$133 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Beaconlight Guest House

4 stars
12 Winthrop Street, 12 Winthrop Street, Provincetown, MA 2657
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
34 reviews
Affordable, Comfortable, and Great Location

This was my first trip to Ptown and going thru the hundreds of places to stay, I felt that I found... See full review

  • PRFD1978
  • Jun 22, 2014
Superb guesthouse!

Mark & Keith clearly prioritize beauty, accommodations, & care of their guests. Beautifully... See full review

  • PTown fan
  • May 31, 2014
Provincetown guesthouse with charm and character
Sophisticated meets eclectic at the Beaconlight Guest House -- funky, chic accommodations just off Commercial Street in Provincetown. The town pier and Pilgrim Monument are five minutes away, beaches are within walking distance, and a short drive will take guests to other areas of Cape Cod. The Beaconlight Guest House has an outdoor hot tub, a peaceful garden patio and two roof decks with exceptional views of the surroundings.
Highlights
  • Hot tub open year round
  • Complimentary wireless Internet
  • Fresh beach towels daily
  • Roof decks with gorgeous views
Location

The Beaconlight Guest House is centrally located in Provincetown, on a quiet block off Commercial Street.

Rooms

Sophisticated, eclectic decor abounds in Beaconlight Guest House rooms and suites. Each room has its own style, with a mix of antique and transitional furniture, along with a refrigerator for storing drinks and snacks, a television, free local phone calls, and organic bath products. Most rooms have private bathrooms but guests can save money by booking one of the two rooms with a shared bath.

 

Spend a little extra and book one of the fireplace suites -- spacious, multiple-room suites with lots of extras including a microwave, a coffee-maker, a larger seating area with a sofa and a romantic fireplace.

Features

The Beaconlight Guest House offers lots of extra perks including fresh beach towels daily. Guests love lounging in the outdoor hot tub, open year round, or relaxing in the private garden patio. The two roof decks have stunning views of the town, the ocean and the Long Point lighthouse.

 

The hotel hosts and staff are very knowledgeable about the area and happy to give advice on where to go and what to do.

Transportation
  • Provincetown Municipal Airport (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Boston Logan International Airport (118 mi/190 km)
Attractions
  • Provincetown Art House (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pilgrim Monument (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Town Pier (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Whydah Pirate Museum (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Race Point Lighthouse (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Cape Cod National Seashore (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
  • Hyannis Harbor (29.1 mi/46.9 km)
Business
  • Complimentary wireless Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Beaconlight Guest House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Beaconlight Guest House Rooms

Beaconlight Fireplace Suite
Enjoy one of our premier fire place suites. Each has a king bed and full size pull out sofa seating area which will accommodate up to three people, relax by the fireplace, enjoy the TV and a DVD player, AC, private bathroom, CD clock radio, desk, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, bath robes and telephone with voicemail.
Cape Ann Fireplace Suite
Enjoy one of our premier fire place suites. Each has a king bed and full size pull out sofa seating area which will accommodate up to three people, relax by the fireplace, enjoy the TV and a DVD player, AC, private bathroom, CD clock radio, desk, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, bath robes and telephone with voicemail.
Plymouth Fireplace Suite
Enjoy one of our premier fire place suites. Each has a king bed and full size pull out sofa seating area which will accommodate up to three people, relax by the fireplace, enjoy the TV and a DVD player, AC, private bathroom, CD clock radio, desk, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, bath robes and telephone with voicemail.
Race Point King Bedroom
Located on the first floor, this room has a king size bed with maximum occupancy of two, private bathroom, seating area, AC, TV with DVD, CD clock radio, ceiling fan, refrigerator, bath robes and telephone with voicemail.
Chatham Deluxe Queen Bedroom Superior
Located on the second floor, this room has a queen size bed with maximum occupancy of two, private bathroom, seating area, AC, TV with DVD, CD clock radio, ceiling fan, refrigerator, bath robes and telephone with voicemail.
Gurnet Queen Bedroom
Located on the first or second floor of the house this room has a queen size bed with maximum occupancy of two, private bath, AC, TV with DVD, CD radio, ceiling fan, refrigerator, bath robes and telephone with voicemail.
Long Point Queen Bedroom
Located on the first or second floor of the house this room has a queen size bed with maximum occupancy of two, private bath, AC, TV with DVD, CD radio, ceiling fan, refrigerator, bath robes and telephone with voicemail.
Nauset Queen Bedroom
Located on the first or second floor of the house this room has a queen size bed with maximum occupancy of two, private bath, AC, TV with DVD, CD radio, ceiling fan, refrigerator, bath robes and telephone with voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Dining

