$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

4 stars
50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
698 reviews
Great location

Enjoyed very much, great location in the center of the city next to a very nice park See full review

  • JB122
  • Nov 23, 2014
Unexpected

Before booking this hotel, I should have stayed at Medford for a affordable rate. All of a sudden,... See full review

  • Nanate Bay
  • Nov 20, 2014
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel is designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America. This elegant hotel occupies a triangular block, which contributes to the unique appearance of both the exterior and the guestrooms themselves. The hotel features eight on-site restaurants that cater to a wide range of tastes. Dining options include a steakhouse, a seafood restaurant, a lounge, a casual eatery, a pub and more. For a truly luxurious experience, consider booking one of the refurbished Tower Level Rooms on the top floor. These rooms feature upgraded amenities, complimentary Wi-Fi, Tower Level Lounge access and other special perks.
Key facts
  • 1,054 guestrooms
  • 15 floors
  • 8 restaurants
  • Conference and event spaces: 39 rooms
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour desk service
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel rests at the heart of historic Back Bay, a neighborhood known for its well-preserved architecture and popular shopping destinations. The area features several scenic parks, including Boston Common and the Boston Public Garden. The theater district is also part of the hotel's surroundings. Several restaurants, stores and historic sites are within easy walking distance of the hotel.
Hints and tips
To avoid street noise, ask for a room on a higher floor; guests can still enjoy a dazzling view of the street from the third or fourth floor.

Boston is always a busy city, so interior rooms are a good option for very light sleepers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Boston Park Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard 1 Queen
Comfortable for two,Queen rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Standard - 2 Doubles
Two double beds. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open
Deluxe King
Spacious for two guests, the Deluxe rooms come with a recently upgraded mattresses, Keurig Coffee maker, sofa chairs, coffee table, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Deluxe Double
2 double beds.Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Standard 1 King bed
Comfortable for two,King rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio.300 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Junior Suite
One king bed or one queen bed. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. Sitting area with desk. High-speed Internet access (surcharge), voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open. Small refrigerator on request

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.1 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.1 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.3 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.8 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.9 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.2 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel- Official hotel of the Boston Red Sox, a multi-recipient of the Pinnacle Award for Successful Meetings, is the perfect setting for your next social or business event. The hotel hosts up to 65,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate large groups of 2,000 to a more intimate setting of 20.

Dining

Statler Lounge
Statler Lounge - food & drink with personality melds contemporary American cuisine designed for sampling and sharing with an extensive list of wines by the pour and creative cocktails. The executive chef has created a menu that offers innovative small plates that compliment and celebrate the relationship between food & drink. He uses textures, flavors, colors and special ingredients to give his food its own distinct personality. Statler Lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner options and is located in the Grand Lobby to the right of the Main Entrance.
The Melting Pot - A Fondue Restaurant
The Melting Pot is a memorable and interactive 4-course dining experience where patrons can "dip into something different." Following a creamy cheese fondue and lively salad,guests choose from flavorful fondue cooking styles and a variety of entres including filet mignon, lobster, chicken, shrimp, salmon and more. Dessert features mouth-watering chocolate fondue served with fresh fruit and cakes. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.
Au Bon Pain
From its roots in Boston, Au Bon Pain has grown to become a cornerstone of the urban scene. Not just a coffee shop, but a bakery and lunch place too. Every selection can be personalized to accommodate all tastes and preferences. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
In-Room Dining
Available seven days a week 6 AM - 2 PM and 3 PM to 11 PM
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood Restaurant
McCormick & Schmick's classic menu features over 40 varieties of fresh fish and seafood,flown in daily. In addition to delicious seafood from local shores and both coasts, menu highlights include: tempting pasta, poultry and beef specialties. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.
M.J. O'Connor's Irish Pub
One of the best looking Irish bars in the city - M.J. O'Connor's eclectic Irish food, spirits, warm friendly atmosphere and beautiful hand crafted woodwork & murals makes this authentic upscale Irish pub one of Boston's best. A solid beer selection is complemented by a fully stocked bar. Its central location makes M.J. O'Connor's a popular place for an after-work drink. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
Smith & Wollensky
Smith & Wollensky Boston is located across the street from The Boston Park Plaza Hotel in the historic Park Plaza Castle. Smith & Wollensky Boston features prime steaks, an extensive wine selection, stunning dcor and exceptional service for which each Smith & Wollensky is famous for. Smith & Wollensky Boston serves the traditional Smith & Wollensky menu, including dry-aged steaks and desserts prepared in-house by award winning pastry chefs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (698)

Ratings and reviews for The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
698 out of 698
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kancuks
Business
Canada
Jul 21, 2014

Ac need service!!

