$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

3 stars
23 Cummings St, 23 Cummings St, Somerville, MA 02145
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
112 reviews
La Quinta inn stay

Everything was great clean room friendly staff and helpfull. The included breakfast was very good... See full review

  • axter
  • May 4, 2014
Good value and Close to Boston

Room was quiet even though right next to highway, beds were comfortable, room was clean, hotel was... See full review

  • 4 of a kind
  • Aug 26, 2013
Convenient, affordable property between Cambridge and Boston with perks

La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston-Somerville sits nearly equidistant between Cambridge and downtown Boston, offering travelers affordable lodging with great amenities near attractions, whether driving or taking the T, Boston's subway. The hotel has complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the property, free local calls and both daily breakfast and parking are included in the rate. A free shuttle travels between the hotel and Logan Airport. Guests make use of the on-site fitness center and complimentary laundry facilities.

Highlights
  • Two miles from downtown Boston
  • Free Wi-Fi, parking, laundry, breakfast and local calls
  • Free airport shuttle to and from Logan Airport
  • On-site fitness center
  • Close to Cambridge universities
Rooms
Bright, spacious and comfortable, the 147 rooms at La Quinta Inn & Suites offer complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, TV with premium cable (with HBO) and data port phone with voicemail. Each room features a refrigerator and coffee maker, as well as hair dryer in the bathroom. Gusts enjoy free local calls from the room.
Features
La Quinta Inn & Suites sits just miles from downtown Boston or Cambridge, making the hotel a great base for traveling. Guests enjoy many free amenities, including high-speed Wi-Fi, parking, daily breakfast, daily newspaper and free laundry facilities. Guests can book meeting facilities or use the on-site fitness center. The daily free Bright Side Breakfast includes favorites like waffles, muffins and fresh fruit. A complimentary shuttle travels between the hotel and Logan Airport. The hotel welcomes pets.
Transportation
  • Nearest subway (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Logan International Airport (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Complimentary airport shuttle
Attractions
  • Harvard University (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Boston Common (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Fenway Park (3.3 mi/5.4 km)
Business
  • Meeting room accommodates up to 30 people
  • High-speed Wi-Fi

Hotel Map

42.3942 -71.084
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 5.00, MI, N; Manchester Airport, (MHT), 50.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Deluxe
King Room Non Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with new king pillow top bed, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Queen-Bedded Room, Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two queen beds, oversized desk and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
One Full Bed, Features a TV, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron w/ironing board, voice mail, and dataport telephone.
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls
Suite
Smoking Suites Relaxing and comfortable two room suite with king bed, sofa sleeper in living area, oversized work area and two dataport phones with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Jogging track
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Video checkout
Copy service
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Dining

99 Restaurant Pub
Reasonably priced, high quality, casual themed dining restaurant. Serves a variety of delicious salads, steaks and other type entrees. Average check $10.
Style Cafe
The World Famous Australian Steakhouse Chain! Serving delicious steaks, chicken and seafood.
Mt. Vernon Restaurant
An institution in the Somerville community, the Mt. Vernon has been serving happy guests for over 40 years. Reasonable priced and always fantastic! House specialties are pasta dishes and Baked New England Scrod.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Oct 4, 2010

Lacking in customer service...

The rooms were clean and the continental breakfast was great, but we were disappointed with the "free shuttle service." They often told us the shuttle would arrive "on the hour" and it was always late. We waited at the airport for over an hour for the shuttle. Also, they were not reliable in driving us the the nearest T station, so we would choose to walk the 1/2 mile to the station during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The 99 restaurant across from the hotel was great! Amazing staff, good food, and good prices. And of course, it is totally convenient!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lambertville, Michigan
Sep 30, 2010

Great location for the price!

