$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

3 stars
View map of 23 Cummings St, 23 Cummings St, Somerville, MA 02145

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BevB
Family
Salem NJ
Aug 28, 2011

Mostly Good!

The La Quinta in Somerville, MA was clean and new looking. Front desk was helpful and informative. Breakfast was tasty and a decent variety of foods. Shuttle to Sullivan Square transit station was very convenient. Downsides were: the advertised pool was very small and limited to two people at a time. Vending machines were poorly stocked (no non-caffeinated beverages, many items sold out).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sam LaGrassa's, 44 province St. Awesome chowder and sandwiches.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
oceanside new york
Aug 3, 2011

overpriced and poorly kept

we chose this hotel for location-my daughter and i were going on college visits-the location was excellent-this was the only plus-the hotel smelled smokey and musty there was not one water bottle to be had in four vending machines-the rooms were closer to a $69 a nite stay not $179-the electricity in the room couldn't all stay on at the same time-ie lights went out the tv went on and off!!! really not a great la quinta

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

i would choose a different hotel chain in this area

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
detroit MI
Jun 28, 2011

Boston visit

we visited some colleges during stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
ellsworth, me
Jun 16, 2011

clean and comfortable. close to

we stayed with some seniors for a class trip to boston. the rooms were nice. great breakfast included. conviently near the "t" w/shuttle service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pzap
Couples
sbp
Jun 15, 2011

Don't count on your reservation!

Our flight arrived at 1230am form San Francisco. We picked up our bags and after getting our car we found our way to La Quinta Inn and Suites in Somerville. The time is now 0130am and when we checked in there was not a room waiting for us. We waited for about 20 minutes and then we were told to go to the Cambridge Gateway Hotel. The hotel driver did not speak English well enough to lead us to the Cambridge, so we eventually found our way. We finally checked in around 0230 but the Cambridge was not so nice or very clean.( but at least they were nice to us.) It was a very disappointing experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
StumpRider
Business
San Antonio, TX
May 20, 2011

Inexpensive accommodations

Couldn't get a non-smoking room because of early check-in. Can't fault the hotel for that, but why do hotels still tolerate smokers in the rooms? Room was clean and had hot water! The shower head was mightily constrained in amount of water it let through, but it was sufficient. No WiFi in room, only in lobby when it is working. Ethernet cable in room for those devices that are semi-mobile. Bring your own hot-spot. Hotel lost internet and phone service the second of two nights there. No StarBucks close as a backup. The restaurant "99" is right across the street and a menu is in the room, but skip that option. From the stale popcorn starter to the poorly prepared menu items, it's to be avoided. Free breakfast off the lobby that was good, and extra points for being clean! Bathroom doors were squeaky (wake the dead) and the front desk had a loaner can of WD-40. Problem solved. Overall an inexpensive way to stay in the area. Just don't expect everything to be like you'd hope (but rarely find) in a more expensive hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
Mar 15, 2011

La Quinta Inn AND Suites Boston Somervil

Problem free. They have a shuttle that runs to the Sullivan square T station if you give them advance notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Hollywood, FL
Nov 19, 2010

Very clean and comfortable good location

Very clean and comfortable hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Discount mall across the street. Very convenient

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Constant East Coast Traveller
Couples
Minneapolis, MN.
Nov 8, 2010

Under "Quiet Renovations"???

I have stayed at this hotel before in the past, and never had really had much of a problem. The staff is always exceptionally friendly and helpful. However, on this trip, we were notified at check-in that the hotel was under "quiet renovation", with work being started after 10:00 am. On our first night, we awoke to pounding and other noise associated with construction. We notified the front desk, but were told, "Not our people. They don't start until 10." This was at 3 in the morning!!!! [...]Even with my previous great times at this no-frills property, I would not stay here again. You are better off paying the extra twenty dollars to stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is located between two T stations; Sullivan Square and Wellington Station. While the hotel offers a shuttle to the two stations, Wellington Station is less than a mile away, with a sidewalk running all the way there. Walking is a much easier option, seeing as the shuttle is only once an hour, until 10:00 pm, and by reservation only.

Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vettefanforever
Couples
oklahoma
Oct 25, 2010

Excellent Experience

When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted by [...]at the front desk. She was the most pleasant and professional clerk we have ever met at any hotel. She gave us suggestions for nearby restaurants, how to get around town and the best way to travel to nearby Salem, which was on our "to do" list. Her exceptional enthusiam to assit us made our stay exceptionaly enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top