$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

4 stars
View map of 50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
776 reviews
Great Place to Stay

All I can say is A Great Hotel. I would recommend it to anyone. It is what I would expect of a... See full review

  • Joeyg
  • Feb 23, 2015
family trip

It was Great all the people were great and very helpful to us. I will deifently return back to this... See full review

  • Christina Q.
  • Feb 18, 2015
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel is designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America. This elegant hotel occupies a triangular block, which contributes to the unique appearance of both the exterior and the guestrooms themselves. The hotel features eight on-site restaurants that cater to a wide range of tastes. Dining options include a steakhouse, a seafood restaurant, a lounge, a casual eatery, a pub and more. 
Key facts
  • 1,054 guestrooms
  • 15 floors
  • 8 restaurants
  • Conference and event spaces: 39 rooms
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour desk service
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel rests at the heart of historic Back Bay, a neighborhood known for its well-preserved architecture and popular shopping destinations. The area features several scenic parks, including Boston Common and the Boston Public Garden. The theater district is also part of the hotel's surroundings. Several restaurants, stores and historic sites are within easy walking distance of the hotel.
Hints and tips
To avoid street noise, ask for a room on a higher floor; guests can still enjoy a dazzling view of the street from the third or fourth floor.

Boston is always a busy city, so interior rooms are a good option for very light sleepers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Boston Park Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard 1 King bed
Comfortable for two,King rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio.300 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Junior Suite
One king bed or one queen bed. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. Sitting area with desk. High-speed Internet access (surcharge), voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open. Small refrigerator on request
Standard 1 Queen
Comfortable for two,Queen rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Standard - 2 Doubles
Two double beds. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open
Deluxe King
Spacious for two guests, the Deluxe rooms come with a recently upgraded mattresses, Keurig Coffee maker, sofa chairs, coffee table, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Deluxe Double
2 double beds.Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.1 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.1 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.3 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.8 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.9 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.2 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel- Official hotel of the Boston Red Sox, a multi-recipient of the Pinnacle Award for Successful Meetings, is the perfect setting for your next social or business event. The hotel hosts up to 65,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate large groups of 2,000 to a more intimate setting of 20.

Dining

M.J. O'Connor's Irish Pub
One of the best looking Irish bars in the city - M.J. O'Connor's eclectic Irish food, spirits, warm friendly atmosphere and beautiful hand crafted woodwork & murals makes this authentic upscale Irish pub one of Boston's best. A solid beer selection is complemented by a fully stocked bar. Its central location makes M.J. O'Connor's a popular place for an after-work drink. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
Smith & Wollensky
Smith & Wollensky Boston is located across the street from The Boston Park Plaza Hotel in the historic Park Plaza Castle. Smith & Wollensky Boston features prime steaks, an extensive wine selection, stunning dcor and exceptional service for which each Smith & Wollensky is famous for. Smith & Wollensky Boston serves the traditional Smith & Wollensky menu, including dry-aged steaks and desserts prepared in-house by award winning pastry chefs.
The Melting Pot - A Fondue Restaurant
The Melting Pot is a memorable and interactive 4-course dining experience where patrons can "dip into something different." Following a creamy cheese fondue and lively salad,guests choose from flavorful fondue cooking styles and a variety of entres including filet mignon, lobster, chicken, shrimp, salmon and more. Dessert features mouth-watering chocolate fondue served with fresh fruit and cakes. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.
Au Bon Pain
From its roots in Boston, Au Bon Pain has grown to become a cornerstone of the urban scene. Not just a coffee shop, but a bakery and lunch place too. Every selection can be personalized to accommodate all tastes and preferences. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
In-Room Dining
Available seven days a week 6 AM - 2 PM and 3 PM to 11 PM
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood Restaurant
McCormick & Schmick's classic menu features over 40 varieties of fresh fish and seafood,flown in daily. In addition to delicious seafood from local shores and both coasts, menu highlights include: tempting pasta, poultry and beef specialties. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (776)

Ratings and reviews for The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
776 out of 776
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Senior01
Business
Carlsbad
Jan 27, 2015

Would not stay again

Dirty. Underware and condom out the window on the roof. Fire alarm went off and had to evacuate my 80 year old father down 5 flights of stairs. No apology. Not even a complimentary bagel or juice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ash P
Business
N/A
Jan 25, 2015

