for overnight valet parking, so be prepared. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Fado's is 3 blocks West, Ram's Head is 5 blocks to the East. City Dock 15 minute walk.

Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M Gentry
Chesterfield Virginia
Mar 10, 2014

Nice romantic getaway

Very nice clean hotel. Located within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and other things to do! Great price for central location! Will stay again next time and highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Rams head. Great food and great concert venue!

Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tierney026
Frederick, MD
Mar 4, 2014

Great bang for my buck!

Got a great deal on the room. Walking distance to great restaurants. Clean rooms and friendly staff. Would definitely book again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CAPT M1KE
The Jersey Shore, NJ
Oct 21, 2013

Works for me

We enjoyed our stay while attending the boat show. I originally thought that it was a bit too far to walk to the show but was glad to hear there is a free shuttle around town. We had a problem with the final bill but it was an honest error and our money was refunded immediately. I am planning to stay at this hotel while attending next years boat show. Would definately recommend this hotel to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The O'Callaghan Annapolis Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HB Bob
Huntington Beach CA
Oct 9, 2013

opinion

very nice. helpful staff. good location and parking in a very crowded area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Gallway Bay tradiional Irish pub

Back to menu Return to top