$284 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 24, 2015

Sheraton Commander Hotel

3 stars
View map of 16 Garden Street, 16 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Commander Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shim
Ithaca, NY, USA
Sep 3, 2011

great for Harvard Square

A great location in Cambridge, MA. The hotel is excellent; the only reason we could afford to stay there was because of some kind of promo through Orbitz. I wish the bed did not have those stupid posters, though -- they are too easy to bump into at night. Also, Garden St. traffic gets very noisy early on on weekdays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Yenching Chinese restaurant (1326 Massachusetts Ave) is consistently very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stanford, CA
Feb 11, 2011

Great location, nice price

I was visiting local universities while I was there. Since I am a frequent Sheraton visitor, I was put in a room in the club level. The room was nice, pretty modern and spacious, although the bathroom was a bit cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is ok and very close, but the walk to Harvard sq is fast and easy and has a lot of more interesting choices there, with a better bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somerville Ma
Jan 12, 2011

Everything was fine

The hotel was more than comfortable and since Iwas staying because of a major snow storm approaching more than a good port in the storm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mossie on the road
Business
Dunlap, TN
Dec 9, 2010

Staying in Cambridge MA

We arrived at the hotel after a long day of travel from Europe with flight delays due to weather. We were tired, but made to feel welcomed and happy to be there. The elevators are a little small and slow, but they work. Our room was large and well appointed. The bathroom was well equipped, yet held the character of the building. The dinning - lounge area is nice. After the freshness of food in western Europe I was a little disappointed in my salad. There is a park across the street and Harvard Square is only a short walk. The beds were the best I've enjoyed in a long time. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many shops around Harvard Square with a variety of goods. Quality and prices vary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joleangel
Business
california
Nov 15, 2010

Seraton Commander

Great location and service. Restaurant was wonderful. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 20, 2010

Cool Cambridge Location

This hotel is right in the Harvard University area a quick walk away from the main commercial square and easy access to the Red line so that you could stay here even if you were working in Boston as the square is filled with street acts and interesting and strange people so I have always liked visiting the area. The room was roomy and spacious and wonderful comfortable bed but the bathroom was very crowded and you could not open the door without hitting the toilet. I had a small TV channel problem and the guest services guy went overboard trying to get it fixed, repeatedly calling me to give me a status on the situation. The breakfast is overpriced and the service was pretty bad - you had to ask for everything twice even though it was not particularly busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of choices in Harvard Square for both cheap and moderate fare that are more interesting than the hotel - also you see the students in their milieu like the Au Bon Pain where they shot many scenes from Good Will Hunting

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mith
Business
Amherst, MA
Aug 8, 2010

Nice hotel, though its age shows

Staff was friendly in my few interactions with them. The hotel is a short walk from Harvard Square, which was very convenient. Small, slow elevator lead me to my room, which was clean and decent-sized. I stayed two nights, and during both of them, the bath tub spewed (a small amount of) sewage at one point during the evening, which I had to wash away. Some of the lights, in particular the bathroom light, buzzes. The walls are quite thin, and any time someone opened the next door over, it sounded as if they were entering my room. I was surprised by the lack of free wifi at this day and age, but was able to connect to an open access point from a neighboring building. Overall, a nice experience, but not a memorable one. I attribute the downsides (light, bath) to the age of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Went to Cambridge for the Weekend
Business
Chantilly, VA
Aug 2, 2010

Terrible Sign, Nice Hotel

The giant, tacky, neon sign on top of this hotel worried me, both when I saw it in the pictures while I was booking online and when I was walking down Garden St. toward the hotel to check in. My worries were unfounded, however. Despite the sign, it really is a very nice hotel -- clean and very up-to-date, and in a wonderfully convenient location to Cambridge, Harvard, and the T red line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamshearer
Business
lancaster PA
Jul 6, 2010

Nice and Comfy

A nice hotel in a nice area - easily walking distance to several nice restaurants, bars and pizza shops. Also able to walk to the "T" or subway which easily puts you in downtown Boston within 10-15 minutes. Clean rooms and very nice staff. Only complaint would be that there was a $29/night charge to park the car. Would certainly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Legal Seafood was a very nice place for dinner in a nice evening stroll.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Been in Many rooms
Business
Little Rock, AR
May 15, 2010

Short,good service v

Just an overnight stay. No ice bucket, bathroom sink fixures loose, toilet "rocked" when sat upon and the housekeeping ignored the DO NOT DISTURB sign. All these small items keep me from giving a five star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everthing pretty close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NEWLY MARRIED ALWAYS CRAZY
Business
BOSTON, MA
Jan 1, 2010

MINI VACAY

JUST A NIGHT AWAY WITH MY HUSBAND NO CHILDREN. THE HOTEL WAS PERFECT LOCATION AND THE STAFF WAS HELPFUL. WE ENJOYED OUR MINI VACAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

FIRE AND ICE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top