Overnight in Boston

We were on a tight schedule when we checked in and had to get straight to our room and back out again. When leaving we discovered that outrroom door wouldn't lock. We called the front desk and were told someone would be there. 10 minutes later we called again and stressed we had to leave. It was another 5 minutes before someone came. Then we waited 15 for then to switch our room. We were moved from a large king suite to a tiny corner room with no savings on price for the changes to our room or for our hassle. Hotel itself is not bad but the staff is horrible and needs some customer service training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Senior01
Business
Boston
Nov 28, 2014

Hotel Review

My parents are 80 years old and my father needs assistance to walk. We were woken up in the middle of the night and forced to evacuate because a drunk member of a wedding party staying at the hotel pulled the fire alarm. I asked if we were being compensated in anyway. This caused my father to lose an entire day of our vacation in Boston because of the soreness caused by the evacuation. We were not even given a complementary beverage or apology. As for the room there were dirty underware, a used condom and cigarette butts on the roof where our only window looked. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Irish dining room in hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Louise editor
Business
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Nov 21, 2014

transition time and problems

My husband and I just stayed one night, which was a good thing. The Park Plaza is one of our favorite hotels in Boston but this time, it did not meet expectations. Only lukewarm water in the morning, a heating system that was way too noisy, and renovations planned that we are worried will detract from the historic character of this "grand dame" of Boston's Back Bay. Will we ever stay there again? Perhaps not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A block from the beautiful Boston Garden and a short walk to the Theatre District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nikki w.
Business
Webster
Feb 25, 2015

NIght in Boston

The hotel was under construction at the time of our stay. It was extremely nosy. At 9pm they were banging on something in the room next to us. I would not go back there again until renovations are complete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MSJR
Business
Holliston, MA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Nice Enough

The hotel is nice enough, but I was told the room would be Queen or King, yet I was not asked my preference at check in. We got a Queen in a large room and they kindly moved us to a King, but the room was half the size. Peeling wallpaper in bathroom and empty shampoo bottle in corner on floor. AC not working, woke up in a sweat at 3 AM. And this was the fancy renovated part of the hotel. We also got a free continental breakfast but the restaurant staff were very disorganized, sat us without asking which coupon we had and then told us our hot food (my husband's eggs) were not included, but then did not charge us. Another person reached in front of us at the buffet to refill one of the fruit bowls, and they never brought us water. Restaurant staff needs training. Good place to stay if you get a clean and comfortable room, but don;t bother to eat at the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beanie0047
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Great Location

This hotel was located in the perfect spot in boston. It gave us a great spot to be able to walk to some great spots within the city. Parking was a little difficult, but we used the motor parking garage. Hotel was nice. It was an old classic hotel that was fitting to the true history of boston. a beautiful hotel i would stay in again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

if your there to see the city, i recomment paying and using the old town trolley located just a short walk down from the hotel on charles. It made seeing the sites of the city so easy. we were even able to get a deal on a tour for fenway park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A free bird
Business
Australia
Nov 5, 2011

Did the job

Needed a place overnight which is centrally located and not too expensive. The hotel was good and the location was fine but have been to better places. The room was small and had no view. It was the kind of place you just go to sleep in but there were plenty of places to go within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vttraveller
Business
Burlington, VT, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Name sounds better

The lobby and location are very nice. Parking is a premium (it's downtown) but I recommend one of the public lots - MUCH less expensive. The hotel lobby is clean and open, the rooms were decent sized. The bed was very nice with plenty of pillows and a real comforter and nice sheets. Our armoire door was broken (no biggie) and we had a wonderful view directly into another hotel room (again, the city, it is what it is). We actually had two bathrooms, each with a stand up shower. Combined it would not be the size of a normal US hotel bathroom, but everything seemed clean. I would also have preferred nicer towels to match the quality of the bedroom linens. It was decent, but not worth the $25/night savings from The Parker House. Also, apropos of going lowest price - there was a party on our floor until about 1AM between about 5 rooms. Ugh. Understandable this can happen in any hotel, but when you go with the lowest price... your odds increase!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the hotel. Cross the street and go to Flemings Steakhouse. AWESOME!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
amitus
Business
Oak Ridge, TN, USA
Dec 2, 2011

OK. Nothing extraordinary

The room and the bathroom were very small. Fused bulbs and a malfunctioning AC. Service was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top