$264 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Eliot Hotel

4 stars
View map of 370 Commonwealth Ave., Boston, MA 02215

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
54 reviews
A perfect stay for one night away

We live in the Boston area but wanted to treat ourselves to a special evening. We'd seen the hotel... See full review

  • Jivanjot N.
  • Jun 23, 2015
Business trip

This is a very classy hotel with roomy accommodations and top-notch dining options. The façade was... See full review

  • Kevin H.
  • Mar 13, 2015
Hushed hallways lead to European-inspired suites at The Eliot Hotel in fashionable Back Bay. Steps from the boutiques and restaurants of Newbury Street, bask in the warmth and comfort found in every nook of this traditionally elegant and romantic hotel. Two award-winning restaurants fueled by an acclaimed chef attract locals to this graceful retreat. Guests also enjoy 24-hour room service and a complimentary overnight shoeshine. Walk to Fenway Park, pubs and lobster houses, shopping, mass transit, museums and galleries.
Dining
The hip and hot sashimi bar Uni at The Eliot Hotel has made a name for itself with inventive Japanese fusion cuisine. Exotic Far East dishes and artful plates of raw fish pair with an exciting sake list. The Eliot Hotel's other dining gem, Clio takes French food and service to an exquisite level in an atmosphere reminiscent of a 1920s Parisian supper club. Heralded chef Ken Oringer heads up both Boston restaurant venues.
Rooms
Designer touches fill 79 spacious luxury suites and 16 deluxe guest rooms at The Eliot Hotel. Step into a contemporary European atmosphere and a swirl of rich schemes that vary by room, from cream and brown toiles in crisp linen to soft silks with pops of cool blue. Glamorous yet refined, all beautifully appointed interiors include down comforters, designer throws, mini bars and marble baths with bathrobes and slippers. Fax machines and Wi-Fi (fees apply) please business travelers. In the suites, French doors join the living room to the bedroom with a television in both rooms. Indulge in 24-hour room service after the nightly turn down.
Property features
Overlooking tree-lined Commonwealth Avenue, The Eliot Hotel sits on what some have called "one of the most beautiful boulevards in America." Among the amenities, find in-room umbrellas, complimentary newspapers and a free pass to Boston Sports Club. Pet sitting, baby sitting and valet parking are available at this boutique Boston hotel. 
Highlights

  • Top French restaurant and scene-making sashimi bar
  • Complimentary access to Boston Sports Club, a full-scale health club with exercise programs and modern equipment
  • Steps from Newbury Street shopping, Copley Square and the best in Boston art
  • Most rooms are one-bedroom suites

Nearby attractions

  • Fenway Park (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Museum of Fine Arts (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Boston Public Gardens (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Boston Convention Center (2.6 mi/4.1 km)
  • Harvard Square (2.9 mi/4.7 km)

Business

  • In-room Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)
  • Business center with printer
  • Two elegant meeting rooms host up to 22 people, plus a large private dining room

Transportation

  • Boston Logan International Airport (16.8 mi/27 km)
  • T.F. Green Airport (53.8 mi/86.5 km)
  • Manchester-Boston Regional Airport (59.7 mi/96 km)
  • Walk to nearby MBTA station serving downtown Boston

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Eliot Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Eliot Hotel Rooms

Non-refubdable Deluxe Guestroom
Non-refubdable rate/room-Deluxe guestroom with one queen or two double beds. All of our beautifully appointed guestrooms have marble baths, dual line cordless phones, fax machines, high speed internet, mini bars, plush terry bathrobes and slippers
Deluxe Guestroom
Deluxe guestrooms with one queen or two double beds. All of our beautifully appointed guestrooms have marble baths, television, dual line cordless phones, wireless internet, plush terry robes, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, umbrellas and a fully stocked minibar.
Luxurious One Bedroom Suite
Luxury one bedroom suite with one queen or two double beds with a sleeper sofa in the living room. The living room is separated from the bedroom by French doors. All of our beautifully appointed one-bedroom suites are decorated in a sophisticated, contemporary style and have marble bathrooms. Each suites contains two televisions, dual line cordless phones, wireless internet, plush terry robes, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, umbrellas and a fully stocked minibar.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Berklee College of Music: 0.1 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Copley Square: 1 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.2 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.4 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.5 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 0.1 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 0.6 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Copley Square: 1 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 1.2 mi
  • Boston Common: 1.2 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 1.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 1.4 mi
  • African Meeting House: 1.4 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 1.5 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 1.8 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 1.8 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 1.8 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1.8 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 2 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 2.1 mi
  • Old North Church: 2.1 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 2.2 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 2.4 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 2.4 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 2.7 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 2.8 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.6 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 3.9 mi
  • Castle Island: 4 mi