Bayside Betsys
Bayside Betsys
Fannizzis
Fannizzis
Mews
Mews
Napis
Napis

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Beaconlight Guest House

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Beaconlight Guest House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 13, 2010

Exceptional

Wonderful surprise! Owners doing a great job of making guests feel welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beaconlight Guest House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A lady who really needed a break
Business
Whitesboro, NY
May 23, 2010

Quiet Retreat

We had reserved one of the rooms with a fireplace. Everything about it was unique. We could walk right out our room to a deck. Very comfortable. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The weekend before Memorial Day was great. Lots of sales. Also restaurant week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beaconlight Guest House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian and Jeff
Business
Tampa, FL
Apr 18, 2010

Terrific Find in P-Town

We saw this guest house listed online with [...]and took a chance with it ... and we were glad we did. The staff was very attentive and the place is very well kept. Convenient to Commercial St. We'll be back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beaconlight Guest House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Winter beach-goer
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 16, 2010

Great three-day weekend

We didn't know what to expect traveling in the winter to a summer-resort town, but there was certainly enough to do to keep us occupied. P-town is a very cute town - although say it with me now, expensive - and we had a great time combing the few stores that were open, and walking the uncrowded beaches. The hotel owners helped us with a dinner reservation that turned out to be the best meal we had all weekend, and the off-season rates made the hotel extremely affordable. The best part about the hotel was the hot tub - there's nothing like spending the day walking around bundled in sweaters and mittens, and then sit in the hot tub sipping champagne. Just terrific. The rooms were on the smaller side, but the other services take up that slack. We didn't partake in the complimentary breakfast, but it looked nice when we walked through to check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We might as well have handed over our wallets when we entered the city limits - our budget for food was twice the amount for the hotel, and we actually did spend that much. At an establishment downtown, $40 for sodas and hamburgers? (including tip) You're kidding me. It truly felt like being robbed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beaconlight Guest House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waterbury, Connecticut
Feb 14, 2010

Great weekend getaway

The Beaconlight Guest House is exquisite. It is super clean and the Continental breakfast was scrumptious. It was walking distance to all the shopping and restaurants. We didn't need to drive. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The owners are great and very hospitable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beaconlight Guest House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allston, MA
Nov 28, 2009

Excellent

My wife and I celebrated our 6 month anniversary in this bed and breakfast. The service was excellent. The staff was very kind and helpful. The breakfast was fabulous. And despite it being winter time, we very much enjoyed our stay. The rooms were toasty and the hot-tub in the backyard was a nice relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beaconlight Guest House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sashter
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 7, 2009

Enjoyed my stay

I really enjoyed my brief stay. The owners were very gracious. My room was well appointed and clean but on the small side. Everything worked. The included continental breakfast was above average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beaconlight Guest House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cheddarbunnie
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 1, 2009

Rooftop decks, hot tub, comfy rooms...

This B&B doesn't look like your grandma's house! Our stay was amazing and an excellent value for the price. Our price was off-season at $95/nt. We stayed in the single room w shared bath which was fine except that the room had a sloped ceiling and was fairly small. (Only the shared bathroom rooms appeared to have the sloped ceiling due to the interesting architecture of the house.) We really enjoyed sitting out on the roof decks (there are two) for breakfast or a glass of wine in the evening. Breakfast is delicious with homemade scones and an array of fresh fruit salads. There's also a hot tub to soak in after an afternoon of checking out Provincetown. The Beaconlight Inn is contemporary and very well kept by the owners. I highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Whale watching. We were lucky and saw about a dozen humpback whales nearly at arms length from the boat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beaconlight Guest House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 1, 2009

Good night sleep close to downtown

It was a nice and quiet place. The rooms are impeccably clean and so was the bathroom. After the check-in the staff is nowhere to be seen - that can either be a very good thing (in our case, since we were just looking for a quiet place with pleasant atmosphere) or a bad thing (if you are looking for more hospitality and service). I enjoyed the nice continental breakfast that was provided in the kitchen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Wabi Dumplings - it was the most awesome asian fusion food I had in a long time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Beaconlight Guest House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joy, Lazy Lizzie
Business
New York
Apr 22, 2009

A Lovely stay

This trip was taken off season. I wanted a cozy place to read and relax. The Beacon was perfect for this purpose. The hot tub on the outside deck was a real plus. You are provided with a nice robe to wear when you get out. It is located right in town near some terrific seafood restaurants. I enjoyed shopping and browsing in a used bookstore nearby. I would have liked to take some tours but they were closed for the season. I am glad I went when I did, instead of summer when the town is really crowded. This was quite different from the beach and sightseeing trips I normally take.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't like crowds go in September or early spring.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top