$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

Days Inn Shrewsbury - Worcester

2 stars
View map of 889 Boston Turnpike Rt-9, Shrewsbury, MA 01545

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Shrewsbury - Worcester

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Shrewsbury - Worcester

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
busyz
Family
NC
Jul 24, 2014

A little too far

The place is ok but a little too far from I-90, it took a while to find it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Days Inn Shrewsbury - Worcester

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Logan R
Business
Albany, NY
Jul 18, 2014

Budget

Limited amenities yet cheap. Decent location. Right off the main highway to boston

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Wegmans nearby

Review of Days Inn Shrewsbury - Worcester

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Logan R
Business
Albany, NY
Jul 15, 2014

A Budget Room off the Main Stretch

This hotel is exemplary of "budget." While the rooms are clean, the tv's are extremely small and lackluster. Unfortunately given the close proximity to Boston you'll pay a three star price for a 1.5-2 star room. While travelers may not experience this during their own stay my room had several dead light bulbs, flickering electricity, and a TV that stopped working mid-evening. I would only recommend this hotel to someone staying for a quick night. On the plus side its right on the main road to Boston so there are an assortment of eat-ins and shopping nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a shopping complex with a Wegmans, Starbucks, and BJ's gas station a few miles south.

Review of Days Inn Shrewsbury - Worcester

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Phil from Miami
Single
Miami, Florida
Jun 9, 2014

excellent

Everyone was most helpful. The continental breakfast has room for improvement. It could use expansion. Room was clean and convenient. I did not use any of the extras, therefore cannot comment. Will not hesitate to use this Days Inn again. A few years ago I stayed in the one in Key West and it was in terrible disrepair. This was a pleasant surprise. Phil Lancey

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Days Inn Shrewsbury - Worcester

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Will from Alaska
Single
Anchorage, Alaska
May 31, 2014

Nothing Special

Nothing special, but right on Route 9, so the location made this a convenient choice..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Days Inn Shrewsbury - Worcester

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RichieRA
Family
Oklahoma
May 19, 2014

Trying

There seems to be a new ownership crew that are trying to renovate this hotel. They are trying but the previous owner / staff had let it go. From the looks this will be nice in 6 months or less. As for my stay I should have left and went somewhere else even with it prepaid but was short on cash and had to make the best of it. Nothing worked . The only save for me was we only had to sleep there for a few hours each night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Days Inn Shrewsbury - Worcester

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beer enthusiast.
Couples
Quebec
Jan 12, 2014

Enjoyable stay

Didn't spend much time in the hotel. However staff was helpful and pleasant. Rooms were comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Days Inn Shrewsbury - Worcester

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HappytravelerK
Couples
California
Dec 30, 2013

I'd stay somewhere else...

When we checked in, we were originally given a really horrible hotel room. I've never seen anything like it - there was a gaping hole cut into the bathroom wall showing exposed plumbing. The carpet hadn't been vacuumed, there was mold on the shower head, and the walls were all patched up. Honestly, it looked like the room was in the middle of being renovated and like nobody was supposed to stay there. The woman at reception actually made a big point of the fact that we were getting a discounted rate because we booked it online. I'm not sure exactly where this feeling is coming from, but I couldn't shake the feeling that she intentionally gave us the worst room in the hotel. Normally I don't complain to businesses, but we went back to reception and said we either needed a different room or we needed our money back so we could go stay someplace else. The woman at reception switched us into a different room, which was much cleaner and perfectly fine. (She commented several times though that this was an "upgrade" that they weren't charging us for.) The only reason I'm giving this hotel two stars is because the second room was much better than the first - it was more of what we would expect in an inexpensive hotel. Honestly, I'd stay somewhere else. We generally stay in inexpensive hotels and I don't have particularly high standards, but I was really horrified by our initial room assignment. The hotel also doesn't have easy access to the highway. You can find better value for your money - I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Days Inn Shrewsbury - Worcester

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MomTYC
Family
Ulster County, NY
Aug 23, 2013

bring child to college

The room was clean. However, the entire building smelled of stale smoke, including our non smoking room. The room had old, worn furniture in it. Although the price was affordable, I would rather pay more money to stay in a hotel that didn't smell of stale smoke. When we return to the area for parent's weekend, we will choose another hotel to stay in. We spent very little time in this hotel, and checked out very early the next morning. The staff did not say good morning, nor ask how our stay was. I saw a staff worker go into the public shared bathroom to fill up the coffee pot for the free coffee.As we were checking out another guest was complaining about another matter, and we heard the clerk say "sorry, there is nothing we can do about it" It was shift changing time, and that clerk only wanted to go home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Days Inn Shrewsbury - Worcester

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phil the Patriot man
Couples
Corning NY,
Aug 17, 2013

used as an over night to visit friends. worked out great!

it's a nice, clean room, close to the train to Boston. The amenities were average, with nothing special. As for the staff, not bad, just not special. Overall I would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top