$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 16, 2014

Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
25 Edwin H Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
199 reviews
the best

I think this is one of the best places to stay in the Boston area. The hotel is lovely. Right on... See full review

  • Narada
  • Nov 19, 2013
Honeymoon

My husband and I LOVED staying at the Campton hotel. Definitely recommending this hotel to... See full review

  • Martha newly wed
  • Oct 14, 2013
Award-winning luxury boutique hotel overlooking the Charles River

The Hotel Marlowe is a AAA four diamond-rated boutique property emanating elegance and vibrancy with eclectic style throughout the space. Overlooking the Charles River, the hotel offers easy access to MIT and Harvard, as well as some of Boston's best attractions and upscale neighborhoods. The Green Seal-certified, dog-friendly hotel welcomes guests nightly for a complimentary wine tasting and offers free Wi-Fi to members of the Kimpton loyalty program (free to join).

Highlights
    • Stunning setting overlooking the Charles River
    • Easy access to Harvard, MIT and downtown Boston
    • Eclectic American cuisine at on-site restaurant Bambara
    • 7,000 square feet of meeting space in four rooms
    Rooms

    Many of the hotel's 236 guestrooms, including 14 suites, have sweeping views of the Charles River and downtown Boston. Guests can relax in the comfort of their colorfully decorated 340-square-foot room with two plush double beds or one king. Each room features flat-panel LCD HDTV, Wi-Fi (free to members of the Kimpton InTouch loyalty program), plush terry robes, bountiful snacks in the honor bar, iHome iPod docking station, clock radios and personal safes large enough for a laptop. The marble bathroom offers cushy towels and Etro spa-inspired bath products. As an added bonus, the hotel accepts a variety of animals without weight restrictions or extra fees.

    Features

    Gorgeous art deco décor pops throughout the lobby, with marble flooring, plush curtains, golden urns, leopard-print settee, a long mahogany front desk and a dramatic winding staircase. That freewheeling vibe permeates the entire hotel with a charismatic energy. Each night, guests congregate in the hotel's lobby living room for a complimentary wine tasting.  Afterwards, mosey into Bambara, the on-site eclectic American restaurant or order in-room dining 24 hours a day. The hotel provides complimentary gourmet coffee and tea in the lobby each morning. Groups can enjoy full business services or 7,000 square feet of conference space.

    Transportation
      • Logan International Airport (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
      • Closest subway: Green Line Lechmere (about 10 minutes walking)
      Attractions
        • Beacon Hill (.72 mi/1.16 km)
        • Faneuil Hall-Quincy Market (1.7 mi/2.8 km)
        • Fenway Park (1.9 mi/3 km)
        • Harvard Square (2.28 mi/3.6 km)
        Business
          • 4 meeting rooms
          • 7,000 square feet of functional meeting space
          • Full business services available

          Hotel Map

          42.368 -71.0748
          Nearby airports
          General Edward Lawrence Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 4.00, MI, NE;
          Area description
          City Center

          Recommendations for you

          Customers who viewed Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

          Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
          Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
          Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

          Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

          King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
          King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed, 340 Sq. Ft., iHome, Etro amenities, animal print robes.
          Accessible Executive Suit
          Accessible Executive Suite 1 King Bed 600 Sq. Ft. living room with pullout sofa
          King Deluxe View Room with 1 Kin
          King Deluxe View Room with 1 King Bed 340 Sq. Ft., iHome, Charles River or Canal view.
          Double Double Deluxe Room w 2 Be
          Double Double Deluxe Room with two double beds, 340 Sq. Ft., iHome, Etro bath amenities.
          Double Double Deluxe View Room w
          Double Double Deluxe View with two double beds, 340 Sq. Ft., Charles River or Canal view.
          King Studio Suite with 1 King Be
          King Studio Suite with 1 King Bed, 530 Sq. Ft., pullout sofa, Charles River and Canal view.
          Executive Suite with 1 King Bed
          Executive Suite with 1 King Bed, 600 Sq. Ft., living room, pullout sofa, Charles River view.
          Presidential Suite with 1 King B
          Presidential Suite with 1 King Bed, 1200 Sq. Ft., living room, Charles River and Canal view.
          02. Accessible King Deluxe Rm w
          Accessible King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 340 Sq. Ft. accessible tub visual fire alarm.
          04.Accessible Double Double Delu
          Accessible Double Double Deluxe Room two double beds 340 Sq. Ft. visual fire alarm.

