$223 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Sheraton Commander Hotel

3 stars
View map of 16 Garden Street, 16 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Commander Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
serious jet lag
Business
Beijing, China
May 8, 2012

clean sheets, friendly staff

really friendly staff handed us very helpful guideliness for location restaurants. sheets smells nice and carpet is clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

5 minutes to Harvard Square

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Thatguy
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Just kind of blah

I expect a lot more for nearly 280/night. Place is dingy and in desparate need of a remodel. Room is small, not very well equipped, very slow (albeit free) wireless, and one of the noisiest heat/ac units i've ever heard. Will be shopping around much more next time i'm in cambridge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alexp
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 4, 2012

So nice

The location is prime, close to the heart of Harvard Sq., and the hotel was nice to upgrade our room including a classy breakfast in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the coffee house / restaurant called "the Algiers" in Harvard Square for some great falafel and Turkish coffee.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cambridgegirl11
Business
Parsippany-Troy Hills, NJ, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Good Times at the Sheraton Commander, Cambridge

I went to Cambridge, MA to visit friends from college and was delighted to stay at the Commander. The location is ideal for anyone visiting Harvard University, and better amenities and service could not be asked for. My Queen room was just the right size for a person traveling alone. The staff was very friendly and helpful, signing me up for the Starwood Preferred Guest Program and even allowing me to leave my luggage at the hotel as I continued around Cambridge on the day of my check-out. The Nubar Restaurant is also a great deal; I ate there for breakfast and it featured a lovely presentation of buffet-style foods at a reasonable cost. Compared to previous Sheratons in which I have stayed, the room was both larger and smaller - larger than the first in which I stayed (in London) and smaller than the second (also in London), but, as above, the perfect size for a single traveler. My room was elegantly appointed, with a very clean and comfortable bed, small but clean-lined bathroom, coffee/tea maker in the room, and internet hookup. Although I did not use the free high-speed internet, it is a useful and gracious amenity, as many luxury hotels charge for such service. The business center was useful for checking email and information about the area, and the staff was also helpful in this latter domain. The lobby of the hotel is stunning, with its comfortable seating area and white marble (to the best of my knowledge) columns and flooring. The only part of my stay that surprised me was how small the elevator on my side of the hotel was, and how unstable it seemed. I was a bit worried when I entered with my luggage the first time I went up to my room. But all was well in the end. Overall, I would recommend the Sheraton Commander as a four-star hotel in an ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visiting Harvard University is a truly wonderful experience, which everyone should enjoy! Soak in the academic grandeur while you can!

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KT68
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Great value for a wonderful historic hotel in Harvard Square

Rooms were really nice. Free wifi. Everything has been updated - I read some of the previous reviews and I believe they had to have been made before the remodel because we found everything to be clean and new. The hotel is in an amazing location on a side street just off Harvard Square. Short walk to the Red Line T station. 30.00 for parking is steep, but you can park for free all day and night on Brattle street just behind the hotel and it's very safe. A new restaurant has recently opened in the hotel which is great. You can grab last call here and take it to your room or chill and watch the Red Sox game at the bar. We only had the breakfast buffet here so I can't judge dinner, but it was very good. Good omelets, fresh fruit. Fresh Juice. Very nice. Would absolutely stay here again. At 139/night you can not get a better deal in Boston. That is prepay rate which I would recommend - it jumped up to 300 for a last minute Saturday night extension which I did not do. Probably not the best hotel for children - no pool, the elevators are small for strollers, etc. Definitely more of an adult vibe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free all day and all night parking on Brattle Street right behind the hotel, so no need to pay 30/night for parking. Very safe. Short walk to hotel and worth it. Saved me 100.00.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shim
Business
Ithaca, NY, USA
Sep 3, 2011

great for Harvard Square

A great location in Cambridge, MA. The hotel is excellent; the only reason we could afford to stay there was because of some kind of promo through Orbitz. I wish the bed did not have those stupid posters, though -- they are too easy to bump into at night. Also, Garden St. traffic gets very noisy early on on weekdays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Yenching Chinese restaurant (1326 Massachusetts Ave) is consistently very good.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canadian
Business
Ontario, Canada
Aug 31, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

This hotel was very clean... comfortable...nice...and superb friendly staff! It made my trip wonderful. I'm going to consider to go back there in my next visit to Cambridge. Excellent location! just a few minutes walk to everything we wanted to do,even though little bit noisy on the street side at the midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
May 26, 2011

Great Hotel Close to Harvard Square

Our room was extremely comfortable and attractive in a sophisticated way. Its location was convenient but also a little out of the craziness in the Square, across from the peaceful Common and on the border of a gorgeous residencial neighborhood which provided enjoyable walks and a few special and unique restaurants. Only wish that the hotel's restaurant had a "menu" selection for breakfast rather than a generous and delicious buffet that created the desire to overeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Trattoria Pulcinella is a fantastic little italian restaurant located .6 miles from the Sheraton. It was delicious, well-priced and the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stanford, CA
Feb 11, 2011

Great location, nice price

I was visiting local universities while I was there. Since I am a frequent Sheraton visitor, I was put in a room in the club level. The room was nice, pretty modern and spacious, although the bathroom was a bit cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is ok and very close, but the walk to Harvard sq is fast and easy and has a lot of more interesting choices there, with a better bang for the buck.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somerville Ma
Jan 12, 2011

Everything was fine

The hotel was more than comfortable and since Iwas staying because of a major snow storm approaching more than a good port in the storm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top