$158 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

3 stars
View map of 23 Cummings St, 23 Cummings St, Somerville, MA 02145

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
111 reviews
Great place for Boston visit

This was a very friendly and convenient place to stay. See full review

  • Jayne B.
  • Jul 19, 2015
La Quinta inn stay

Everything was great clean room friendly staff and helpfull. The included breakfast was very good... See full review

  • axter
  • May 4, 2014
  • Harvard University (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Boston Common (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Fenway Park (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
General
La Quinta Inn & Suites sits just miles from downtown Boston or Cambridge, making the hotel a great base for traveling. Guests enjoy many free amenities, including high-speed Wi-Fi, parking, daily breakfast, daily newspaper and free laundry facilities. Guests can book meeting facilities or use the on-site fitness center. The daily free Bright Side Breakfast includes favorites like waffles, muffins and fresh fruit. A complimentary shuttle travels between the hotel and Logan Airport. The hotel welcomes pets.
Location

La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston-Somerville sits nearly equidistant between Cambridge and downtown Boston, offering travelers affordable lodging with great amenities near attractions, whether driving or taking the T, Boston's subway. The hotel has complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the property, free local calls and both daily breakfast and parking are included in the rate. A free shuttle travels between the hotel and Logan Airport. Guests make use of the on-site fitness center and complimentary laundry facilities.

Dining
  • Nearest subway (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Logan International Airport (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
Rooms
Bright, spacious and comfortable, the 147 rooms at La Quinta Inn & Suites offer complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, TV with premium cable (with HBO) and data port phone with voicemail. Each room features a refrigerator and coffee maker, as well as hair dryer in the bathroom. Gusts enjoy free local calls from the room.
Property features
La Quinta Inn & Suites sits just miles from downtown Boston or Cambridge, making the hotel a great base for traveling. Guests enjoy many free amenities, including high-speed Wi-Fi, parking, daily breakfast, daily newspaper and free laundry facilities. Guests can book meeting facilities or use the on-site fitness center. The daily free Bright Side Breakfast includes favorites like waffles, muffins and fresh fruit. A complimentary shuttle travels between the hotel and Logan Airport. The hotel welcomes pets.
Highlights
  • Two miles from downtown Boston
  • Free Wi-Fi, parking, laundry, breakfast and local calls
  • Free airport shuttle to and from Logan Airport
  • On-site fitness center
  • Close to Cambridge universities
Nearby attractions
  • Two miles from downtown Boston
  • Free Wi-Fi, parking, laundry, breakfast and local calls
  • Free airport shuttle to and from Logan Airport
  • On-site fitness center
  • Close to Cambridge universities
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 30 people
  • High-speed Wi-Fi
Transportation

Convenient, affordable property between Cambridge and Boston

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Deluxe
King Room Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with new king pillow top bed, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Queen-Bedded Room, Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two queen beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
One Full Bed, Features a TV, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron w/ironing board, voice mail, and dataport telephone.
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls
Suite
Smoking Suites Relaxing and comfortable two room suite with king bed, sofa sleeper in living area, oversized work area and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Jogging track
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Video checkout
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

99 Restaurant Pub
Reasonably priced, high quality, casual themed dining restaurant. Serves a variety of delicious salads, steaks and other type entrees. Average check $10.
Style Cafe
The World Famous Australian Steakhouse Chain! Serving delicious steaks, chicken and seafood.
Mt. Vernon Restaurant
An institution in the Somerville community, the Mt. Vernon has been serving happy guests for over 40 years. Reasonable priced and always fantastic! House specialties are pasta dishes and Baked New England Scrod.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Horrible experience in Boston
Business
Wyoming
Aug 17, 2010

horrible

Horrible experience. Maid stole a hundred dollars, and my Maui Jim sunglasses. No hot water the first day. The room wasn't all that clean (small debris on the floor) and the staff was rude and lied to us about when the hot water was coming back. Shuttle smelled of animal (dog or something) and falsely adverticed 24 hour anytime shuttle; it only runs on the hour and if you need something beyond that, your S.O.L.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy vacationers
Business
Boston
Aug 14, 2010

