$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Sheraton Commander Hotel

3 stars
16 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
36 reviews
Heart of Cambridge

This hotel is perfect for travelers wanting to visit Harvard University. The hotel is only a few... See full review

  • Flash Cutback
  • Jul 1, 2014
It was very impressive and good service

The room was very clean and comfortable, the service was very considerable. The breakfast was so... See full review

  • Happy BJ traveller
  • Sep 3, 2013
Come and stay at the transformed Sheraton Commander Hotel. Youre in for a great nights rest in one of our 173 newly redesigned yet classically styled guest rooms, featuring High Speed Internet Access, flat-panel LCD televisions, updated bathrooms and carpet, and the signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed with crisp, all-white bedding. Enjoy the clean, refreshed feel of our renovated hallways and stately lobby, elegant as ever with its marble floors and distinctive Colonial décor. Connect with friends and family at our recently installed Link@Sheraton experienced with Microsoft, offering complimentary Internet and free Wi-Fi, or lift your heart rate during downtime at our redesigned fitness center with brand-new equipment. Our 16 Garden Street Restaurant & Lounge offers a chic, updated feel with the same treasured emphasis on local ingredients and high-quality food and drink. Built in 1927, the Sheraton Commander Hotel has long been a landmark in Cambridges Historic Harvard Square. On the historic Cambridge Common, you will find unparalleled style and service near the site where George Washington took command of the Continental Army. Our Mount Vernon-inspired entrance is stately reminder of the areas rich culture and history, and our rooms are the perfect vantage point from which to experience the sights and sounds of Cambridge. Located on the north side of the Charles River, we are surrounded by Harvard University and just minutes from Lesley, Tufts, and MIT, as well as great shopping and dining. The friendly and knowledgeable staff will be happy to assist you in enjoying all that the city has to offer at the newly updated Sheraton Commander Hotel.

Hotel Map

42.3771 -71.1232
Area served
Brookline, Boston, Brockton, Braintree, Danvers, Framingham, Lowell, Lexington, Manchester, Quincy, Nashua, Norwood, Newton, Worcester, Peabody, Salem, Wellesley, Warwick
Nearby airports
General Edward Lawrence Logan International Airport, (BOS), 5.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Commander Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Sheraton Commander Hotel Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Video checkout
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Harvard University: 0.4 mi
  • Lavietes Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Bright Hockey Center: 0.6 mi
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Commander Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thincat
Business
morehead, Kentucky
Jun 1, 2012

good choice

overall very good experience: good location, short walk to Harvard Square and metro, classic style, friendly staff, comfortable bed, free internet in the room. just one complaint, they should put glass cups in bathroom instead of cheap plastic ones, which downgrade the hotel impression and not eco-friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
serious jet lag
Business
Beijing, China
May 8, 2012

clean sheets, friendly staff

really friendly staff handed us very helpful guideliness for location restaurants. sheets smells nice and carpet is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

5 minutes to Harvard Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Thatguy
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Just kind of blah

I expect a lot more for nearly 280/night. Place is dingy and in desparate need of a remodel. Room is small, not very well equipped, very slow (albeit free) wireless, and one of the noisiest heat/ac units i've ever heard. Will be shopping around much more next time i'm in cambridge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alexp
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

So nice

The location is prime, close to the heart of Harvard Sq., and the hotel was nice to upgrade our room including a classy breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the coffee house / restaurant called "the Algiers" in Harvard Square for some great falafel and Turkish coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jChris
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Reunion Celebration

Room rate is way over-priced given the nature of in-room decor and layout, and in-room comfort features. Breakfast buffet was very good, but not overwhelming. Overall - atmosphere is old world and geriatric.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cambridgegirl11
Business
Parsippany-Troy Hills, NJ, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Good Times at the Sheraton Commander, Cambridge

