$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
25 Edwin H Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
114 reviews
the best

I think this is one of the best places to stay in the Boston area. The hotel is lovely. Right on... See full review

  • Narada
  • Nov 19, 2013
Honeymoon

My husband and I LOVED staying at the Campton hotel. Definitely recommending this hotel to... See full review

  • Martha newly wed
  • Oct 14, 2013
Award-winning luxury boutique hotel overlooking the Charles River

The Hotel Marlowe is a AAA four diamond-rated boutique property emanating elegance and vibrancy with eclectic style throughout the space. Overlooking the Charles River, the hotel offers easy access to MIT and Harvard, as well as some of Boston's best attractions and upscale neighborhoods. The Green Seal-certified, dog-friendly hotel welcomes guests nightly for a complimentary wine tasting and offers free Wi-Fi to members of the Kimpton loyalty program (free to join).

Highlights
    • Stunning setting overlooking the Charles River
    • Easy access to Harvard, MIT and downtown Boston
    • Eclectic American cuisine at on-site restaurant Bambara
    • 7,000 square feet of meeting space in four rooms
    Rooms

    Many of the hotel's 236 guestrooms, including 14 suites, have sweeping views of the Charles River and downtown Boston. Guests can relax in the comfort of their colorfully decorated 340-square-foot room with two plush double beds or one king. Each room features flat-panel LCD HDTV, Wi-Fi (free to members of the Kimpton InTouch loyalty program), plush terry robes, bountiful snacks in the honor bar, iHome iPod docking station, clock radios and personal safes large enough for a laptop. The marble bathroom offers cushy towels and Etro spa-inspired bath products. As an added bonus, the hotel accepts a variety of animals without weight restrictions or extra fees.

    Features

    Gorgeous art deco décor pops throughout the lobby, with marble flooring, plush curtains, golden urns, leopard-print settee, a long mahogany front desk and a dramatic winding staircase. That freewheeling vibe permeates the entire hotel with a charismatic energy. Each night, guests congregate in the hotel's lobby living room for a complimentary wine tasting.  Afterwards, mosey into Bambara, the on-site eclectic American restaurant or order in-room dining 24 hours a day. The hotel provides complimentary gourmet coffee and tea in the lobby each morning. Groups can enjoy full business services or 7,000 square feet of conference space.

    Transportation
      • Logan International Airport (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
      • Closest subway: Green Line Lechmere (about 10 minutes walking)
      Attractions
        • Beacon Hill (.72 mi/1.16 km)
        • Faneuil Hall-Quincy Market (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
        • Fenway Park (1.9 mi/3 km)
        • Harvard Square (2.28 mi/3.6 km)
        Business
          • 4 meeting rooms
          • 7,000 square feet of functional meeting space
          • Full business services available

          Hotel Map

          42.368 -71.0748
          Nearby airports
          General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 4.00, MI, NE;
          Area description
          City Center

          Recommendations for you

          Customers who viewed Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

          Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
          Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
          Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

          Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

          King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
          King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed, 340 Sq. Ft., iHome, Etro amenities, animal print robes.
          Accessible Executive Suit
          Accessible Executive Suite 1 King Bed 600 Sq. Ft. living room with pullout sofa
          King Deluxe View Room with 1 Kin
          King Deluxe View Room with 1 King Bed 340 Sq. Ft., iHome, Charles River or Canal view.
          Double Double Deluxe Room w 2 Be
          Double Double Deluxe Room with two double beds, 340 Sq. Ft., iHome, Etro bath amenities.
          Double Double Deluxe View Room w
          Double Double Deluxe View with two double beds, 340 Sq. Ft., Charles River or Canal view.
          King Studio Suite with 1 King Be
          King Studio Suite with 1 King Bed, 530 Sq. Ft., pullout sofa, Charles River and Canal view.
          Executive Suite with 1 King Bed
          Executive Suite with 1 King Bed, 600 Sq. Ft., living room, pullout sofa, Charles River view.
          Presidential Suite with 1 King B
          Presidential Suite with 1 King Bed, 1200 Sq. Ft., living room, Charles River and Canal view.
          02. Accessible King Deluxe Rm w
          Accessible King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 340 Sq. Ft. accessible tub visual fire alarm.
          04.Accessible Double Double Delu
          Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room two double beds 340 Sq. Ft. visual fire alarm.

          Amenities

          • High-speed internet
          • Non Smoking
          General
          Air conditioned
          Non Smoking
          Pet friendly
          Elevators
          24 hour security
          Activities
          Fitness Center
          Jogging track
          Dining
          Bar/Lounge
          Continental breakfast
          Restaurant
          24 hour room service
          Room service
          Meal plan - continental
          Services
          24 hour front desk
          Maid service
          Express checkout
          Concierge desk
          ATM/Cash machine
          Security
          Wake-up service
          In-Room Safe
          Meeting/Banquet facilities
          Porters
          FAX
          Conference facilities
          Copy service
          Audio visual equipment
          Conference suite
          Internet
          High-speed internet
          Parking
          Parking
          Indoor parking
          Accessibility
          Handicapped rooms/facilities
          Accessible facilities
          Accessible rooms
          Accessible parking
          Grab bars in bathroom
          Room
          Television with cable
          Radio
          Cordless phone
          Safe
          Phone with speaker
          Telephone
          AM/FM alarm clock
          Desk with lamp
          Mini bar
          Hairdryer in room
          Outlet adapters
          Fire alarm with light
          Bathroom telephone
          In room movies
          Temperature control
          Electronic door locks
          Iron
          Ironing board
          International direct dial
          Sprinklers in rooms
          Trouser press