          Amenities

          • High-speed internet
          • Non Smoking
          General
          Air conditioned
          Non Smoking
          Pet friendly
          Elevators
          24 hour security
          Activities
          Fitness Center
          Jogging track
          Dining
          Bar/Lounge
          Continental breakfast
          Restaurant
          24 hour room service
          Room service
          Meal plan - continental
          Services
          24 hour front desk
          Maid service
          Express checkout
          Concierge desk
          ATM/Cash machine
          Security
          Wake-up service
          In-Room Safe
          Meeting/Banquet facilities
          Porters
          FAX
          Conference facilities
          Copy service
          Audio visual equipment
          Conference suite
          Internet
          High-speed internet
          Parking
          Parking
          Indoor parking
          Accessibility
          Handicapped rooms/facilities
          Accessible facilities
          Accessible rooms
          Accessible parking
          Grab bars in bathroom
          Room
          Television with cable
          Radio
          Cordless phone
          Safe
          Phone with speaker
          Telephone
          AM/FM alarm clock
          Desk with lamp
          Mini bar
          Hairdryer in room
          Outlet adapters
          Fire alarm with light
          Bathroom telephone
          In room movies
          Temperature control
          Electronic door locks
          Iron
          Ironing board
          International direct dial
          Sprinklers in rooms
          Trouser press

          Nearby points of interest

          • Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 0.9 mi
          • Harvard University: 2.3 mi
          • Lavietes Pavilion: 2.6 mi
          • Bright Hockey Center: 2.7 mi

          Dining

          Bambara
          Overlooking the Charles River Bambara is as convenient as it is flavorful. Our Cambridge restaurant and bar suits any mood showcasing local ingredients in all their amazing variety. Start the day with a satisfying breakfast seal that business deal over lu

          Hotel Policies

          Check-in:
          03:00 PM
          Check-out:
          12:00 PM

          Terms and conditions

          Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

          The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

          Back to menu Return to top

          Guest Reviews (199)

          Ratings and reviews for Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Overall score

          4.5 / 5
          5.01.0
          199 out of 199
          Amenities:
          4.5
          Room cleanliness:
          4.8
          Hotel staff:
          4.7
          Room comfort:
          4.7
          Location:
          4.4
          Value:
          4.5

          99% would recommend to a friend.

          Sort by:
          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Chicago
          Mar 27, 2011

          Love That "Dirty Water"

          We were in Boston (Cambridge) visiting MIT and Harvard as prospective schools. I wanted a hotel near the schools - not just for convenience to walk to - but as a way to provide my family with a good sense of what it's like living here. The hotel did not disappoint in any way. The bellmen were friendly every time we arrived, the front desk answered both big and little questions like the pros you'd want them to be. Best of all, the staff on the floors were continually courteous and friendly ... even the construction workers who were on another floor doing an upgrade were friendly with every encounter. PS the ref above is not to the hotel's water, it's the Standell's song about Boston from the 60s.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

          Check out "Master of Science" ... a nice, casual place to lunch or dinner. Also, I love taking the "T." The Lechmere station is a quick walk around the block to get just about anywhere in town.

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Chicago
          Mar 27, 2011

          Love That "Dirty Water"

          We were in Boston (Cambridge) visiting MIT and Harvard as prospective schools. I wanted a hotel near the schools - not just for convenience to walk to - but as a way to provide my family with a good sense of what it's like living here. The hotel did not disappoint in any way. The bellmen were friendly every time we arrived, the front desk answered both big and little questions like the pros you'd want them to be. Best of all, the staff on the floors were continually courteous and friendly ... even the construction workers who were on another floor doing an upgrade were friendly with every encounter. PS the ref above is not to the hotel's water, it's the Standell's song about Boston from the 60s.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

          Check out "Master of Science" ... a nice, casual place to lunch or dinner. Also, I love taking the "T." The Lechmere station is a quick walk around the block to get just about anywhere in town.

