$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Sheraton Commander Hotel

3 stars
16 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
56 reviews
Heart of Cambridge

This hotel is perfect for travelers wanting to visit Harvard University. The hotel is only a few... See full review

  • Flash Cutback
  • Jul 1, 2014
It was very impressive and good service

The room was very clean and comfortable, the service was very considerable. The breakfast was so... See full review

  • Happy BJ traveller
  • Sep 3, 2013
Come and stay at the transformed Sheraton Commander Hotel. Youre in for a great nights rest in one of our 173 newly redesigned yet classically styled guest rooms, featuring High Speed Internet Access, flat-panel LCD televisions, updated bathrooms and carpet, and the signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed with crisp, all-white bedding. Enjoy the clean, refreshed feel of our renovated hallways and stately lobby, elegant as ever with its marble floors and distinctive Colonial décor. Connect with friends and family at our recently installed Link@Sheraton experienced with Microsoft, offering complimentary Internet and free Wi-Fi, or lift your heart rate during downtime at our redesigned fitness center with brand-new equipment. Our 16 Garden Street Restaurant & Lounge offers a chic, updated feel with the same treasured emphasis on local ingredients and high-quality food and drink. Built in 1927, the Sheraton Commander Hotel has long been a landmark in Cambridges Historic Harvard Square. On the historic Cambridge Common, you will find unparalleled style and service near the site where George Washington took command of the Continental Army. Our Mount Vernon-inspired entrance is stately reminder of the areas rich culture and history, and our rooms are the perfect vantage point from which to experience the sights and sounds of Cambridge. Located on the north side of the Charles River, we are surrounded by Harvard University and just minutes from Lesley, Tufts, and MIT, as well as great shopping and dining. The friendly and knowledgeable staff will be happy to assist you in enjoying all that the city has to offer at the newly updated Sheraton Commander Hotel.

Sheraton Commander Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Video checkout
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Commander Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.3771 -71.1232
Area served
Brookline, Boston, Brockton, Braintree, Danvers, Framingham, Lowell, Lexington, Manchester, Quincy, Nashua, Norwood, Newton, Worcester, Peabody, Salem, Wellesley, Warwick
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan International Airport, (BOS), 5.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Harvard University: 0.4 mi
  • Lavietes Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Bright Hockey Center: 0.6 mi
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Commander Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canadian
Ontario, Canada
Aug 31, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

This hotel was very clean... comfortable...nice...and superb friendly staff! It made my trip wonderful. I'm going to consider to go back there in my next visit to Cambridge. Excellent location! just a few minutes walk to everything we wanted to do,even though little bit noisy on the street side at the midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canadian
Ontario, Canada
Aug 31, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

This hotel was very clean... comfortable...nice...and superb friendly staff! It made my trip wonderful. I'm going to consider to go back there in my next visit to Cambridge. Excellent location! just a few minutes walk to everything we wanted to do,even though little bit noisy on the street side at the midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern California
May 26, 2011

Great Hotel Close to Harvard Square

Our room was extremely comfortable and attractive in a sophisticated way. Its location was convenient but also a little out of the craziness in the Square, across from the peaceful Common and on the border of a gorgeous residencial neighborhood which provided enjoyable walks and a few special and unique restaurants. Only wish that the hotel's restaurant had a "menu" selection for breakfast rather than a generous and delicious buffet that created the desire to overeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trattoria Pulcinella is a fantastic little italian restaurant located .6 miles from the Sheraton. It was delicious, well-priced and the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern California
May 26, 2011

Great Hotel Close to Harvard Square

Our room was extremely comfortable and attractive in a sophisticated way. Its location was convenient but also a little out of the craziness in the Square, across from the peaceful Common and on the border of a gorgeous residencial neighborhood which provided enjoyable walks and a few special and unique restaurants. Only wish that the hotel's restaurant had a "menu" selection for breakfast rather than a generous and delicious buffet that created the desire to overeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trattoria Pulcinella is a fantastic little italian restaurant located .6 miles from the Sheraton. It was delicious, well-priced and the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stanford, CA
Feb 11, 2011

Great location, nice price

I was visiting local universities while I was there. Since I am a frequent Sheraton visitor, I was put in a room in the club level. The room was nice, pretty modern and spacious, although the bathroom was a bit cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is ok and very close, but the walk to Harvard sq is fast and easy and has a lot of more interesting choices there, with a better bang for the buck.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stanford, CA
Feb 11, 2011

Great location, nice price

I was visiting local universities while I was there. Since I am a frequent Sheraton visitor, I was put in a room in the club level. The room was nice, pretty modern and spacious, although the bathroom was a bit cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is ok and very close, but the walk to Harvard sq is fast and easy and has a lot of more interesting choices there, with a better bang for the buck.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somerville Ma
Jan 12, 2011

Everything was fine

The hotel was more than comfortable and since Iwas staying because of a major snow storm approaching more than a good port in the storm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somerville Ma
Jan 12, 2011

Everything was fine

The hotel was more than comfortable and since Iwas staying because of a major snow storm approaching more than a good port in the storm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mossie on the road
Dunlap, TN
Dec 9, 2010

Staying in Cambridge MA

We arrived at the hotel after a long day of travel from Europe with flight delays due to weather. We were tired, but made to feel welcomed and happy to be there. The elevators are a little small and slow, but they work. Our room was large and well appointed. The bathroom was well equipped, yet held the character of the building. The dinning - lounge area is nice. After the freshness of food in western Europe I was a little disappointed in my salad. There is a park across the street and Harvard Square is only a short walk. The beds were the best I've enjoyed in a long time. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many shops around Harvard Square with a variety of goods. Quality and prices vary.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mossie on the road
Dunlap, TN
Dec 9, 2010

Staying in Cambridge MA

We arrived at the hotel after a long day of travel from Europe with flight delays due to weather. We were tired, but made to feel welcomed and happy to be there. The elevators are a little small and slow, but they work. Our room was large and well appointed. The bathroom was well equipped, yet held the character of the building. The dinning - lounge area is nice. After the freshness of food in western Europe I was a little disappointed in my salad. There is a park across the street and Harvard Square is only a short walk. The beds were the best I've enjoyed in a long time. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many shops around Harvard Square with a variety of goods. Quality and prices vary.

Back to menu Return to top