$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

Sheraton Commander Hotel

3 stars
16 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
57 reviews
Heart of Cambridge

This hotel is perfect for travelers wanting to visit Harvard University. The hotel is only a few... See full review

  • Flash Cutback
  • Jul 1, 2014
It was very impressive and good service

The room was very clean and comfortable, the service was very considerable. The breakfast was so... See full review

  • Happy BJ traveller
  • Sep 3, 2013
Come and stay at the transformed Sheraton Commander Hotel. Youre in for a great nights rest in one of our 173 newly redesigned yet classically styled guest rooms, featuring High Speed Internet Access, flat-panel LCD televisions, updated bathrooms and carpet, and the signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed with crisp, all-white bedding. Enjoy the clean, refreshed feel of our renovated hallways and stately lobby, elegant as ever with its marble floors and distinctive Colonial décor. Connect with friends and family at our recently installed Link@Sheraton experienced with Microsoft, offering complimentary Internet and free Wi-Fi, or lift your heart rate during downtime at our redesigned fitness center with brand-new equipment. Our 16 Garden Street Restaurant & Lounge offers a chic, updated feel with the same treasured emphasis on local ingredients and high-quality food and drink. Built in 1927, the Sheraton Commander Hotel has long been a landmark in Cambridges Historic Harvard Square. On the historic Cambridge Common, you will find unparalleled style and service near the site where George Washington took command of the Continental Army. Our Mount Vernon-inspired entrance is stately reminder of the areas rich culture and history, and our rooms are the perfect vantage point from which to experience the sights and sounds of Cambridge. Located on the north side of the Charles River, we are surrounded by Harvard University and just minutes from Lesley, Tufts, and MIT, as well as great shopping and dining. The friendly and knowledgeable staff will be happy to assist you in enjoying all that the city has to offer at the newly updated Sheraton Commander Hotel.

Sheraton Commander Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Video checkout
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Commander Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3771 -71.1232
Area served
Brookline, Boston, Brockton, Braintree, Danvers, Framingham, Lowell, Lexington, Manchester, Quincy, Nashua, Norwood, Newton, Worcester, Peabody, Salem, Wellesley, Warwick
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan International Airport, (BOS), 5.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Harvard University: 0.4 mi
  • Lavietes Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Bright Hockey Center: 0.6 mi
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Commander Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Thatguy
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Just kind of blah

I expect a lot more for nearly 280/night. Place is dingy and in desparate need of a remodel. Room is small, not very well equipped, very slow (albeit free) wireless, and one of the noisiest heat/ac units i've ever heard. Will be shopping around much more next time i'm in cambridge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mith
Amherst, MA
Aug 8, 2010

Nice hotel, though its age shows

Staff was friendly in my few interactions with them. The hotel is a short walk from Harvard Square, which was very convenient. Small, slow elevator lead me to my room, which was clean and decent-sized. I stayed two nights, and during both of them, the bath tub spewed (a small amount of) sewage at one point during the evening, which I had to wash away. Some of the lights, in particular the bathroom light, buzzes. The walls are quite thin, and any time someone opened the next door over, it sounded as if they were entering my room. I was surprised by the lack of free wifi at this day and age, but was able to connect to an open access point from a neighboring building. Overall, a nice experience, but not a memorable one. I attribute the downsides (light, bath) to the age of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Olivia Park
New York
Nov 25, 2013

old building, but excellent location

this is a very a old-fashioned hotel. the room was really clean, but the heater was super-loud. there was no minibar. the location is excellent - harvard yard is a 10 minute walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mith
Amherst, MA
Aug 8, 2010