Very nice, great location, easy access from expressway, and free parking. We liked that the hotel had things to do around it, besides cement, and tall buildings, and little parking. It had a beautiful park very close, you could walk, run, or just sit on a park bench and enjoy the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary13
Alexandria, VA
Sep 27, 2010

Surprisingly nice

For a La Quinta right off the highway I wasn't expecting much. Instead I got clean rooms, friendly staff and an hourly shuttle to the T. This is certainly not high class accommodations but you can't beat it for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The T closes at 12:30, so leave the bars around midnight to get the T home. From Union St. though it was only about a $12 cab back to the hotel. Somerville is NOT far.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
Sep 25, 2010

They should not do this -

We booked non-smoking room online a month ago. However, when arriving we were informed no non-smoking room was available and we had to take a smoking room. Everyones were very unhappy - particularly my soon (17 yo) who did not wanted to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Horrible experience in Boston
Wyoming
Aug 17, 2010

horrible

Horrible experience. Maid stole a hundred dollars, and my Maui Jim sunglasses. No hot water the first day. The room wasn't all that clean (small debris on the floor) and the staff was rude and lied to us about when the hot water was coming back. Shuttle smelled of animal (dog or something) and falsely adverticed 24 hour anytime shuttle; it only runs on the hour and if you need something beyond that, your S.O.L.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Twenty-Something Traveler
Boston, MA
Aug 14, 2010

Close to T-station but far from all else

The hotel served its purpose. I wish it was closer to restaurants. Located in a more industrial district but still close to public transportation. The hotel advertised being closer to locations than it actually was. The people I traveled with were quite capable of walking far distances which made our stay fine. I would not recommend for people who have difficulty walking far distances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the Go-Boston Card. You can save a lot on attractions if you plan your trip wisely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy vacationers
Boston
Aug 14, 2010

Worst hotel I've stayed at

This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had. Staff lied to us about shuttle from airport. When I called ahead to get one, the person at the front desk said to just call when we got to the airport and they would come get us. When I did as I was instructed, I was informed that I would have to wait a little under an hour because they only go on the hour and we just missed the last one. The shuttle smelled of animal and was falling apart. The back door almost fell apart when the driver opened it and the shuttle sounded like it wasn't going to make it to the hotel. When we arrived, my wife and I over heard two employees joking about how it was going to break down but they weren't going to do anything about it. They were kind and let us check in early, but we found there to be no hot water. A quick call to the front desk gave me an answer that they were looking at it now and it would be 20 minutes. An hour later I called down and talked to someone else who said a plumber was on the way and she didn't know when the plumber would be here. I asked to speak to a manager and she replied there wasn't any in till tomorrow.[...] Information she got from a MANAGER. I can deal with the smelly car and unfriendly workers, but being lied to over and over again is unacceptable, and 132.00 a night is steep for a hotel with no hot water. Never stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
F.R.O.G
Business
Jackson, TN
Jul 28, 2010

Great service and experience

The hotel was great. It is located right across the street from a shopping mall and restaurants are within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 27, 2010

Decent

It was fine. We only stayed one night and all we did was sleep there. Free parking, free breakfast in the morning, friendly staff. No problems. The room was decent. It had a small fridge, which was a pleasant surprise. Decent value for a short stay. Would not recommend for extended stay. Also, a pool would be nice. Location is ok - not the best but fairly easy to get to & not too far from attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We ate at a Thai restaurant in Cambridge called "Sugar and Spice" and it was delicious. Bubble tea/frozen drinks were awsome & the food was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shel 1942
Oscoda, MI
Jul 20, 2010

Great vacation

Staff offered clear directions and suggestions on getting around Boston. Hotel airport shuttle runs hourly and will take guests to Sullivan Station for Orange Line subway to downtown or other connections, otherwise, it's a half hour to 45 minute walk or 5 minute taxi ride. Taxi return to hotel from station recommended after a day of touring. Computer and printer available in business center. Restaurant/bar (food good) and K-Mart across street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hotel will arrange trolley tour tickets at reduced price. Tour allows passenger to get off and back on at points of personal interest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search