$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
25 Edwin H Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
115 reviews
Loved it

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. We will be returning. See full review

  • Beezie64
  • Nov 14, 2014
the best

I think this is one of the best places to stay in the Boston area. The hotel is lovely. Right on... See full review

  • Narada
  • Nov 19, 2013
Award-winning luxury boutique hotel overlooking the Charles River

The Hotel Marlowe is a AAA four diamond-rated boutique property emanating elegance and vibrancy with eclectic style throughout the space. Overlooking the Charles River, the hotel offers easy access to MIT and Harvard, as well as some of Boston's best attractions and upscale neighborhoods. The Green Seal-certified, dog-friendly hotel welcomes guests nightly for a complimentary wine tasting and offers free Wi-Fi to members of the Kimpton loyalty program (free to join).

Highlights
    • Stunning setting overlooking the Charles River
    • Easy access to Harvard, MIT and downtown Boston
    • Eclectic American cuisine at on-site restaurant Bambara
    • 7,000 square feet of meeting space in four rooms
    Rooms

    Many of the hotel's 236 guestrooms, including 14 suites, have sweeping views of the Charles River and downtown Boston. Guests can relax in the comfort of their colorfully decorated 340-square-foot room with two plush double beds or one king. Each room features flat-panel LCD HDTV, Wi-Fi (free to members of the Kimpton InTouch loyalty program), plush terry robes, bountiful snacks in the honor bar, iHome iPod docking station, clock radios and personal safes large enough for a laptop. The marble bathroom offers cushy towels and Etro spa-inspired bath products. As an added bonus, the hotel accepts a variety of animals without weight restrictions or extra fees.

    Features

    Gorgeous art deco décor pops throughout the lobby, with marble flooring, plush curtains, golden urns, leopard-print settee, a long mahogany front desk and a dramatic winding staircase. That freewheeling vibe permeates the entire hotel with a charismatic energy. Each night, guests congregate in the hotel's lobby living room for a complimentary wine tasting.  Afterwards, mosey into Bambara, the on-site eclectic American restaurant or order in-room dining 24 hours a day. The hotel provides complimentary gourmet coffee and tea in the lobby each morning. Groups can enjoy full business services or 7,000 square feet of conference space.

    Transportation
      • Logan International Airport (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
      • Closest subway: Green Line Lechmere (about 10 minutes walking)
      Attractions
        • Beacon Hill (.72 mi/1.16 km)
        • Faneuil Hall-Quincy Market (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
        • Fenway Park (1.9 mi/3 km)
        • Harvard Square (2.28 mi/3.6 km)
        Business
          • 4 meeting rooms
          • 7,000 square feet of functional meeting space
          • Full business services available

          Hotel Map

          42.368 -71.0748
          Nearby airports
          General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 4.00, MI, NE;
          Area description
          City Center

          Recommendations for you

          Customers who viewed Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

          Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
          Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
          Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

          Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

          King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
          King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed, 340 Sq. Ft., iHome, Etro amenities, animal print robes.
          Accessible Executive Suit
          Accessible Executive Suite 1 King Bed 600 Sq. Ft. living room with pullout sofa
          King Deluxe View Room with 1 Kin
          King Deluxe View Room with 1 King Bed 340 Sq. Ft., iHome, Charles River or Canal view.
          Double Double Deluxe Room w 2 Be
          Double Double Deluxe Room with two double beds, 340 Sq. Ft., iHome, Etro bath amenities.
          Double Double Deluxe View Room w
          Double Double Deluxe View with two double beds, 340 Sq. Ft., Charles River or Canal view.
          King Studio Suite with 1 King Be
          King Studio Suite with 1 King Bed, 530 Sq. Ft., pullout sofa, Charles River and Canal view.
          Executive Suite with 1 King Bed
          Executive Suite with 1 King Bed, 600 Sq. Ft., living room, pullout sofa, Charles River view.
          Presidential Suite with 1 King B
          Presidential Suite with 1 King Bed, 1200 Sq. Ft., living room, Charles River and Canal view.
          02. Accessible King Deluxe Rm w
          Accessible King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 340 Sq. Ft. accessible tub visual fire alarm.
          04.Accessible Double Double Delu
          Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room two double beds 340 Sq. Ft. visual fire alarm.