          Nearby points of interest

          • Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 0.9 mi
          • Harvard University: 2.3 mi
          • Lavietes Pavilion: 2.6 mi
          • Bright Hockey Center: 2.7 mi

          Dining

          Bambara
          Overlooking the Charles River Bambara is as convenient as it is flavorful. Our Cambridge restaurant and bar suits any mood showcasing local ingredients in all their amazing variety. Start the day with a satisfying breakfast seal that business deal over lu

          Hotel Policies

          Check-in:
          03:00 PM
          Check-out:
          12:00 PM

          Terms and conditions

          Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

          The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

          Back to menu Return to top

          Guest Reviews (114)

          Ratings and reviews for Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Overall score

          4.5 / 5
          5.01.0
          114 out of 114
          Amenities:
          4.4
          Room cleanliness:
          4.8
          Hotel staff:
          4.7
          Room comfort:
          4.7
          Location:
          4.4
          Value:
          4.4

          99% would recommend to a friend.

          Sort by:
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          bike girl
          san francisco
          May 10, 2009

          wonderful weekend stay

          friendly, helpful, quick to respond to request, nice services such as 5 pm wine hour and am coffee quiet rooms, great recommendations for restaurants etc.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

          maps of bike and walking routes

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          rays people
          marlboro, new york
          Apr 17, 2010

          the best of the best

          we were in town for the rays game at fenway. our stay could not have been better. will definitely be back in august!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

          a well disguised galleria mall is actually right next to the hotel, cheesecake factory included!

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Business
          Rockport
          Dec 7, 2008

          excellent hotel

          I have stayed at the hotel marlow twice, and it is my home away from home. It is in a great location, easy to access public transportation, helpful friendly staff, comfortable rooms and I love the pet friendly thing.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          3
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Trip purpose:

          Business

          Shopping tip: In Hotel

          the hotel is attached to the cambridgeside galleria mall

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          West Hartford, Ct
          Sep 27, 2010

          Anniversary Getaway

          My wife and I loved the style of the room and overall elegance of the hotel. First class service all around and the people were top notch in their service and hospitality. D. S. Hudson

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          4
          Value:
          5
          Dining tip: In Hotel

          Eat at Bambara's

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Washington D.C.
          Jul 27, 2009

          Unbelievable!!!!

          It was a great experience for us! We celebrated our first anniversary during our stay. I mentioned it in the letter, when booking. When we arrived there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room and they upgraded our room! great staff! Thank you very much, Hotel Marlowe.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          cambridge, ma
          Dec 31, 2009

          loved it!

          great location! connected to the mall which made it easy to get some lunch or get something from cvs i forgot to bring with me. staff was friendly. the room was great. by far my favorite so far!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          4
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Central New Jersey
          May 9, 2011

          Two paws up!

          My husband and I have two miniature dachshunds, and we always have difficulty finding nice hotels that allow pets. Not only did the Marlowe allow pets, it didn't charge an extra pet fee. Also, they went above and beyond to accommodate our pups -- putting a pet bed in our room so our dogs would be comfortable. They were even welcome in the comfortable lobby area during the free wine reception from 5-6 p.m.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Chicago
          Mar 27, 2011

          Love That "Dirty Water"

          We were in Boston (Cambridge) visiting MIT and Harvard as prospective schools. I wanted a hotel near the schools - not just for convenience to walk to - but as a way to provide my family with a good sense of what it's like living here. The hotel did not disappoint in any way. The bellmen were friendly every time we arrived, the front desk answered both big and little questions like the pros you'd want them to be. Best of all, the staff on the floors were continually courteous and friendly ... even the construction workers who were on another floor doing an upgrade were friendly with every encounter. PS the ref above is not to the hotel's water, it's the Standell's song about Boston from the 60s.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

          Check out "Master of Science" ... a nice, casual place to lunch or dinner. Also, I love taking the "T." The Lechmere station is a quick walk around the block to get just about anywhere in town.

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Groper
          Southern NH
          Dec 31, 2009

          Great de-stress after the holi-daze

          This was the best hotel experience we have ever had. We aren't major travelers so this doesn't come from a plethora of experiences like some people but enough to say that people will have a really great experience at this hotel. Hot chocolate 2-4pm, wine 5-6pm, coffee/tea in the morning. Rooms are quite spacious and the decor is fab . The Galleria mall is attached so if you want to grab cheap eats at the food court, it is right there. It was so cold while we were visiting that this was a huge plus, plus an atm indoors.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

          Buy the Boston Go-card on line to get you into the museums and attractions at a fixed cost to save money. Boston Beantown trolley tour is included on this card and great for both an overview of Boston as well as drop off points to (Aquarium, Science Museum, etc)to coincide with using the T subway system. Lechmere/green line is the closest stop to Hotel Marlowe. These 'go cards' are a great money saver for any city you may visit as a tourist.

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Coffee Fiend
          Loveland, CO
          Mar 24, 2010

          I never knew I could like leopard print

          Leopard print -- I'm not usually a fan, but it works in this hotel (seriously). The decor is definitely different, but it fits the personality of this hotel and makes it interesting. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel restaurant is good. Within walking distance of some great places to eat (try the Hungry Mother and Friendly Toast in Kendall Square and East by Northeast on Cambridge St.). We walked in to Boston fairly easily.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

          eat at Hungry Mother

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Back to menu Return to top