$181 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Royal Sonesta Boston

4 stars
View map of 40 Edwin H Land Boulevard, Cambridge, MA 02142

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta Boston

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
276 out of 276
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ManhattanLegal
Business
New York, NY
Nov 4, 2012

Nowhere to boil water

I need boiled water but there is no. No microwave in room. the coffee maker is tini.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jes and Buster
Business
Maryville,TN
Nov 1, 2012

Perfect hotel for our long autumn weekend

This was our third stay at Royal Sonesta. We book it each trip to Boston because we love everything about it. I would comment that the hotel needs some additional meal options, more practical item and prices, but being immediately across from the Cambridgeside Galleria mall gave us plenty of other affordable options for light meals and snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty more affordable amenities across the street at the mall (food court, drugstore, etc)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Best Dr. Ever
Business
phila. Pa.
Oct 27, 2012

conference

room was the size of a closet nexr to a noisey elevator when i asked to be moved they said NO as i got my room at a discount no attempt was made to change even when i asked for another room as i am not a sound sleeper and the elevator woke me up all night for the 5 nights

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

staff not helpful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LilLisa
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 22, 2012

Great hotel. About What you expect for the price

The setting of the hotel was great since it was right along the river! The hotel staff were friendly and the accomodations were very good. It is about what you would expect given the price of the hotel in general though a better value than most in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrWest
Business
New Haven CT
Sep 25, 2012

Quick wknd visit

The hotel location is fantastic and very convenient. Loved the pool and hot tub - also brunch outside at the Art Bar was incredibly scenic overlooking the Charles River - beautiful fall weather definitely helped!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelsun
Business
Orange County, CA
Aug 30, 2012

Great location and value

The hotel has a great location. Convenient to both Boston and Cambridge. Free boat rides were included. The staff was friendly and there were welcome snacks at the reception. Located across from the Galleria Mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr MIT
Business
Boston
Aug 2, 2012

No free internet

This is a nice hotel. But it doesn't haven't free wireless in the rooms. They charge $2.50 to print off your boarding passes. It's a minor things but people don't like getting nickeled and dimed like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EmLu
Business
Cornish, NH
Jul 31, 2012

Extremely Family Friendly

My 9 year old daughter and I stayed here for two nights. Front desk staff were super friendly allowing us to check in at 12:30. They were always helpful. Free boat rides on the Charles and bike rentals for cycling along the promenade. We enjoyed the excellent hotel pool daily.Concierge booked our Duck tour for us. Walking distance to the science museum and enormous mall, free shuttle buses to Fanueil Hall and other downtown attractions. Informal restaurant on premises served gourmet food (gourmet prices, too) and took great care of my daughter with an excellent children's menu, playdough, the works. Our room was roomy and beautiful with two beds and a view of the Charles river. A lovely spot. Good for families as well as couples, business travelers. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cltboy
Business
Hampshire, UK
Jun 16, 2012

Didn't disappoint

We stayed here for a 5 day break in Boston and chose the hotel, in part, due to the recommendations on this website. We weren’t disappointed. It’s a great location overlooking the river, close the T stop, easy to get to Harvard and next to the Mall. The rooms are a good size and clean but our first room (518) suffered from external noise from an air conditioning unit. When we complained the staff arranged a new room immediately and courteously. The staff on the desk and concierges were always polite and helpful. For those who want a breakfast away from the hotel I would suggest the Mall opposite where you can buy a range of foods from fresh fruit and granola through to doughnuts. The hotel also runs a free shuttle bus to a variety of locations in the City and to Harvard which we found useful when we needed it. Opposite the mall is a stop for one of the hop on hop off tour services. Whilst it may be the most expensive one on offer it’s the most comprehensive and offers a separate tour around Cambridge and Harvard

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have breakfast in the mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mothy
Business
Edinburgh, Midlothian, UK
Apr 17, 2012

Sonesta Boston

Great stay, friendly and helpful staff. Art Bar evening menu good, but food a little on the pricey side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top