Nice hotel, though its age shows

Staff was friendly in my few interactions with them. The hotel is a short walk from Harvard Square, which was very convenient. Small, slow elevator lead me to my room, which was clean and decent-sized. I stayed two nights, and during both of them, the bath tub spewed (a small amount of) sewage at one point during the evening, which I had to wash away. Some of the lights, in particular the bathroom light, buzzes. The walls are quite thin, and any time someone opened the next door over, it sounded as if they were entering my room. I was surprised by the lack of free wifi at this day and age, but was able to connect to an open access point from a neighboring building. Overall, a nice experience, but not a memorable one. I attribute the downsides (light, bath) to the age of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jChris
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Reunion Celebration

Room rate is way over-priced given the nature of in-room decor and layout, and in-room comfort features. Breakfast buffet was very good, but not overwhelming. Overall - atmosphere is old world and geriatric.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TrueBlue7
Westport, CT
Jun 24, 2013

Tired hotel

While staff were nice, and the food at a function I attended was good, my hotel room and the outside corridor had a very tired look. That's not to say the place was dirty, but the décor appeared rather jaded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cambridge, MA
Aug 25, 2009

Excellent Location; Comfortable Beds

We were visiting the school in Cambridge, and found this hotel to be in the prime location, minutes of walk to Harvard Square. On top of the excellent location, the beds and linen are top-quality, possibly the most comfortable I've ever experienced in a hotel room. There was also a flat screen LCD TV for leisure. In addition, we were pleasantly surprised by the large size of the room. All in all, if the hotel had free internet, it would've warranted a 5 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Went to Cambridge for the Weekend
Chantilly, VA
Aug 2, 2010

Terrible Sign, Nice Hotel

The giant, tacky, neon sign on top of this hotel worried me, both when I saw it in the pictures while I was booking online and when I was walking down Garden St. toward the hotel to check in. My worries were unfounded, however. Despite the sign, it really is a very nice hotel -- clean and very up-to-date, and in a wonderfully convenient location to Cambridge, Harvard, and the T red line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cambridge, MA
Aug 25, 2009

Excellent Location; Comfortable Beds

We were visiting the school in Cambridge, and found this hotel to be in the prime location, minutes of walk to Harvard Square. On top of the excellent location, the beds and linen are top-quality, possibly the most comfortable I've ever experienced in a hotel room. There was also a flat screen LCD TV for leisure. In addition, we were pleasantly surprised by the large size of the room. All in all, if the hotel had free internet, it would've warranted a 5 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cambridgegirl11
Parsippany-Troy Hills, NJ, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Good Times at the Sheraton Commander, Cambridge

I went to Cambridge, MA to visit friends from college and was delighted to stay at the Commander. The location is ideal for anyone visiting Harvard University, and better amenities and service could not be asked for. My Queen room was just the right size for a person traveling alone. The staff was very friendly and helpful, signing me up for the Starwood Preferred Guest Program and even allowing me to leave my luggage at the hotel as I continued around Cambridge on the day of my check-out. The Nubar Restaurant is also a great deal; I ate there for breakfast and it featured a lovely presentation of buffet-style foods at a reasonable cost. Compared to previous Sheratons in which I have stayed, the room was both larger and smaller - larger than the first in which I stayed (in London) and smaller than the second (also in London), but, as above, the perfect size for a single traveler. My room was elegantly appointed, with a very clean and comfortable bed, small but clean-lined bathroom, coffee/tea maker in the room, and internet hookup. Although I did not use the free high-speed internet, it is a useful and gracious amenity, as many luxury hotels charge for such service. The business center was useful for checking email and information about the area, and the staff was also helpful in this latter domain. The lobby of the hotel is stunning, with its comfortable seating area and white marble (to the best of my knowledge) columns and flooring. The only part of my stay that surprised me was how small the elevator on my side of the hotel was, and how unstable it seemed. I was a bit worried when I entered with my luggage the first time I went up to my room. But all was well in the end. Overall, I would recommend the Sheraton Commander as a four-star hotel in an ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visiting Harvard University is a truly wonderful experience, which everyone should enjoy! Soak in the academic grandeur while you can!

Back to menu Return to top