$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Sheraton Commander Hotel

3 stars
16 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
36 reviews
Heart of Cambridge

This hotel is perfect for travelers wanting to visit Harvard University. The hotel is only a few... See full review

  • Flash Cutback
  • Jul 1, 2014
It was very impressive and good service

The room was very clean and comfortable, the service was very considerable. The breakfast was so... See full review

  • Happy BJ traveller
  • Sep 3, 2013
Come and stay at the transformed Sheraton Commander Hotel. Youre in for a great nights rest in one of our 173 newly redesigned yet classically styled guest rooms, featuring High Speed Internet Access, flat-panel LCD televisions, updated bathrooms and carpet, and the signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed with crisp, all-white bedding. Enjoy the clean, refreshed feel of our renovated hallways and stately lobby, elegant as ever with its marble floors and distinctive Colonial décor. Connect with friends and family at our recently installed Link@Sheraton experienced with Microsoft, offering complimentary Internet and free Wi-Fi, or lift your heart rate during downtime at our redesigned fitness center with brand-new equipment. Our 16 Garden Street Restaurant & Lounge offers a chic, updated feel with the same treasured emphasis on local ingredients and high-quality food and drink. Built in 1927, the Sheraton Commander Hotel has long been a landmark in Cambridges Historic Harvard Square. On the historic Cambridge Common, you will find unparalleled style and service near the site where George Washington took command of the Continental Army. Our Mount Vernon-inspired entrance is stately reminder of the areas rich culture and history, and our rooms are the perfect vantage point from which to experience the sights and sounds of Cambridge. Located on the north side of the Charles River, we are surrounded by Harvard University and just minutes from Lesley, Tufts, and MIT, as well as great shopping and dining. The friendly and knowledgeable staff will be happy to assist you in enjoying all that the city has to offer at the newly updated Sheraton Commander Hotel.

Hotel Map

42.3771 -71.1232
Area served
Brookline, Boston, Brockton, Braintree, Danvers, Framingham, Lowell, Lexington, Manchester, Quincy, Nashua, Norwood, Newton, Worcester, Peabody, Salem, Wellesley, Warwick
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan International Airport, (BOS), 5.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Commander Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sheraton Commander Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Video checkout
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Harvard University: 0.4 mi
  • Lavietes Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Bright Hockey Center: 0.6 mi
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Commander Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 36
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skyboo
Business
Bloomington, IN
Feb 6, 2013

Very comfortable!

You can't beat the soft pillows and bedding. Great sound-proofing of rooms, excellent location, and there were always taxis outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Au Bon Pain is open until 2:00 am!

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 20, 2010

Cool Cambridge Location

This hotel is right in the Harvard University area a quick walk away from the main commercial square and easy access to the Red line so that you could stay here even if you were working in Boston as the square is filled with street acts and interesting and strange people so I have always liked visiting the area. The room was roomy and spacious and wonderful comfortable bed but the bathroom was very crowded and you could not open the door without hitting the toilet. I had a small TV channel problem and the guest services guy went overboard trying to get it fixed, repeatedly calling me to give me a status on the situation. The breakfast is overpriced and the service was pretty bad - you had to ask for everything twice even though it was not particularly busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of choices in Harvard Square for both cheap and moderate fare that are more interesting than the hotel - also you see the students in their milieu like the Au Bon Pain where they shot many scenes from Good Will Hunting

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 4, 2009

A Most Pleasant Stay

I arrived early for a 1:00 business lunch, and I was happy to be able to check in at about 12:20.In the evening, after a long day of thinking about work, I very much enjoyed talking to the bartender, [...] (I think). His warmth and intelligence were most welcome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

An inexpensive and splendid concert at the Longy School of Music was only half a block from the hotel.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stanford, CA
Feb 11, 2011

Great location, nice price

I was visiting local universities while I was there. Since I am a frequent Sheraton visitor, I was put in a room in the club level. The room was nice, pretty modern and spacious, although the bathroom was a bit cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is ok and very close, but the walk to Harvard sq is fast and easy and has a lot of more interesting choices there, with a better bang for the buck.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somerville Ma
Jan 12, 2011

Everything was fine

The hotel was more than comfortable and since Iwas staying because of a major snow storm approaching more than a good port in the storm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DCTraveler2
Business
Washington
Jul 19, 2014

Nice hotel, but very expensive

It's a very nice hotel, well located. But the rates -- which are comparable with other Cambridge hotels -- are higher than even midtown Manhattan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Been in Many rooms
Business
Little Rock, AR
May 15, 2010

Short,good service v

Just an overnight stay. No ice bucket, bathroom sink fixures loose, toilet "rocked" when sat upon and the housekeeping ignored the DO NOT DISTURB sign. All these small items keep me from giving a five star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everthing pretty close.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Thatguy
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Just kind of blah

I expect a lot more for nearly 280/night. Place is dingy and in desparate need of a remodel. Room is small, not very well equipped, very slow (albeit free) wireless, and one of the noisiest heat/ac units i've ever heard. Will be shopping around much more next time i'm in cambridge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search