$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Sheraton Commander Hotel

3 stars
View map of 16 Garden Street, 16 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
36 reviews
Heart of Cambridge

This hotel is perfect for travelers wanting to visit Harvard University. The hotel is only a few... See full review

  • Flash Cutback
  • Jul 1, 2014
Nice hotel, but very expensive

It's a very nice hotel, well located. But the rates -- which are comparable with other Cambridge... See full review

  • DCTraveler2
  • Jul 19, 2014
Come and stay at the transformed Sheraton Commander Hotel. Youre in for a great nights rest in one of our 175 newly redesigned yet classically styled guest rooms, featuring complimentary High Speed Internet Access, flat-panel LCD televisions, updated bathrooms and carpet, and the signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper® Bed with crisp, all-white bedding. Enjoy the clean, refreshed feel of our renovated hallways and stately lobby, elegant as ever with its marble floors and distinctive Colonial décor. Connect with friends and family at our recently installed Link@Sheraton experienced with Microsoft, offering complimentary Internet and free Wi-Fi, or lift your heart rate during downtime at our redesigned fitness center with brand-new equipment. Our restaurant Nubar offers a chic, updated feel with the same treasured emphasis on local ingredients and high-quality food and drink. Built in 1927, the Sheraton Commander Hotel has long been a landmark in Cambridges Historic Harvard Square. On the historic Cambridge Common, you will find unparalleled style and service near the site where George Washington took command of the Continental Army. Our Mount Vernon-inspired entrance is a stately reminder of the areas rich culture and history, and our rooms are the perfect vantage point from which to experience the sights and sounds of Cambridge. Located on the north side of the Charles River, we are surrounded by Harvard University and just minutes from Lesley, Tufts, and MIT, as well as great shopping and dining. The friendly and knowledgeable staff will be happy to assist you in enjoying all that the city has to offer at the newly updated Sheraton Commander Hotel.

Top hotels

Sheraton Commander Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe

Nearby points of interest

  • Harvard University: 0.4 mi
  • Lavietes Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Bright Hockey Center: 0.6 mi
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 2 mi

Dining

Nubar
Nubar offers outstanding New England cuisine in an intimate, elegant setting. Emphasizing a comfortable bar and dining experience, this chic hangout serves food that reflects its surrounding neighborhood: smart, seasonal, and approachable.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Commander Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skyboo
Business
Bloomington, IN
Feb 6, 2013

Very comfortable!

You can't beat the soft pillows and bedding. Great sound-proofing of rooms, excellent location, and there were always taxis outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Au Bon Pain is open until 2:00 am!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
APtweacher
Business
Hollywood, Florida
Jul 5, 2013

Lovely relaxed visit with daughter

The Sheraton Commander staff was very gracious and helpful, giving us clear, easy directions to follow for each excursion. We were amazed that the hotel was as accessible and convenient to both the T and the highway. Usually we avoid the city, but found this location to be perfect. Naturally, the room was lovely, comfortable and quiet. This was one of the few hotels in which I have ever slept well. We definitely will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The SOWA Flea Market on Harrison Ave. each Sunday morning was fun and simple to get to on the Red Line of the T. It was a fun way to spend a couple hours browsing crafts, antiques, and farmers' produce.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy BJ traveller
Business
Beijing
Sep 3, 2013

It was very impressive and good service

The room was very clean and comfortable, the service was very considerable. The breakfast was so good and condierate. The location is also very good, near Harverd University and the subway. Very nice and valuable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canadian
Business
Ontario, Canada
Aug 31, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

This hotel was very clean... comfortable...nice...and superb friendly staff! It made my trip wonderful. I'm going to consider to go back there in my next visit to Cambridge. Excellent location! just a few minutes walk to everything we wanted to do,even though little bit noisy on the street side at the midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Aug 23, 2009

Absolutely PERFECT

Great location, spotless, superb service. It is THE place to stay in Harvard Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the T

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KT68
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Great value for a wonderful historic hotel in Harvard Square

Rooms were really nice. Free wifi. Everything has been updated - I read some of the previous reviews and I believe they had to have been made before the remodel because we found everything to be clean and new. The hotel is in an amazing location on a side street just off Harvard Square. Short walk to the Red Line T station. 30.00 for parking is steep, but you can park for free all day and night on Brattle street just behind the hotel and it's very safe. A new restaurant has recently opened in the hotel which is great. You can grab last call here and take it to your room or chill and watch the Red Sox game at the bar. We only had the breakfast buffet here so I can't judge dinner, but it was very good. Good omelets, fresh fruit. Fresh Juice. Very nice. Would absolutely stay here again. At 139/night you can not get a better deal in Boston. That is prepay rate which I would recommend - it jumped up to 300 for a last minute Saturday night extension which I did not do. Probably not the best hotel for children - no pool, the elevators are small for strollers, etc. Definitely more of an adult vibe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free all day and all night parking on Brattle Street right behind the hotel, so no need to pay 30/night for parking. Very safe. Short walk to hotel and worth it. Saved me 100.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 7, 2008

Convenience and Comfort

We find this hotel to be extremely comfortable and pleasant. Plus, it's very close to our daughter's graduate school (the reason for our trip). However, if we're lucky, we can treat our stay there like a mini-vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's a short walk to restaurants and museums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shim
Business
Ithaca, NY, USA
Sep 3, 2011

great for Harvard Square

A great location in Cambridge, MA. The hotel is excellent; the only reason we could afford to stay there was because of some kind of promo through Orbitz. I wish the bed did not have those stupid posters, though -- they are too easy to bump into at night. Also, Garden St. traffic gets very noisy early on on weekdays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Yenching Chinese restaurant (1326 Massachusetts Ave) is consistently very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joleangel
Business
california
Nov 15, 2010

Seraton Commander

Great location and service. Restaurant was wonderful. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flash Cutback
Business
Northern New Jersey
Jul 1, 2014

Heart of Cambridge

This hotel is perfect for travelers wanting to visit Harvard University. The hotel is only a few short blocks away from the campus. It has valet parking, free wifi and a courteous staff. The room was quiet & comfortable. There is an excercise gym on the first floor with three treadmills, free weights and several stationary bikes- small but decent. This hotel exceeded my daughter's and my expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top