$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

4 stars
View map of 50 Park Plaza at Arlington Street, Boston, MA 02116

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
776 reviews
Great Place to Stay

All I can say is A Great Hotel. I would recommend it to anyone. It is what I would expect of a... See full review

  • Joeyg
  • Feb 23, 2015
family trip

It was Great all the people were great and very helpful to us. I will deifently return back to this... See full review

  • Christina Q.
  • Feb 18, 2015
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel is designated as one of the Historic Hotels of America. This elegant hotel occupies a triangular block, which contributes to the unique appearance of both the exterior and the guestrooms themselves. The hotel features eight on-site restaurants that cater to a wide range of tastes. Dining options include a steakhouse, a seafood restaurant, a lounge, a casual eatery, a pub and more. 
Key facts
  • 1,054 guestrooms
  • 15 floors
  • 8 restaurants
  • Conference and event spaces: 39 rooms
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi available (fees may apply)
  • 24-hour desk service
  • Pets allowed
Neighborhood
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel rests at the heart of historic Back Bay, a neighborhood known for its well-preserved architecture and popular shopping destinations. The area features several scenic parks, including Boston Common and the Boston Public Garden. The theater district is also part of the hotel's surroundings. Several restaurants, stores and historic sites are within easy walking distance of the hotel.
Hints and tips
To avoid street noise, ask for a room on a higher floor; guests can still enjoy a dazzling view of the street from the third or fourth floor.

Boston is always a busy city, so interior rooms are a good option for very light sleepers.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Boston Park Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Boston Park Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard 1 King bed
Comfortable for two,King rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio.300 square feet. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Junior Suite
One king bed or one queen bed. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. Sitting area with desk. High-speed Internet access (surcharge), voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open. Small refrigerator on request
Standard 1 Queen
Comfortable for two,Queen rooms come with a recently upgraded mattress, Keurig Coffee maker, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Standard - 2 Doubles
Two double beds. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open
Deluxe King
Spacious for two guests, the Deluxe rooms come with a recently upgraded mattresses, Keurig Coffee maker, sofa chairs, coffee table, 37" Flat Panel HDTV and Sony Clock Alarm radio. Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.
Deluxe Double
2 double beds.Traditional decor with cherry-wood furnishings. High-speed Internet access (surcharge). Voice mail. Cable TV with pay movies. Windows open.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.3 mi
  • Copley Square: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Common: 0.3 mi
  • Boston Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Boston Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Louisburg Square: 0.4 mi
  • Beacon Hill: 0.5 mi
  • African Meeting House: 0.7 mi
  • Skywalk Observatory: 0.7 mi
  • Site of the Boston Massacre: 0.9 mi
  • Faneuil Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Boston National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • New England Holocaust Memorial: 1 mi
  • Berklee College of Music: 1 mi
  • Symphony Hall: 1 mi
  • Matthews Arena: 1 mi
  • Boston Children's Museum: 1.1 mi
  • TD Garden: 1.1 mi
  • TD Banknorth Garden: 1.1 mi
  • The Paul Revere House: 1.2 mi
  • Convention and Exhibition Center: 1.3 mi
  • Old North Church: 1.3 mi
  • Fenway Park: 1.4 mi
  • Museum of Fine Arts: 1.5 mi
  • USS Constitution Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Bunker Hill Monument: 1.8 mi
  • Cruiseport Boston: 1.9 mi
  • Charlestown Navy Yard: 1.9 mi
  • Agganis Arena: 2.4 mi
  • John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Castle Island: 3.2 mi
  • Arnold Arboretum: 4.6 mi

Dining

M.J. O'Connor's Irish Pub
One of the best looking Irish bars in the city - M.J. O'Connor's eclectic Irish food, spirits, warm friendly atmosphere and beautiful hand crafted woodwork & murals makes this authentic upscale Irish pub one of Boston's best. A solid beer selection is complemented by a fully stocked bar. Its central location makes M.J. O'Connor's a popular place for an after-work drink. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
Smith & Wollensky
Smith & Wollensky Boston is located across the street from The Boston Park Plaza Hotel in the historic Park Plaza Castle. Smith & Wollensky Boston features prime steaks, an extensive wine selection, stunning dcor and exceptional service for which each Smith & Wollensky is famous for. Smith & Wollensky Boston serves the traditional Smith & Wollensky menu, including dry-aged steaks and desserts prepared in-house by award winning pastry chefs.
The Melting Pot - A Fondue Restaurant
The Melting Pot is a memorable and interactive 4-course dining experience where patrons can "dip into something different." Following a creamy cheese fondue and lively salad,guests choose from flavorful fondue cooking styles and a variety of entres including filet mignon, lobster, chicken, shrimp, salmon and more. Dessert features mouth-watering chocolate fondue served with fresh fruit and cakes. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.
Au Bon Pain
From its roots in Boston, Au Bon Pain has grown to become a cornerstone of the urban scene. Not just a coffee shop, but a bakery and lunch place too. Every selection can be personalized to accommodate all tastes and preferences. Located in adjoining 20 Park Plaza.
In-Room Dining
Available seven days a week 6 AM - 2 PM and 3 PM to 11 PM
McCormick & Schmick's Seafood Restaurant
McCormick & Schmick's classic menu features over 40 varieties of fresh fish and seafood,flown in daily. In addition to delicious seafood from local shores and both coasts, menu highlights include: tempting pasta, poultry and beef specialties. Located next to the Valet Entrance in the hotel's Grand Lobby.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Boston Park Plaza Hotel- Official hotel of the Boston Red Sox, a multi-recipient of the Pinnacle Award for Successful Meetings, is the perfect setting for your next social or business event. The hotel hosts up to 65,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate large groups of 2,000 to a more intimate setting of 20.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (776)