I went to Cambridge, MA to visit friends from college and was delighted to stay at the Commander. The location is ideal for anyone visiting Harvard University, and better amenities and service could not be asked for. My Queen room was just the right size for a person traveling alone. The staff was very friendly and helpful, signing me up for the Starwood Preferred Guest Program and even allowing me to leave my luggage at the hotel as I continued around Cambridge on the day of my check-out. The Nubar Restaurant is also a great deal; I ate there for breakfast and it featured a lovely presentation of buffet-style foods at a reasonable cost. Compared to previous Sheratons in which I have stayed, the room was both larger and smaller - larger than the first in which I stayed (in London) and smaller than the second (also in London), but, as above, the perfect size for a single traveler. My room was elegantly appointed, with a very clean and comfortable bed, small but clean-lined bathroom, coffee/tea maker in the room, and internet hookup. Although I did not use the free high-speed internet, it is a useful and gracious amenity, as many luxury hotels charge for such service. The business center was useful for checking email and information about the area, and the staff was also helpful in this latter domain. The lobby of the hotel is stunning, with its comfortable seating area and white marble (to the best of my knowledge) columns and flooring. The only part of my stay that surprised me was how small the elevator on my side of the hotel was, and how unstable it seemed. I was a bit worried when I entered with my luggage the first time I went up to my room. But all was well in the end. Overall, I would recommend the Sheraton Commander as a four-star hotel in an ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visiting Harvard University is a truly wonderful experience, which everyone should enjoy! Soak in the academic grandeur while you can!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KT68
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Great value for a wonderful historic hotel in Harvard Square

Rooms were really nice. Free wifi. Everything has been updated - I read some of the previous reviews and I believe they had to have been made before the remodel because we found everything to be clean and new. The hotel is in an amazing location on a side street just off Harvard Square. Short walk to the Red Line T station. 30.00 for parking is steep, but you can park for free all day and night on Brattle street just behind the hotel and it's very safe. A new restaurant has recently opened in the hotel which is great. You can grab last call here and take it to your room or chill and watch the Red Sox game at the bar. We only had the breakfast buffet here so I can't judge dinner, but it was very good. Good omelets, fresh fruit. Fresh Juice. Very nice. Would absolutely stay here again. At 139/night you can not get a better deal in Boston. That is prepay rate which I would recommend - it jumped up to 300 for a last minute Saturday night extension which I did not do. Probably not the best hotel for children - no pool, the elevators are small for strollers, etc. Definitely more of an adult vibe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free all day and all night parking on Brattle Street right behind the hotel, so no need to pay 30/night for parking. Very safe. Short walk to hotel and worth it. Saved me 100.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shim
Business
Ithaca, NY, USA
Sep 3, 2011

great for Harvard Square

A great location in Cambridge, MA. The hotel is excellent; the only reason we could afford to stay there was because of some kind of promo through Orbitz. I wish the bed did not have those stupid posters, though -- they are too easy to bump into at night. Also, Garden St. traffic gets very noisy early on on weekdays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Yenching Chinese restaurant (1326 Massachusetts Ave) is consistently very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canadian
Business
Ontario, Canada
Aug 31, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

This hotel was very clean... comfortable...nice...and superb friendly staff! It made my trip wonderful. I'm going to consider to go back there in my next visit to Cambridge. Excellent location! just a few minutes walk to everything we wanted to do,even though little bit noisy on the street side at the midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
May 26, 2011

Great Hotel Close to Harvard Square

Our room was extremely comfortable and attractive in a sophisticated way. Its location was convenient but also a little out of the craziness in the Square, across from the peaceful Common and on the border of a gorgeous residencial neighborhood which provided enjoyable walks and a few special and unique restaurants. Only wish that the hotel's restaurant had a "menu" selection for breakfast rather than a generous and delicious buffet that created the desire to overeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trattoria Pulcinella is a fantastic little italian restaurant located .6 miles from the Sheraton. It was delicious, well-priced and the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top