$177 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 25 Edwin H Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
122 reviews
Delightful stay at the Marlowe Hotel

It's a large hotel but doesn't feel so. Beautiful public spaces and quite, comfortable, spacious... See full review

  • William T.
  • Aug 12, 2015
Great location, friendly staff

This is a fantastic hotel! We arrived in from a red-eye flight for a four night stay. Upon... See full review

  • Woodson
  • Jun 22, 2015

The Hotel Marlowe is a AAA four diamond-rated boutique property emanating elegance and vibrancy with eclectic style throughout the space. Overlooking the Charles River, the hotel offers easy access to MIT and Harvard, as well as some of Boston's best attractions and upscale neighborhoods. The Green Seal-certified, dog-friendly hotel welcomes guests nightly for a complimentary wine tasting and offers free Wi-Fi to members of the Kimpton loyalty program (free to join).

Rooms

Many of the hotel's 236 guestrooms, including 14 suites, have sweeping views of the Charles River and downtown Boston. Guests can relax in the comfort of their colorfully decorated 340-square-foot room with two plush double beds or one king. Each room features flat-panel LCD HDTV, Wi-Fi (free to members of the Kimpton InTouch loyalty program), plush terry robes, bountiful snacks in the honor bar, iHome iPod docking station, clock radios and personal safes large enough for a laptop. The marble bathroom offers cushy towels and Etro spa-inspired bath products. As an added bonus, the hotel accepts a variety of animals without weight restrictions or extra fees.

Property features

Gorgeous art deco décor pops throughout the lobby, with marble flooring, plush curtains, golden urns, leopard-print settee, a long mahogany front desk and a dramatic winding staircase. That freewheeling vibe permeates the entire hotel with a charismatic energy. Each night, guests congregate in the hotel's lobby living room for a complimentary wine tasting.  Afterwards, mosey into Bambara, the on-site eclectic American restaurant or order in-room dining 24 hours a day. The hotel provides complimentary gourmet coffee and tea in the lobby each morning. Groups can enjoy full business services or 7,000 square feet of conference space.

Highlights
    • Stunning setting overlooking the Charles River
    • Easy access to Harvard, MIT and downtown Boston
    • Eclectic American cuisine at on-site restaurant Bambara
    • 7,000 square feet of meeting space in four rooms
    Nearby attractions
      • Beacon Hill (.72 mi/1.16 km)
      • Faneuil Hall-Quincy Market (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
      • Fenway Park (1.9 mi/3 km)
      • Harvard Square (2.28 mi/3.6 km)
      Business
        • 4 meeting rooms
        • 7,000 square feet of functional meeting space
        • Full business services available
        Transportation
          • Logan International Airport (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
          • Closest subway: Green Line Lechmere (about 10 minutes walking)

          Top hotels

          Recommendations for you

          Customers who viewed Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

          ★★★★
          $239
          4.4 / 5 249 reviews
          ★★★★
          $180
          4.1 / 5 257 reviews
          ★★★★
          $157
          3.7 / 5 807 reviews
          ★★★★
          $159
          3.7 / 5 292 reviews
          ★★★★★
          $276
          4.3 / 5 68 reviews
          ★★★★
          $302
          4.6 / 5 229 reviews
          ★★★★
          $262
          4.3 / 5 161 reviews
          ★★★★
          $185
          4.2 / 5 73 reviews
          ★★★★
          $215
          4.2 / 5 73 reviews

          Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

          King Room
          1 King Bed 340 square feet
          05. ADA Double Deluxe
          Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room two double beds 340 Sq. Ft. visual fire alarm.
          Accessible Executive Suit
          Accessible Executive Suite 1 King Bed 600 Sq. Ft. living room with pullout sofa
          King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
          King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed, 340 Sq. Ft., iHome, Etro amenities, animal print robes.
          King Deluxe View Room with 1 Kin
          King Deluxe View Room with 1 King Bed 340 Sq. Ft., iHome, Charles River or Canal view.
          Double Double Deluxe Room w 2 Be
          Double Double Deluxe Room with two double beds, 340 Sq. Ft., iHome, Etro bath amenities.
          Double Double Deluxe View Room w
          Double Double Deluxe View with two double beds, 340 Sq. Ft., Charles River or Canal view.
          King Studio Suite with 1 King Be
          King Studio Suite with 1 King Bed, 530 Sq. Ft., pullout sofa, Charles River and Canal view.
          Executive Suite with 1 King Bed
          Executive Suite with 1 King Bed, 600 Sq. Ft., living room, pullout sofa, Charles River view.
          Presidential Suite with 1 King B
          Presidential Suite with 1 King Bed, 1200 Sq. Ft., living room, Charles River and Canal view.
          03. ADA King Deluxe
          Accessible King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 340 Sq. Ft. accessible tub visual fire alarm.

          Amenities

          • High-speed internet
          • Non Smoking
          General
          Air conditioned
          Non Smoking
          Pet friendly
          Elevators
          24 hour security
          Activities
          Fitness Center
          Jogging track
          Dining
          Bar/Lounge
          Continental breakfast
          Restaurant
          24 hour room service
          Room service
          Meal plan - continental
          Services
          24 hour front desk
          Maid service
          Express checkout
          Concierge desk
          ATM/Cash machine
          Security
          Wake-up service
          In-Room Safe
          Meeting/Banquet facilities
          Porters
          FAX
          Conference facilities
          Copy service
          Audio visual equipment
          Conference suite
          Internet
          High-speed internet
          Parking
          Parking
          Indoor parking
          Accessibility
          Accessible Rooms/Facilities
          Accessible facilities
          Accessible rooms
          Accessible parking
          Grab bars in bathroom
          Room
          Television with cable
          Radio
          Cordless phone
          Safe
          Phone with speaker
          Telephone
          AM/FM alarm clock
          Desk with lamp
          Mini bar
          Hairdryer in room
          Outlet adapters
          Fire alarm with light
          Bathroom telephone
          In room movies
          Temperature control
          Electronic door locks
          Iron
          Ironing board
          International direct dial
          Sprinklers in rooms
          Trouser press

          Nearby points of interest

          • Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 0.9 mi
          • Harvard University: 2.3 mi
          • Lavietes Pavilion: 2.6 mi
          • Bright Hockey Center: 2.7 mi

          Dining

          Bambara
          Overlooking the Charles River Bambara is as convenient as it is flavorful. Our Cambridge restaurant and bar suits any mood showcasing local ingredients in all their amazing variety. Start the day with a satisfying breakfast seal that business deal over lu

          Hotel Policies

          Check-in:
          03:00 PM
          Check-out:
          12:00 PM

          Terms and conditions

          Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

          The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

          Ratings and reviews for Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Overall score

          4.5 / 5
          5.01.0
          27 out of 122
          Amenities:
          4.4
          Cleanliness:
          4.9
          Hotel staff:
          4.8
          Comfort:
          4.7
          Location:
          4.6
          Value:
          4.5

          100% would recommend to a friend.

          Sort by:
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Woodson
          Family
          Chula Vista
          Jun 22, 2015

          Great location, friendly staff

          This is a fantastic hotel! We arrived in from a red-eye flight for a four night stay. Upon arriving, we asked if we could leave our bags. The friendly front desk staff allowed us to check in early and helped us with our luggage so we could get some sleep. The bed and room are very comfortable, and the air within the hotel is fresh and clean. The hotel is within a block from Penn Station and a short walk to the Empire State building, the theatre district, Grand Central Station, and more.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Trip purpose:

          Family

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Margaret P.
          Family
          N/A
          Feb 23, 2015

          Just Right

          The hotel was great . We loved the location and the vibe .. Great for any occasion !

