$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Royal Sonesta Boston

4 stars
View map of 40 Edwin H Land Boulevard, Cambridge, MA 02142

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
312 reviews
Great stay in Cambridge!

This hotel aims to please. I arrived extremely early for check-in (11am) and was told that my room... See full review

  • DNA
  • Jun 19, 2015
Great Hotel

Great hotel. Rooms were clean and spacious and staff were very helpful. We had a room that had... See full review

  • Matthew C.
  • Apr 23, 2015

Located on the Charles River, the hotel places you directly between Boston and Harvard with quick city access in an idyllic setting. Equipped with many in-room and conference technologies, the hotel is perfect for business travelers and tourists wanting to soak up the most of Boston. The 400 well-appointed rooms overlook either the river, Boston or Cambridge and guests can dine riverside in one of two restaurants.

Rooms

The hotel's 400 non-smoking rooms offer spectacular views of Cambridge, Boston or the Charles River. All king or double beds come appointed with a hypoallergenic, European-style down comforter. A modern work area offers complimentary Wi-Fi or wired Internet, ISDN capabilities and two dual-line phones. Enjoy in-room movies and video games on a high-definition TV. The hotel has 19 suites with living rooms or parlor areas. Two premier suites showcase the hotel's modern art collection.

Property features
This AAA, four-diamond, award-winning hotel offers modern luxuries and a stunning location along the Charles River. The bright lobby with mid-century modern-like furnishings showcases some of the hotel's vast modern art collection featured throughout the property. Guests enjoy access to a 24-hour, full-service fitness center with state-of-the-art workout equipment, plus a heated pool with retractable roof and sun deck. Seasonal patio dining is available at the hotel's two acclaimed restaurants, ArtBar and Dante.

Highlights
  • Gorgeous views overlooking the Charles River, Boston and Cambridge
  • Two riverfront eateries, ArtBar and Dante, serving American and Italian cuisine
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet, both wired and Wi-Fi
  • 24-hour health club and atrium-style pool with a retractable roof and sun deck
Nearby attractions
  • Harvard University (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Paul Revere House (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Swan Boats at Public Garden (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Fenway Park (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
Transportation
  • Logan International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Closest train stops: Green Line (Lechmere) and Red Line (Kendall Square)
  • Valet and self parking (fees apply)
Policies

  • Parking costs $38 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Royal Sonesta Boston also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Royal Sonesta Boston Rooms

Cambridge View Dbl/Dbl Hearing I
Cambridge View-2 Dbls-Hearing Impaired Equipped
Accessible River View King Batht
ADA Charles River View-Boston skyline-King Bed- Bathtub with handrails - Free WIFI
Accessible River View King Showe
ADA River View-King Bed-Roll-In Shower- Free WiFI
River View King Hearing Impaired
ADA River View-King-Hearing Impaired Equipped Free WiFI View of Charles River-Boston Skyline
Cambridge View Two Queens
Cambridge View with Two Queens
River View 1 Queen Bed
Riverview - 1 queen bed - 170 Sq Ft Free Wi-Fi - ideal for single traveler
Cambridge View King
Cambridge View - 1 King Bed - Free Wi-Fi 250-275 sq ft - clock radio - safe
Cambridge View Two Doubles
Cambridge View - Two Double Beds - Free Wi-Fi 250-275 sq ft - clock radio - safe
River View King
River view - 1 King - Free Wi-Fi View of Charles River- Boston Skyline
River View Two Queens
River view - 2 Queens - Free Wi-Fi View of Charles River- Boston Skyline
Executive Suite King River View
Exec Suite King River View - Free Wi-Fi 450 sq ft - living room - dining table
Accessible Cambridge View King B
ADA Cambridge View-King Bed-Bathtub with Handrails - Free Wifi
Accessible Cambridge View King S
ADA Cambridge View-King Bed-Roll-In Shower - Free Wifi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Jogging track
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 0.9 mi
  • Harvard University: 2.3 mi
  • Lavietes Pavilion: 2.6 mi
  • Bright Hockey Center: 2.7 mi