Ratings and reviews for The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
776 out of 776
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
von Winkelbaum
Business
Maryland
Apr 26, 2014

Avoid

Lousy hotel, ranks at par w/ Holiday Inn/Eko in Lagos, Nigeria in the 1980s. very small room, bath in particular in great need of refurbishing. In terms of $$$/quality, one of the worst I've stayed in during 40 years of travel. Maybe the one who gave it four stars either (I# got some special room; or #ii# mixed up this hotel w/ e.g. Mandarin #excellent); or ......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
buffalo ny
Jul 12, 2011

wait for room ready for 5 hours

sleeping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rsadriev
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 3, 2014

Very small and dirty room

Very bad service, booked king size bed 300 sq feet room and they gave me 150 sq feed double bed room. I've also found a used soap in the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
S SOSA
Business
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Jul 8, 2014

Not what I expected

Was at this hotel 3 yrs ago & it was beautiful with huge mirrors & chandeliers in lobby as it has been for many years giving it that grand look when you walk in. This past week it now looks drab as they are remodeling it trying to give it a modern look. They covered up the mirrors replaced the chanaliers with some ugly light fixtures. Not to mention the room we got had old rickety furniture covering chips and scratches with a bad job of furniture marker and the bathroom had old ugly tile on floor yuck & rust in corners. Never come back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Legal Seafood restaurant. They have them all over Boston and food is delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Finnegan718
Business
Boston, Ma
Dec 8, 2014

Such a shame

The hotel has truly fallen apart. What used to be an iconic masterpiece- has truly lost all appeal. With one exception- Carlos- of engineering- our stay has been completely sub par. We were treated rudely by front desk staff upon arrival and then we were put in a room with a broken bed and broken phone! When we called to request a different room we were made to feel like we were wrong in our assessment of the room ( the phone kept disconnecting so this phone call was tricky). Luckily when Carlos from engineering finally arrived- he agreed the room was unacceptable- and moved us immediately. This however was about an hour after we arrived. We almost missed the show we were scheduled to see! The manager we spoke to felt condescending on the phone. We are not picky, we are a modest couple with a young child and were looking for a special night away. This was very clearly not the place to do it- the magic of this hotel has been completely lost. The rooms are dirty, overpriced, and very outdated. There are many nicer hotels out there- don't waste your money here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
travel_love
Business
Seattle
Jan 5, 2015

Extremely dated, in a bad way!

-Cheap thin comforter, -Cheaper thinner blanket, -Everything extremely dated, -No mini-bar in room, -View of walls from room window, room dark even with the blinds open, extremely depressing, -No room service AT ALL, phone goes to voicemail, -Loads of dust hanging on the half window curtain that serves only to make the room darker. You are not able to move this curtain. I am speechless as to how horrible the experience was. It feels like a cheap hostel in the rooms with stained carpets, dated walls, extra small and dated bathroom. Such a sad waste of 5 days of my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
man of steel
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 24, 2011

none

This is my third stay at this hotel & the main reason is location. When i walked into the room I stepped on some food that obviously was not vacuumed. Also, the bathroom sink was not clean and had hair in it. We ran out of facial tissue w/in 24 hrs and it never got replaced. The desk staff were not helpful at all & some of the doorman are rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VtTravelor
Business
Burlington, VT, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Really not impressed

Bought a queen room for two nights, they say they are out and want to upgrade me to a king for free. Well of course right? Well dont let them cause they will give you a handicapped room on a floor that seems to.be reserved for their lowerclass customers. Cable tv consisted of 8 news channels, and a horrible movie channel playing movies that couldnt even make it to a redbox. And nothing was complimentary. No breakfast, the tea thing they advertise never happened, and overall not what I was expecting for the price. Would have been better off at a holiday inn. The loby and the location are the only good points this place got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Just pay the extra $46 for velet, boston parking laws are crazy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
leoleo
Business
California, USA
Jan 17, 2012

cold!

A little down at heel, this one. Windows that look into the other rooms across the way meant keeping the blinds down all the time. It was a cold week in Boston and the heating in the hotel wasn't up to the task. More importantly, I was part of a large conference centre group, and I think everyone showered at the same time of day -- and I awoke one morning to a *cold shower*!! I'm afraid the absence of hot water at 7 am in a hotel in the middle of winter is a dealbreaker. The staff were friendly enough, but were not willing to offer me any refund for the inconvenience. Also, note that wireless internet is approximately $13/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Boston Park Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
maxlil
Business
N.J.
Feb 15, 2012

Be careful.!!

We just recently stayed there 2/14/12. First off, trying to locate parking. parked in the front and was told i would have to find parking. Once inside at the reception counter. I asked the lady if my room came with breakfast or parking. She laughed and said you booked with a 3rd party ) you just get the room . Once inside , we could not lower the heat. We then come home at midnight and were told valet parking was $46.00 or park in the garage for a great rate of $31. After looking at what we paid. The same rate booked with the hotel would have included parking Please stay away if you are not rich. Bad customer service. Never again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Park somewhere at a hotel that includes parking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top