$223 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Sheraton Commander Hotel

3 stars
View map of 16 Garden Street, 16 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
34 reviews
Heart of Cambridge

This hotel is perfect for travelers wanting to visit Harvard University. The hotel is only a few... See full review

  • Flash Cutback
  • Jul 1, 2014
Nice hotel, but very expensive

It's a very nice hotel, well located. But the rates -- which are comparable with other Cambridge... See full review

  • DCTraveler2
  • Jul 19, 2014
Come and stay at the transformed Sheraton Commander Hotel. Youre in for a great nights rest in one of our 175 newly redesigned yet classically styled guest rooms, featuring complimentary High Speed Internet Access, flat-panel LCD televisions, updated bathrooms and carpet, and the signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper® Bed with crisp, all-white bedding. Enjoy the clean, refreshed feel of our renovated hallways and stately lobby, elegant as ever with its marble floors and distinctive Colonial décor. Connect with friends and family at our recently installed Link@Sheraton experienced with Microsoft, offering complimentary Internet and free Wi-Fi, or lift your heart rate during downtime at our redesigned fitness center with brand-new equipment. Our restaurant Nubar offers a chic, updated feel with the same treasured emphasis on local ingredients and high-quality food and drink. Built in 1927, the Sheraton Commander Hotel has long been a landmark in Cambridges Historic Harvard Square. On the historic Cambridge Common, you will find unparalleled style and service near the site where George Washington took command of the Continental Army. Our Mount Vernon-inspired entrance is a stately reminder of the areas rich culture and history, and our rooms are the perfect vantage point from which to experience the sights and sounds of Cambridge. Located on the north side of the Charles River, we are surrounded by Harvard University and just minutes from Lesley, Tufts, and MIT, as well as great shopping and dining. The friendly and knowledgeable staff will be happy to assist you in enjoying all that the city has to offer at the newly updated Sheraton Commander Hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Commander Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Sheraton Commander Hotel Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Jogging track
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe

Nearby points of interest

  • Harvard University: 0.4 mi
  • Lavietes Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Bright Hockey Center: 0.6 mi
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 2 mi

Dining

Nubar
Nubar offers outstanding New England cuisine in an intimate, elegant setting. Emphasizing a comfortable bar and dining experience, this chic hangout serves food that reflects its surrounding neighborhood: smart, seasonal, and approachable.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Commander Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KT68
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 3, 2011

Great value for a wonderful historic hotel in Harvard Square

Rooms were really nice. Free wifi. Everything has been updated - I read some of the previous reviews and I believe they had to have been made before the remodel because we found everything to be clean and new. The hotel is in an amazing location on a side street just off Harvard Square. Short walk to the Red Line T station. 30.00 for parking is steep, but you can park for free all day and night on Brattle street just behind the hotel and it's very safe. A new restaurant has recently opened in the hotel which is great. You can grab last call here and take it to your room or chill and watch the Red Sox game at the bar. We only had the breakfast buffet here so I can't judge dinner, but it was very good. Good omelets, fresh fruit. Fresh Juice. Very nice. Would absolutely stay here again. At 139/night you can not get a better deal in Boston. That is prepay rate which I would recommend - it jumped up to 300 for a last minute Saturday night extension which I did not do. Probably not the best hotel for children - no pool, the elevators are small for strollers, etc. Definitely more of an adult vibe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free all day and all night parking on Brattle Street right behind the hotel, so no need to pay 30/night for parking. Very safe. Short walk to hotel and worth it. Saved me 100.00.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DCTraveler2
Business
Washington
Jul 19, 2014

Nice hotel, but very expensive

It's a very nice hotel, well located. But the rates -- which are comparable with other Cambridge hotels -- are higher than even midtown Manhattan!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flash Cutback
Business
Northern New Jersey
Jul 1, 2014

Heart of Cambridge

This hotel is perfect for travelers wanting to visit Harvard University. The hotel is only a few short blocks away from the campus. It has valet parking, free wifi and a courteous staff. The room was quiet & comfortable. There is an excercise gym on the first floor with three treadmills, free weights and several stationary bikes- small but decent. This hotel exceeded my daughter's and my expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean PH
Business
Mountain View, California
Jan 2, 2014

Better than I expected

Given the price and location, I was pleasantly surprised by the Sheraton Commander. The only downsides were that the heater/AC was loud, and the cleaning staff were aggressive in throwing out some items that weren't trash: hookah pen, 3/4 full bottle of wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Olivia Park
Business
New York
Nov 25, 2013

old building, but excellent location

this is a very a old-fashioned hotel. the room was really clean, but the heater was super-loud. there was no minibar. the location is excellent - harvard yard is a 10 minute walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy BJ traveller
Business
Beijing
Sep 3, 2013

It was very impressive and good service

The room was very clean and comfortable, the service was very considerable. The breakfast was so good and condierate. The location is also very good, near Harverd University and the subway. Very nice and valuable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
APtweacher
Business
Hollywood, Florida
Jul 5, 2013

Lovely relaxed visit with daughter

The Sheraton Commander staff was very gracious and helpful, giving us clear, easy directions to follow for each excursion. We were amazed that the hotel was as accessible and convenient to both the T and the highway. Usually we avoid the city, but found this location to be perfect. Naturally, the room was lovely, comfortable and quiet. This was one of the few hotels in which I have ever slept well. We definitely will return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

The SOWA Flea Market on Harrison Ave. each Sunday morning was fun and simple to get to on the Red Line of the T. It was a fun way to spend a couple hours browsing crafts, antiques, and farmers' produce.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TrueBlue7
Business
Westport, CT
Jun 24, 2013

Tired hotel

While staff were nice, and the food at a function I attended was good, my hotel room and the outside corridor had a very tired look. That's not to say the place was dirty, but the décor appeared rather jaded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NE Explorer
Business
Rockville, MD
Apr 30, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Was overall very positive. Friendly staff, large clean room, and a very nice location only a 5 minute walk from Harvard Square. The only negative was that our room faced the front of the hotel (and main street) and the windows were not as soundproof as we would have liked, so there was some traffic and pedestrian noise. The Nubar Restaurant at the hotel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Harvard Square and the Red Line of the "T." The hotel is convenient to a number of nice restaurants in Harvard Square and to downtown Boston if you want to dine in Beacon Hill or the North End.

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skyboo
Business
Bloomington, IN
Feb 6, 2013

Very comfortable!

You can't beat the soft pillows and bedding. Great sound-proofing of rooms, excellent location, and there were always taxis outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Au Bon Pain is open until 2:00 am!

Review of Sheraton Commander Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thincat
Business
morehead, Kentucky
Jun 1, 2012

good choice

overall very good experience: good location, short walk to Harvard Square and metro, classic style, friendly staff, comfortable bed, free internet in the room. just one complaint, they should put glass cups in bathroom instead of cheap plastic ones, which downgrade the hotel impression and not eco-friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top