$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Sheraton Commander Hotel

3 stars
16 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
36 reviews
Heart of Cambridge

This hotel is perfect for travelers wanting to visit Harvard University. The hotel is only a few... See full review

  • Flash Cutback
  • Jul 1, 2014
It was very impressive and good service

The room was very clean and comfortable, the service was very considerable. The breakfast was so... See full review

  • Happy BJ traveller
  • Sep 3, 2013
Come and stay at the transformed Sheraton Commander Hotel. Youre in for a great nights rest in one of our 173 newly redesigned yet classically styled guest rooms, featuring High Speed Internet Access, flat-panel LCD televisions, updated bathrooms and carpet, and the signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed with crisp, all-white bedding. Enjoy the clean, refreshed feel of our renovated hallways and stately lobby, elegant as ever with its marble floors and distinctive Colonial décor. Connect with friends and family at our recently installed Link@Sheraton experienced with Microsoft, offering complimentary Internet and free Wi-Fi, or lift your heart rate during downtime at our redesigned fitness center with brand-new equipment. Our 16 Garden Street Restaurant & Lounge offers a chic, updated feel with the same treasured emphasis on local ingredients and high-quality food and drink. Built in 1927, the Sheraton Commander Hotel has long been a landmark in Cambridges Historic Harvard Square. On the historic Cambridge Common, you will find unparalleled style and service near the site where George Washington took command of the Continental Army. Our Mount Vernon-inspired entrance is stately reminder of the areas rich culture and history, and our rooms are the perfect vantage point from which to experience the sights and sounds of Cambridge. Located on the north side of the Charles River, we are surrounded by Harvard University and just minutes from Lesley, Tufts, and MIT, as well as great shopping and dining. The friendly and knowledgeable staff will be happy to assist you in enjoying all that the city has to offer at the newly updated Sheraton Commander Hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Commander Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sheraton Commander Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Video checkout
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Harvard University: 0.4 mi
  • Lavietes Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Bright Hockey Center: 0.6 mi
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Commander Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KT68
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Great value for a wonderful historic hotel in Harvard Square

Rooms were really nice. Free wifi. Everything has been updated - I read some of the previous reviews and I believe they had to have been made before the remodel because we found everything to be clean and new. The hotel is in an amazing location on a side street just off Harvard Square. Short walk to the Red Line T station. 30.00 for parking is steep, but you can park for free all day and night on Brattle street just behind the hotel and it's very safe. A new restaurant has recently opened in the hotel which is great. You can grab last call here and take it to your room or chill and watch the Red Sox game at the bar. We only had the breakfast buffet here so I can't judge dinner, but it was very good. Good omelets, fresh fruit. Fresh Juice. Very nice. Would absolutely stay here again. At 139/night you can not get a better deal in Boston. That is prepay rate which I would recommend - it jumped up to 300 for a last minute Saturday night extension which I did not do. Probably not the best hotel for children - no pool, the elevators are small for strollers, etc. Definitely more of an adult vibe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free all day and all night parking on Brattle Street right behind the hotel, so no need to pay 30/night for parking. Very safe. Short walk to hotel and worth it. Saved me 100.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stanford, CA
Feb 11, 2011

Great location, nice price

I was visiting local universities while I was there. Since I am a frequent Sheraton visitor, I was put in a room in the club level. The room was nice, pretty modern and spacious, although the bathroom was a bit cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is ok and very close, but the walk to Harvard sq is fast and easy and has a lot of more interesting choices there, with a better bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somerville Ma
Jan 12, 2011

Everything was fine

The hotel was more than comfortable and since Iwas staying because of a major snow storm approaching more than a good port in the storm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mossie on the road
Business
Dunlap, TN
Dec 9, 2010

Staying in Cambridge MA

We arrived at the hotel after a long day of travel from Europe with flight delays due to weather. We were tired, but made to feel welcomed and happy to be there. The elevators are a little small and slow, but they work. Our room was large and well appointed. The bathroom was well equipped, yet held the character of the building. The dinning - lounge area is nice. After the freshness of food in western Europe I was a little disappointed in my salad. There is a park across the street and Harvard Square is only a short walk. The beds were the best I've enjoyed in a long time. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many shops around Harvard Square with a variety of goods. Quality and prices vary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joleangel
Business
california
Nov 15, 2010

Seraton Commander

Great location and service. Restaurant was wonderful. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 20, 2010

Cool Cambridge Location

This hotel is right in the Harvard University area a quick walk away from the main commercial square and easy access to the Red line so that you could stay here even if you were working in Boston as the square is filled with street acts and interesting and strange people so I have always liked visiting the area. The room was roomy and spacious and wonderful comfortable bed but the bathroom was very crowded and you could not open the door without hitting the toilet. I had a small TV channel problem and the guest services guy went overboard trying to get it fixed, repeatedly calling me to give me a status on the situation. The breakfast is overpriced and the service was pretty bad - you had to ask for everything twice even though it was not particularly busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of choices in Harvard Square for both cheap and moderate fare that are more interesting than the hotel - also you see the students in their milieu like the Au Bon Pain where they shot many scenes from Good Will Hunting

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mith
Business
Amherst, MA
Aug 8, 2010

Nice hotel, though its age shows

Staff was friendly in my few interactions with them. The hotel is a short walk from Harvard Square, which was very convenient. Small, slow elevator lead me to my room, which was clean and decent-sized. I stayed two nights, and during both of them, the bath tub spewed (a small amount of) sewage at one point during the evening, which I had to wash away. Some of the lights, in particular the bathroom light, buzzes. The walls are quite thin, and any time someone opened the next door over, it sounded as if they were entering my room. I was surprised by the lack of free wifi at this day and age, but was able to connect to an open access point from a neighboring building. Overall, a nice experience, but not a memorable one. I attribute the downsides (light, bath) to the age of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Went to Cambridge for the Weekend
Business
Chantilly, VA
Aug 2, 2010

Terrible Sign, Nice Hotel

The giant, tacky, neon sign on top of this hotel worried me, both when I saw it in the pictures while I was booking online and when I was walking down Garden St. toward the hotel to check in. My worries were unfounded, however. Despite the sign, it really is a very nice hotel -- clean and very up-to-date, and in a wonderfully convenient location to Cambridge, Harvard, and the T red line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamshearer
Business
lancaster PA
Jul 6, 2010

Nice and Comfy

A nice hotel in a nice area - easily walking distance to several nice restaurants, bars and pizza shops. Also able to walk to the "T" or subway which easily puts you in downtown Boston within 10-15 minutes. Clean rooms and very nice staff. Only complaint would be that there was a $29/night charge to park the car. Would certainly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Legal Seafood was a very nice place for dinner in a nice evening stroll.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Been in Many rooms
Business
Little Rock, AR
May 15, 2010

Short,good service v

Just an overnight stay. No ice bucket, bathroom sink fixures loose, toilet "rocked" when sat upon and the housekeeping ignored the DO NOT DISTURB sign. All these small items keep me from giving a five star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everthing pretty close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NEWLY MARRIED ALWAYS CRAZY
Business
BOSTON, MA
Jan 1, 2010

MINI VACAY

JUST A NIGHT AWAY WITH MY HUSBAND NO CHILDREN. THE HOTEL WAS PERFECT LOCATION AND THE STAFF WAS HELPFUL. WE ENJOYED OUR MINI VACAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

FIRE AND ICE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top