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Business
          Warren, Maine
          Feb 14, 2011

          Pleasant Stay

          This is a luxury hotel with out the price tag! There were many other hotels in the same Boston area with the same or higher rates but not nearly as nice. Spacious room, Lots of extras in the room like iron, hair dryer, all lotions, newspaper. Nice upscale restaurant downstairs. About a third of a mile walk to the subway, but still worth it. So nice to come back to at night!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          4
          Value:
          5
          Trip purpose:

          Business

          Shopping tip: In Hotel

          A good sized mall is right beside the hotel and you can walk to it under ground

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          5
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Business
          Warren, Maine
          Feb 14, 2011

          Pleasant Stay

          This is a luxury hotel with out the price tag! There were many other hotels in the same Boston area with the same or higher rates but not nearly as nice. Spacious room, Lots of extras in the room like iron, hair dryer, all lotions, newspaper. Nice upscale restaurant downstairs. About a third of a mile walk to the subway, but still worth it. So nice to come back to at night!

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          4
          Value:
          5
          Trip purpose:

          Business

          Shopping tip: In Hotel

          A good sized mall is right beside the hotel and you can walk to it under ground

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Business
          pittsburgh
          Feb 7, 2011

          Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel

          Friendly staff, good breakfast, attractive room.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Trip purpose:

          Business

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Business
          pittsburgh
          Feb 7, 2011

          Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel

          Friendly staff, good breakfast, attractive room.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Trip purpose:

          Business

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          Eryn Ashley
          Providence, RI
          Jan 3, 2011

          Great Stay!

          We stayed at the Hotel Marlowe for a special occasion holiday date night. We have been guests at other Kimpton Hotels and had a nice experience, so we thought we'd give this one a try. Upon arrival, we were automatically upgraded to a room with a view. Our room was clean, nice, and we enjoyed the floor to ceiling windows and the plush robes. It wasn't the fanciest hotel, but it was a comfortable stay, especially for the price, and very close to everything. We had drinks at Rumbara, the restaurant off the lobby, and they were fine, though overpriced for what they were (typical of most hotel bars). We had no problem getting a cab to our restaurant, and after a nice night's sleep, checkout was easy. This stay prompted us to become members of the Kimpton rewards group. Bottom line: we'd stay here again.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          4
          Location:
          4
          Value:
          5
          Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

          If you forget anything, the Cambridge Side Galleria mall is only steps away.

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          Eryn Ashley
          Providence, RI
          Jan 3, 2011

          Great Stay!

          We stayed at the Hotel Marlowe for a special occasion holiday date night. We have been guests at other Kimpton Hotels and had a nice experience, so we thought we'd give this one a try. Upon arrival, we were automatically upgraded to a room with a view. Our room was clean, nice, and we enjoyed the floor to ceiling windows and the plush robes. It wasn't the fanciest hotel, but it was a comfortable stay, especially for the price, and very close to everything. We had drinks at Rumbara, the restaurant off the lobby, and they were fine, though overpriced for what they were (typical of most hotel bars). We had no problem getting a cab to our restaurant, and after a nice night's sleep, checkout was easy. This stay prompted us to become members of the Kimpton rewards group. Bottom line: we'd stay here again.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          5
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          4
          Location:
          4
          Value:
          5
          Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

          If you forget anything, the Cambridge Side Galleria mall is only steps away.

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Auburn, NY
          Jan 1, 2011

          Beautiful hotel with great employees!

          The staff was very friendly and the hotel was in a great location. Hotel itself was beautiful. My boyfriend and I just wanted a quite room to relax for the night. Our room was nice. The only bad thing was finding a random sock by a window and a pair of shoes under the bed. Overall, by far the best hotel I've been to.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          3
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

          There are lots of places to eat that are a very short drive away.

          Review of Marlowe, a Kimpton Hotel

          Reviewer score

          4
          5.01.0
          Anonymous
          Auburn, NY
          Jan 1, 2011

          Beautiful hotel with great employees!

          The staff was very friendly and the hotel was in a great location. Hotel itself was beautiful. My boyfriend and I just wanted a quite room to relax for the night. Our room was nice. The only bad thing was finding a random sock by a window and a pair of shoes under the bed. Overall, by far the best hotel I've been to.

          Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
          Amenities:
          5
          Room cleanliness:
          3
          Hotel staff:
          5
          Room comfort:
          5
          Location:
          5
          Value:
          5
          Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

          There are lots of places to eat that are a very short drive away.

          Back to menu Return to top