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Trip purpose:

          Family

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          3
          5.01.0
          Judy0
          Family
          Atlanta
          Jul 7, 2014

          Heavily used items apparently not monitored

          Our mattress was very worn out and should not have passed an (assumed) systematic inspection. Restaurant booth cushion also shot. No fun sitting on a cross board! A systematic review of heavily used items doesn't seem to be in place to catch this sort of thing. Relying on initial customer complaint sets customer up for conflict, also no fun. Great staff though!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          3
          Cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Comfort:
          2
          Location:
          3
          Value:
          3
          Trip purpose:

          Family

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Urban Indian
          Family
          Portland, Oregon
          Jun 29, 2014

          Quick overnight stay with the family

          Every part of our experience at the Marlowe was amazing. The staff was courteous, professional and gracious as they helped our family of five settle in after our long day of traveling! I would definitely recommend staying at this location. It's right next to a lot of great restaurants and pathways for walking or running.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Comfort:
          5
          Location:
          4
          Value:
          4
          Trip purpose:

          Family

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          Minskevna
          Family
          Ipswich, MA
          Feb 24, 2014

          One night stay, very nice

          My family came into Boston for 2 days to do some museum hopping and decided to spend the night in the city. The Marlowe was an enjoyable experience for all of us. The staff was proactively friendly, the hotel is lovely. We had a "courtyard view" which I was initially disappointed with, but even so, it was sunny and relatively attractive. I wouldn't pay extra for a city view. Our first stop was the Museum of Science, and the only thing I would change about our weekend is that I would have checked into the hotel and then walked to the museum and back. I'm sure we spent FAR longer driving around the corner than it would have taken to walk. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, and it was very good food, not spectacular, but very comfortable for the whole family. Our sushi-loving 12-year-old loved the tuna tartar. Room service breakfast was huge, lots more food than I expected. We were well stoked for the day at the Aquarium!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          4
          Trip purpose:

          Family

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          UConn Hoops
          Family
          Hartford, CT
          Mar 18, 2013

          Close to TD Garden

          We went to a Celtics game and liked the fact that we could walk to and from the Garden.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          3
          Cleanliness:
          4
          Hotel staff:
          4
          Comfort:
          4
          Location:
          4
          Value:
          4
          Trip purpose:

          Family

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          Philly boy 2711
          Family
          phila. pa
          Oct 1, 2012

          college parents weekend

          beautiful hotel with all the amenities. location is ok- not right near things but not too far to get to by car/cab.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Comfort:
          5
          Location:
          4
          Value:
          3
          Trip purpose:

          Family

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          Eddysama
          Family
          Fort Lee, NJ
          May 29, 2012

          Weekend getaway

          Hotel staff was friendly and they had excellent wine reception for all guests, which was good. The room was very clean and had comfortable bed.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Comfort:
          4
          Location:
          4
          Value:
          4
          Trip purpose:

          Family

          Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

          North End

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Hospitality Snob~
          Family
          Charlotte, NC
          Aug 9, 2011

          Southern fried homies

          Hotel Marlowe was a home away from home. We used the hotels kayaks, which were great! The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. We had actually stayed at another hotel across the river for the first few nights of our vacation. Same rating and all. Marlowe blows them out of the water! We felt like we were home. The staff was great. Only downfall for our children, was no pool.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Trip purpose:

          Family

          Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

          Take advantage of the kayaks in the summer. Nothing like seeing the skyline from the river.

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Family
          Hawaii
          Jun 5, 2011

          Great service in a convenient location

          Attended MIT graduation and did a little touring. The concierge staff was very helpful in locating an urgent care center and nearby pharmacy. We even got to snuggle with another guest's dog in this pet friendly hotel!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Trip purpose:

          Family

          Money-saving tip: In Hotel

          You'll find really good coffee, hot and cold, plus flavored syrups every morning in the lounge.

          Back to menu Return to top