Worst hotel I've stayed at

This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had. Staff lied to us about shuttle from airport. When I called ahead to get one, the person at the front desk said to just call when we got to the airport and they would come get us. When I did as I was instructed, I was informed that I would have to wait a little under an hour because they only go on the hour and we just missed the last one. The shuttle smelled of animal and was falling apart. The back door almost fell apart when the driver opened it and the shuttle sounded like it wasn't going to make it to the hotel. When we arrived, my wife and I over heard two employees joking about how it was going to break down but they weren't going to do anything about it. They were kind and let us check in early, but we found there to be no hot water. A quick call to the front desk gave me an answer that they were looking at it now and it would be 20 minutes. An hour later I called down and talked to someone else who said a plumber was on the way and she didn't know when the plumber would be here. I asked to speak to a manager and she replied there wasn't any in till tomorrow.[...] Information she got from a MANAGER. I can deal with the smelly car and unfriendly workers, but being lied to over and over again is unacceptable, and 132.00 a night is steep for a hotel with no hot water. Never stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Oct 26, 2009

Horrible experience

I took my father for his first trip to Boston and on the first day we waited for 30 minutes for the hotel's shuttle bus right outside of the train station while it was 30 degrees and snowing. When we called the front desk he told us the bus will be coming to pick us up in 10 minutes so we had to stay under the rain and snow in order for the driver to see us as most drivers don't wait for you to come out from the train station in case you want to hide from the bad weather. They literally drive by the side road and if they don't see anyone standing, they leave. At the end we got so cold that we went back to the station and as soon as we got in we saw the bus driving by. We ended up taking a taxi. In brief, my dad ended up catching a cold! Also, The front desk people never smile and all have attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North East PA
Oct 14, 2010

Not recommended

Put me in a smoking room which I didn't discover until I was in and was too tired to switch. Price is way too high for the standard of the room, overall I was extremely disappointed and smelled like smoke all day today!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Sep 25, 2010

They should not do this -

We booked non-smoking room online a month ago. However, when arriving we were informed no non-smoking room was available and we had to take a smoking room. Everyones were very unhappy - particularly my soon (17 yo) who did not wanted to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle Washington.
Oct 7, 2010

The good and the not so good

I'll never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Kmart next door you can get anything.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Constant East Coast Traveller
Business
Minneapolis, MN.
Nov 8, 2010

Under "Quiet Renovations"???

I have stayed at this hotel before in the past, and never had really had much of a problem. The staff is always exceptionally friendly and helpful. However, on this trip, we were notified at check-in that the hotel was under "quiet renovation", with work being started after 10:00 am. On our first night, we awoke to pounding and other noise associated with construction. We notified the front desk, but were told, "Not our people. They don't start until 10." This was at 3 in the morning!!!! [...]Even with my previous great times at this no-frills property, I would not stay here again. You are better off paying the extra twenty dollars to stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is located between two T stations; Sullivan Square and Wellington Station. While the hotel offers a shuttle to the two stations, Wellington Station is less than a mile away, with a sidewalk running all the way there. Walking is a much easier option, seeing as the shuttle is only once an hour, until 10:00 pm, and by reservation only.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oceanside new york
Aug 3, 2011

overpriced and poorly kept

we chose this hotel for location-my daughter and i were going on college visits-the location was excellent-this was the only plus-the hotel smelled smokey and musty there was not one water bottle to be had in four vending machines-the rooms were closer to a $69 a nite stay not $179-the electricity in the room couldn't all stay on at the same time-ie lights went out the tv went on and off!!! really not a great la quinta

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

i would choose a different hotel chain in this area

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pzap
Business
sbp
Jun 15, 2011

Don't count on your reservation!

Our flight arrived at 1230am form San Francisco. We picked up our bags and after getting our car we found our way to La Quinta Inn and Suites in Somerville. The time is now 0130am and when we checked in there was not a room waiting for us. We waited for about 20 minutes and then we were told to go to the Cambridge Gateway Hotel. The hotel driver did not speak English well enough to lead us to the Cambridge, so we eventually found our way. We finally checked in around 0230 but the Cambridge was not so nice or very clean.( but at least they were nice to us.) It was a very disappointing experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TV Producer
Business
Durham, NH
Jun 11, 2012

Good Staff but some issues

Our room appeared to be clean BUT smelled like a male cat had sprayed every corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top