Dining

ArtBar
ArtBar features innovative refined seasonal American cuisine-offering small and large plates perfect for sharing mixing and matching. ArtBar is open for breakfast/lunch/dinner-Closed for Dinner - will reopen Mar 3 Tues-Sat but will remain closed Sun-Mon.
Dante
Classic Italian cuisine with a twist. Dante has a selection of plates that evoke the serenity of the Mediterranean.
In-room dining
Room Service from 6AM-11PM - Breakfast 530am-1130am Sun-Fri 530am-12noon Sat - All Day Dining 1130am-11pm - Dinner 5pm-11pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta Boston

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 312
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Bachelorette Bunch
Business
Long Island, NY
Sep 22, 2014

Bachelorette Party

We stayed here for a bachelorette party - def not the scene they are used to - it seems more business orientated and older crowd but the location was close to Boston and a mall right there so those were good. If you are looking to party though prob not the best choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doozer2k33i2
Business
Boston
Jul 8, 2014

Great stay, good price, but doesn't mention hidden fees

The only issue is for fees, which aren't taken into consideration. For example, I think parking was $30-40 per night. Other than that, great place with a great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coco Smith
Business
Oswego
Nov 5, 2013

Good

The room seems OK.I live with my 3 other friends and the bed seems big~~

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dret
Business
Montreal, Québec
Sep 7, 2013

Great location, poor room comfort.

We had booked a two double bed room for 3 nights. First I'll start with my list of disappointments. 1: the room is rather small and does not include a mini-fridge, but rather a "cooler". 2: the bathroom is small but nice, problem was that our sink had trouble getting drained and the water pressure in the shower wasn't great. 3: bed size were really small for some reason, it felt more like they were 3/4 beds rather then doubles. And here's the list of what we loved. 1: Free wi-fi, not only is it free, but the speed & signal strengths were great. 2: pool was nice and big enough to do laps. 3: very fair parking prices (30$/day). 4: location, we loved the location of the hotel, it was very easy to reach everything we wanted to see in Boston / Cambridge, it's also right next to a hubway bike rack. Overall we loved our trip to Boston, and enjoyed the hotel, but for a 4 star hotel, we've had a lot better. P.S. loved the complimentary lemonade & cookies in the afternoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dt22587
Business
Kansas City, mo
May 1, 2013

Great place

Enjoyed my stay. Close to many attractions. Decent restraunt. Good place for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LauraRNNJ
Business
NJ
Apr 29, 2013

beautiful views

great room for a weekend stay in boston- not far from the T, but kind of a hike from some of the sites if you don't use it. staff was friendly room was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GO TO THE FRIENDLY TOAST FOR BREAKFAST. IT WAS DELICIOUS.

Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Aug 9, 2011

Great for 'girls' weekend'

A nice central location for dining (many options at hotel or in mall across street) and sight-seeing (walking distance to Boston, free river boat cruises during summer).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining options in the mall. Also, starbucks opens before the rest of the mall opens!

Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sox Fan Deborah
Business
Branford, CT
Jul 25, 2011

Perfect weekend at the Royal Sonesta

Two friends and I stayed at the Royal Sonesta for our fifth annual Sox weekend. It was absolutely delightful from start to finish. The staff was helpful and friendly, the rooms immaculate and modern. We took advantage of the summer festival extras - free ice cream and boat ride, and wish we'd had time to use the bicycles. Dante's Restaurant, where we dined overlooking the Charles River, provided a wonderful meal without the need to travel. We are already making plans to return to the Royal Sonesta this fall and next summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try a dinner at Dante's. The food was freshly prepared and delicious, served by friendly and experienced staff.

Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
QueenCrystal
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 29, 2011

A Royal Time

This was my second time staying at this hotel and the service was excellent. On this visit I had my first and only issue which was with the shower head and called down to the front desk. Maintenance came up and replaced it within 15min tops! The conceirge and valet attendants are quick and pleasant as well as the other staff. The complimentary ice cream and boat rides are a definite plus! I would definitly recommend this hotel to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 3, 2010

"Awesome affordable location"

My group got in extremely late after a tough drive. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and informative. We were upgraded to a river view room, which made the travel difficulties worth our while! The staff was able to provide us with information on the city, and the hotel was in a great location near shopping, food, and the t to get us into boston! We had an awesome stay and would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top