This Hotels is great location, but its Ac/Heat systems does not work!! We need in the middle of hot summer to ask for fans!! Its thermostat is lock and you can not get less than 70F in summer!! Even theirs tech people couldn't do it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Toothfairy 1234
Business
williamsport,md
Jul 26, 2014

Parking!? Really!!!!!!!

Disappointed! In the description. It says the hotel has parking and IT DOES NOT!!!!! $31.00 in parking garage for 24hrs. Little hint guys, that means you DO NOT have parking!! But they offer expensive valet parking. Lets get it right! Quality of paper goods in the room bad . I had better quality at every other hotel stay this week. To top things off, while I was parking the car, my son took the luggage to the room. He only had a $20.00 in his pocket and the guy took it, and didn't offer any change. He took advantage of him. $20.00 to walk luggage up! Not the friendliest hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure you take the time to establish your route and sites. Know your route and map. The streets are VERY hard to navigate. Not walker friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kskdjflkd
Business
Connecticut
Sep 16, 2014

One night stay

The only positive was the location and the price. If you are not planning on spending any time in your room, this may be a good choice for you. The room was not very clean and the extra blanket had dried vomit on it. The room itself was very small, so small that the TV did not fit in front of the bed and instead was crammed about a foot to the left of the bed, which made watching TV awkward. Additionally, the bathroom was extremely outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
boston2couple
Business
boston ma
Sep 29, 2014

letdown for a birthday

This hotel is in great location, but needs major renovations. You can tell at one point this was a magnificent hotel but you can clearly see its age and the rooms are not worth the cost. The staff is nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jennie from the Block
Business
Outside of Boston
Oct 10, 2014

Okay Hotel for Boston

I was expecting more glam with the hotel. I know it is an older hotel and they are doing some renovations. The staff was polite and nice but it was pretty average. I got upgraded to a bigger room but it was pretty normal size. I don't know how the standard room looks like. The window was very dirty. It was hard to see the view outside my window. The elevators took forever. It seems like only a 2 out of the 6 works. I don't think I would come back to this hotel. Def not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Proud mum
Business
SF Bay Area
Oct 20, 2014

Bait & switch?

I booked a King or 2 double bed room for a very busy weekend -- Head of the Charles Regatta and a slew of Parent Weekends in Boston. When I arrived, I was asked if I really needed 2 beds. Since my daughter was happy in her dorm, I said No, thinking I'd get the King. Nope. I was put in the cupboard: One double bed, and a shower that measured 15 inches wide by about 3 feet. The toilet was so close to the shower curb, I could clean my feet while using the commode. I was told that it was a very busy weekend, so it was good I didn't need the room I'd booked and pre-paid. For this, no credits or parking vouchers were offered. Please, review this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
justvisiting alumni
Business
New York, NY
Dec 31, 2013

Great Location for a 2-3 day trip

The hotel is just a few seconds from the Common and Newbury street and short walk to the south end. The location can't be beat for a walking tour of boston, as it should be done. As for the hotel, I found the rooms to be very small, especially the showers of which I also felt the need to wear slippers. also the toilets were industrial toilets which sprayed a lot of water. Additionally I got a room right next to the elevators, I would ask for a new room in this situation as it was very loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visiting boston
Business
Chicago
Dec 30, 2013

Perfect location

We had problems about registration. We made a 4 day reservation but the hotel kept saying we were gonna check out after day 1. Some hotel personnel knockwd on the door twice to check us out while I was on the phone. The front office personnel was a bit aloof. Not really attentive. Also not having complimentary wifi in thein the room is a real minus these days. And the noise in the hallway at night was beyond reason. Someone had to attend to that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chauduh
Business
Fullerton, CA
Jan 5, 2014

Southern California Perspective

The Boston Park Plaza was the perfect hotel for our trip. My wife and I were visiting from So Cal and we had a friend from New Jersey join us on the trip. It is in a very convenient location and within walking distance to everything. In addition, the restaurant options nearby were great! The room was up-to-date and very comfortable. In addition, the hotel staff was very friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Boston.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is a few blocks away and offers different types of cuisines at affordable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New year New York
Business
New York, NY
Jan 9, 2014

You're paying for location, not comfort

I arrived at the Boston Park Plaza last night and I was shocked. Having stayed here eight years ago, I remember the hotel as high end and glamorous. Unfortunately, that has changed dramatically. The rooms look like they haven't been touched in at least that long. The paint on the walls is peeling, the furnishings and floors are dirty to the point of discomfort and everything from the amenities to the decor is the bare minimum. I think the Boston Park Plaza is living off of its location and former glory. The accommodations are much closer to those of an airport motel, not of a 4-star hotel. Bottom line, this is way too much to be paying for this hotel, especially in an area with plenty of competition. This hotel should get 2.5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top