$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Royal Sonesta Boston

4 stars
View map of 40 Edwin H Land Boulevard, Cambridge, MA 02142

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Royal Sonesta Boston

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
276 out of 276
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
Dec 7, 2008

Superb and Comfortable

I was in the Boston area over a weekend in December, 2008. I found it convenient to the Lechmere T stop, so I could travel to and from the airport as well as about the city -- both sides of the river -- with little expense. My room featured a superb fourth-floor view of the river, which photographed marvelously in he early morning clarity. The elevated and comfortable bed had two three-way reading lamps above, which I appreciated tremendously --I could ignore the hurge flat LCD TV display and sit with my books and papers at night. The staff was highly disciplined to courtesy and friendliness, instructed to make eye contact and use my name and inquire after my needs. I told them upon departure how pleased I was and I could see the proud reaction in the staff's faces. A few downsides: the coffee machine was predictably primitive; there was no tub, but a very reliable shower with thermostat. The inhouse restaurant was expensive but had a great bartender. I had a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

cambridge galleria mall across the street. Lechmere T stop six blocks away. Kendall red line a fifteen minute fast walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rancho Murieta
Dec 2, 2008

Great bed and pillows!!

A small room but well appointed with a great bed, pillows and linen. Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast disappointing.expensive and not very good. Will certainly stay there again but will eat elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum of Science is right next door..a super attraction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greensboro, NC
Nov 3, 2008

Excellent staff, ...

Excellent staff, beautiful modern hotel, close to the T ( .7 mile) and easy access to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A large Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincolnwood, IL
Oct 5, 2008

Great room for short conference

The Royal Sonesta Cambridge, MA, was a great place to stay for a short conference. The hotel is close to public transportation (The T)which is very well run. The hotel room was comfortable and well maintained. Dining options in the hotel were excelent and servers were very good. A good plact to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bristol
Sep 28, 2008

Good Location

The Royal Sonesta Cambridge room was good size with a wall mounted flat screen TV, reasonably priced in room bar, well lighted work area and modest size bath. The room had a walk in closet with an easily operated safe and plenty of hangers. The room appointments were tasteful and clean. The bed was comfortable. The staff was more than accommodating, check was fast, and services excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Science Center is a very short walk from the hotel along the tree lined river. A small mall is located across the street from the hotel and is a great place for quick coffee or shopping. The hotel is a short and inexpensive cab ride from the North End, Boston Garden or Fenway Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 17, 2008

Focus on Business

The Royal Sonesta was a very nice hotel in a great location. Easy access to the T and other amenities. I'm sure it is a great business hotel but did not feel quite so comfortable as a family/tourist facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zaandam
Sep 14, 2008

great amenities, very friendly staff, good location

Travelling with toddler twins and 3 adults needed hotel to accommodate adjacent accommodation with some special requirements - all met excellently and with a very friendly manner.? We were most impressed with the staff who were very professional, extremely courteous and very helpful.? It was nice that they asked the names of the children and then used them throughout our stay. Room service was prompt and the food tasty.? Only very minor point was the limited supplies in the mini bar.? Reception and concierge good Pool area very good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

20 min stroll from hotel takes you into heart of Boston, also modern and well run mall exactly opposite hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 4, 2008

My review of Royal Sonesta Hotel

The hotel was located only about 5-7 minutes from the Lechmere stop. Great location to the Cambridge Mall and eateries. The bed was very comfy. I was disappointed that there was a fee for internet access. Overall, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

California Pizzeria was within walking distance along with a CVS and a Burger King in the Cambridgeside Galleria.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Park City, UT
Sep 3, 2008

Good location, good hotel, good price

We enjoyed being able to access both Cambridge and downtown Boston conveniently from this hotel by foot, train and bicycle. The hotel had bicycles for us to use for free (summer only) and we rode all over the North End and Cambridge without too much stress because it is located centrally. Rooms are decorated nicely, but our room smelled like cigarette smoke - the front desk argued with us and wouldn't give us a different room. Food in the hotel is average and expensive, but there are many good restaurants in Cambridge and Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring your running shoes - there is a great run along the river right outside the hotel doors. Also, rent a bicycle if you can - Cambridge and Boston are very bicycle friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Royal Sonesta Boston

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 1, 2008

Comfortable but...

Traveled with 5 friends...the rooms were very comfortable but smelled very strongly of smoke...we were not asked if we wanted smoking or not...we should have changed rooms. Otherwise it was a good value, close to attractions and the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top