Dining

Uni Sashimi Bar
Best Seafood, Boston Magazine. Our sleek, stylish Uni Sashimi Bar offers innovative Japanese dishes in a hip, casual neighborhood setting.
Clio Restaurant
Clio Restaurant has been named "One of America's 50 Best Hotel Restaurants" by Food and Wine and has received the highest food rating by Zagat's Guide for Boston. James Beard award-winning Chef Ken Oringer creates sophisticated, creative French cuisine using the freshest ingredients available each day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Eliot Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
minimum4lettersnottaken
Springfield, VA
Sep 9, 2012

Nice night for Fenway

Great hotel only a few blocks from Fenway. Very nice beds and comfortable sitting room in the suite. We had considered staying at the Howie Jo right by the stadium, but after walking by it, we definitely did the right thing paying the extra money to stay at the Eliot. We got a much nicer hotel for the price. Make sure if you need two beds to call after booking. site said one King or two Queen beds, but the suite with two Queen beds costs $40 more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Instead of paying $36 for Valet parking, we went around the block (behind the Harvard club) and found a parking garage for $32 for overnight parking that is secured from 11 p.m. to 10 a.m. Saves a few bucks if you don't need to leave early the next morning.

Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Perrelli
Business
Stamford, CT
Apr 28, 2013

Great Location

The Eliot is located in the heart of Copley Square and 15 minutes from Fenway Park. I was not too impressed with the bathroom. It was very small and needs updating for a 4 star hotel. The rooms are not too spacious but beds were confortable. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

To T Hines Station and 5 Minutes from shopping and eating.

Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thoughtful traveler
Business
Connecticut
Oct 31, 2010

mixed experience

Okay stay, though a bit ragged in some respects. Bathroom not as clean as it could have been (tub and toilet both), despite a lot of nice marble. Why no full length mirror in the room? Waiter at breakfast at horrific body odor that could stop a clock. How could management overlook this?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central MA
Aug 31, 2009

Service in Motion

Very accomodating staff. Well appointed rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Fenway, House of Blues and many other venues

Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Jan 30, 2011

A pleaseant hotel

We went to visit our son who goes to school in the area. It was a very pleasant, older hotel. The customer service in the hotel great. I thought we had poor service from the staff in the hotel restaurant and bar. Very nice size room but the bathroom small. Very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bridge traveller
Business
Nyc
Jan 27, 2014

Great location- slightly expensive

Was a great stay- and right on top of Newbury street, which was great for a weekend hangout. Slightly expensive, but very comfortable room and great restaurants in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coxey
Business
Washington, D. C
Dec 28, 2011

Great Christmas experience

Being away from home over Christmas isn't fun but our stay at the Eliot made up for that. The room (a suite) was lovely and the staff were very helpful and cheerful. It would have been nice to have a refrigerator in the room and the room was a little cold, but overall the experience was wonderful. I would highly recommend the hotel for those who don't like the big hotel ambience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Too Far North
Business
Miami
Mar 30, 2013

My choice for Boston

Great smaller hotel that is well located and with friendly helpful staff. Would benefit from in-room coffee maker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ben O
Business
Atlanta
Oct 15, 2013

Lovely hotel, great location!

We only stayed one night at the Eliot, but we were VERY impressed with the service. They bent over backwards to help us with luggage, directions, getting our car up so we could make a timely departure etc. The room was very nice (though the view had nothing to recommend it) and frankly my only real complaint was that the bed was kind of mushy-I like a firmer mattress and so does my wife. As for Value, its really hard to say-its not cheap, but its really well located if you want a nice boutique back bay hotel. I would absolutely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Eliot Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ASU Devils
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 29, 2013

Nice Extended weekend with family

We had the 1 bedroom suite. Stayed with my mother and wife. Mom was able to sleep on the pull-out sofa and wife and had bed. Great value for the area, good location, close to subway T, very accommodating staff and nice details (mints and cookies in the room, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top