          Amenities

          • High-speed internet
          • Non Smoking
          General
          Air conditioned
          Non Smoking
          Pet friendly
          Elevators
          24 hour security
          Activities
          Fitness Center
          Jogging track
          Dining
          Bar/Lounge
          Continental breakfast
          Restaurant
          24 hour room service
          Room service
          Meal plan - continental
          Services
          24 hour front desk
          Maid service
          Express checkout
          Concierge desk
          ATM/Cash machine
          Security
          Wake-up service
          In-Room Safe
          Meeting/Banquet facilities
          Porters
          FAX
          Conference facilities
          Copy service
          Audio visual equipment
          Conference suite
          Internet
          High-speed internet
          Parking
          Parking
          Indoor parking
          Accessibility
          Handicapped rooms/facilities
          Accessible facilities
          Accessible rooms
          Accessible parking
          Grab bars in bathroom
          Room
          Television with cable
          Radio
          Cordless phone
          Safe
          Phone with speaker
          Telephone
          AM/FM alarm clock
          Desk with lamp
          Mini bar
          Hairdryer in room
          Outlet adapters
          Fire alarm with light
          Bathroom telephone
          In room movies
          Temperature control
          Electronic door locks
          Iron
          Ironing board
          International direct dial
          Sprinklers in rooms
          Trouser press

          Nearby points of interest

          • Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 0.9 mi
          • Harvard University: 2.3 mi
          • Lavietes Pavilion: 2.6 mi
          • Bright Hockey Center: 2.7 mi

          Dining

          Bambara
          Overlooking the Charles River Bambara is as convenient as it is flavorful. Our Cambridge restaurant and bar suits any mood showcasing local ingredients in all their amazing variety. Start the day with a satisfying breakfast seal that business deal over lu

          Hotel Policies

          Check-in:
          03:00 PM
          Check-out:
          12:00 PM

          Terms and conditions

          Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

          The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

          Back to menu Return to top

          Guest Reviews (115)

          Ratings and reviews for Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Overall score

          4.5 / 5
          5.01.0
          24 out of 115
          Amenities:
          4.5
          Room cleanliness:
          4.9
          Hotel staff:
          4.8
          Room comfort:
          4.7
          Location:
          4.6
          Value:
          4.5

          100% would recommend to a friend.

          Sort by:
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          3
          5.01.0
          Judy0
          Business
          Atlanta
          Jul 7, 2014

          Heavily used items apparently not monitored

          Our mattress was very worn out and should not have passed an (assumed) systematic inspection. Restaurant booth cushion also shot. No fun sitting on a cross board! A systematic review of heavily used items doesn't seem to be in place to catch this sort of thing. Relying on initial customer complaint sets customer up for conflict, also no fun. Great staff though!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          3
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          2
          Location:
          3
          Value:
          3
          Trip purpose:

          Business

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          Minskevna
          Business
          Ipswich, MA
          Feb 24, 2014

          One night stay, very nice

          My family came into Boston for 2 days to do some museum hopping and decided to spend the night in the city. The Marlowe was an enjoyable experience for all of us. The staff was proactively friendly, the hotel is lovely. We had a "courtyard view" which I was initially disappointed with, but even so, it was sunny and relatively attractive. I wouldn't pay extra for a city view. Our first stop was the Museum of Science, and the only thing I would change about our weekend is that I would have checked into the hotel and then walked to the museum and back. I'm sure we spent FAR longer driving around the corner than it would have taken to walk. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, and it was very good food, not spectacular, but very comfortable for the whole family. Our sushi-loving 12-year-old loved the tuna tartar. Room service breakfast was huge, lots more food than I expected. We were well stoked for the day at the Aquarium!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          4
          Trip purpose:

          Business

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          UConn Hoops
          Business
          Hartford, CT
          Mar 18, 2013

          Close to TD Garden

          We went to a Celtics game and liked the fact that we could walk to and from the Garden.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          3
          Room cleanliness:
          4
          Hotel staff:
          4
          Room comfort:
          4
          Location:
          4
          Value:
          4
          Trip purpose:

          Business

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          Philly boy 2711
          Business
          phila. pa
          Oct 1, 2012

          college parents weekend

          beautiful hotel with all the amenities. location is ok- not right near things but not too far to get to by car/cab.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          4
          Value:
          3
          Trip purpose:

          Business

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          Eddysama
          Business
          Fort Lee, NJ
          May 29, 2012

          Weekend getaway

          Hotel staff was friendly and they had excellent wine reception for all guests, which was good. The room was very clean and had comfortable bed.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          4
          Location:
          4
          Value:
          4
          Trip purpose:

          Business

          Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

          North End

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Hospitality Snob~
          Business
          Charlotte, NC
          Aug 9, 2011

          Southern fried homies

          Hotel Marlowe was a home away from home. We used the hotels kayaks, which were great! The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. We had actually stayed at another hotel across the river for the first few nights of our vacation. Same rating and all. Marlowe blows them out of the water! We felt like we were home. The staff was great. Only downfall for our children, was no pool.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Trip purpose:

          Business

          Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

          Take advantage of the kayaks in the summer. Nothing like seeing the skyline from the river.

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Business
          Hawaii
          Jun 5, 2011

          Great service in a convenient location

          Attended MIT graduation and did a little touring. The concierge staff was very helpful in locating an urgent care center and nearby pharmacy. We even got to snuggle with another guest's dog in this pet friendly hotel!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Trip purpose:

          Business

          Money-saving tip: In Hotel

          You'll find really good coffee, hot and cold, plus flavored syrups every morning in the lounge.

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Business
          Connecticut
          May 20, 2011

          LOVE THIS HOTEL!!!

          The Marlowe was all we'd hoped for and more. The room was spacious and the decor lovely. We loved the convenient location-adjacent to the Mall, across the street from the Science Museum and really close to the T station. The hotel restaurant was amazing - nice to leave the kids in the room with a movie while we spent some alone time sipping wine and having a great meal. The morning we checked out, we'd arrived too late for breakfast, but the manager was SO kind and got us a nice continental breakfast so we didn't have to go home hungry. The staff was most helpful and courteous. If you're looking for a great value in Boston, this is the place. Significantly cheaper than staying on the other side of the river and every bit as nice as some of the best hotels in downtown Boston (we know, we've stayed in quite a few). We will definitely be staying there again!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          4
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          4
          Value:
          5
          Trip purpose:

          Business

          Shopping tip: In Hotel

          Actually, the Mall is connected to the hotel via the parking garage, which itself is convenient because you can park there yourself for way less $ than Valet parking.

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          South Bend Mom
          Business
          South Bend, In
          May 17, 2011

          Great hotel!

          My adult daughter and I met in Boston for a girls getaway weekend and this hotel was perfect! From the location, to the Galleria next door to the wine happy hour and the great staff! The concierge lived in the north end and suggested a great Italian restaurant along with some wonderful shops for coffee and dried meats. We had a wonderful time!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Trip purpose:

          Business

          Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

          Panza - Italian in North end

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Lee and his brothers
          Business
          Castaic, CA
          Apr 6, 2011

          The Perfect Hotel

          I needed a room for my brothers and I to crash while we visited Boston for a family reunion. The staff here are kind and helpful. The room was spotless, roomy, with outlets all around for our phone and camera chargers. Everything in the room was great, from the beds to shower to TV - even the view of the courtyard from our 8th story window (I think this was the top floor). The hotel is attached to the Cambridge Galleria, so you merely walk through a private mall entrance and through the mall parking area, never exposed to the cold outdoors. We ate at their restaurant, too, and the brunch was delicious, and the service was excellent. The entire hotel is first class. The worst part was the cost for parking (less expensive than what we paid on Beacon Hill), but you have in-and-out access - and the valet service was quick and friendly. We didn't use the complementary wine tasting service, but we did have coffee in the morning. It was perfect. The location is great, a block from the water. From the hotel we had quick access to Boston, Harvard, Logan Airport, etc. A perfect 3 days and nights.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Trip purpose:

          Business

          Shopping tip: In Hotel

          The Cambridge Galleria is attached. The restaurant is perfect. The city is close.

          Was this review helpful to you?
          Thank you for your feedback!
          Back to menu Return to top