$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Royal Sonesta Boston

4 stars
View map of 40 Edwin H Land Boulevard, Cambridge, MA 02142

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta Boston

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
276 out of 276
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jorge AC
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Aug 29, 2011

Good Location, Small Room

The strongest point is location: near a metro station and chain restaurants, in front of a mall, behind the Aquarium, etc. The weakest point is that the room was too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Aussie
Business
Australia
Aug 22, 2011

Great location

staff were very friendly, location was good ...and hotel was very confortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 17, 2011

Good location by the water

Visited Boston for the first time. Hotel is about a mile away from the nearest train station. Shuttle service to MIT and downtown (hint: book early). Nice sized room. Business center with a few PCs and free Wi-Fi in the room. Located next to the river. Will visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Aug 9, 2011

Great for 'girls' weekend'

A nice central location for dining (many options at hotel or in mall across street) and sight-seeing (walking distance to Boston, free river boat cruises during summer).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of dining options in the mall. Also, starbucks opens before the rest of the mall opens!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 3, 2011

It is a good hotel

It is comparable to the hotels I stayed in my previous trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Illuminautilus
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 26, 2011

Great location, service, accomadations

Royal Senesta is perfectly located in the Cambridge/Boston area. We had an excellent time walking around and seeing the sights, and our accommodations were more than adequate. The room was served promptly while we were out and overall was very cozy. Parking was reasonably priced, though the garage is a bit of a squeeze when it's full. Overall I would highly recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I highly recommend getting dinner at Max Brenner's while you're in town. Good food and AMAZING dessert.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sox Fan Deborah
Business
Branford, CT
Jul 25, 2011

Perfect weekend at the Royal Sonesta

Two friends and I stayed at the Royal Sonesta for our fifth annual Sox weekend. It was absolutely delightful from start to finish. The staff was helpful and friendly, the rooms immaculate and modern. We took advantage of the summer festival extras - free ice cream and boat ride, and wish we'd had time to use the bicycles. Dante's Restaurant, where we dined overlooking the Charles River, provided a wonderful meal without the need to travel. We are already making plans to return to the Royal Sonesta this fall and next summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try a dinner at Dante's. The food was freshly prepared and delicious, served by friendly and experienced staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
QueenCrystal
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 29, 2011

A Royal Time

This was my second time staying at this hotel and the service was excellent. On this visit I had my first and only issue which was with the shower head and called down to the front desk. Maintenance came up and replaced it within 15min tops! The conceirge and valet attendants are quick and pleasant as well as the other staff. The complimentary ice cream and boat rides are a definite plus! I would definitly recommend this hotel to everyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A lonely traveller
Business
Miami
Jun 24, 2011

PERFECT LOCATION

The hotel has a perfect location ,walking distance to downtown Boston or a few bucks in taxi to Cambridge. On top of that excellent view of the river, great gym facilities, restaurant and additionally a great mall acroos the street Having breakfast in the terrace is a must

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, Florida
Jun 15, 2011

A corner suite for the price of a room

The hotel felt welcoming from the outset. Comfort and furnishings were first rate. I was lucky to have been able to secure a very competitive price [...] and the corner "room" felt more like a suite. The layout of this corner room provided the work area in a corner which was visually cut off from the room itself. The room furnishings were upscale contemporary and maintained very well. The view was over the Charles River, as the room was immediately above the yacht club marina. Being able to experience both Dante's and Art Bar restaurants gave us a method of comparison. While Dante's was quite good for dinner, the Art Bar had transitioned to their"summer menu" which relegated our dinner meal to no more than a pricy sandwich shop. The hotel location was a $15.00 cab ride to the Boston Convention Center on Summer St. and suited our purposes well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is shopping mall across the street with an excellent array of merchants and a PF Changs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top